We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at all times”
Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a fully refurbished deightful country pub offering a great homecooked menu with traditional pub choices and evening a'la carte. The lunch menu is varied and all dishes are made and produced onsite. There is a full wine list and friendly efficient staff. The lodge benefits from easy access from the A47 just a few minutes from Dereham and 10 miles from Norwich. Large hard standing carpark and enclosed family garden. Good honest food at good honest prices, more than just a country pub. Also a bespoke wedding venue for the smaller wedding party who wish for an intimate day.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food at all times”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have only started using The Lodge over the last few months. Had used it on occasionally in the past, but had such a friendly greeting by the person behind the bar, also taking the orders and delivering food to the tables. Sophie is extremely pleasant and The Lodge are lucky to have her. They seem to really appreciate their staff and nothing is too much trouble.

The food has been excellent at each time we have visited, hence my review. The BBQ chicken the best of anywhere, just not what you are expecting the old boring chicken, bacon on top, melted cheese and a bit of bbq sauce. This is cooked in a dish with a fantastic sauce, amazing. My husband does not tend to eat large meals and thoroughly enjoys their home made pate. Have tried it and fully agree with him.

Keep going all at The Lodge you are doing a brilliant job.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    72
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food was excellent but other aspects could be better.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited without booking at around 6.30pm on the 8th July due to us being in the area and thought we would test it out after hearing some good feedback from friends. Our first impressions were a little dampened after seeing the outside. Yes I know things are tough for businesses at the moment and all things cost but surely good signage is a must. The building signs were faded and in my opinion would make such a better impression upon arrival.Upon entering we were greeted in the bar and we were looked after with drinks and a table in the restaurant by a very polite & helpful member of staff for who I did not take note of her name. We ordered our food although the special boards are a little small to read and I don't even need glasses, so maybe some the other end of the restaurant may be helpful as I can imagine a busy service, people getting up to choose their food must surely block the walk way.
After a little while waiting for our food we can understand the positive feedback we had been given. Excellently presented and tasted great and certainly worth the money.
In fact the food alone would be an excellent rating.
Once again the young member of staff was very good in all aspects of her service and she is to be complimented on the way she carries out her work. However as mentioned to her, the fly's were very annoying and are not creating a very good impression. Overall excellent food but a little DIY to touch up the surroundings in and outside would make a bigger impression on people giving them the incentive to return more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaytsSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just a nice business lunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nowhere in Dereham to go for a decent lunch, so easy trip down the a47. Very nice too, simple fish n chips but without question the bestest fish n chips ever. Superb batter, and awesome chips. Nice garden for an outside meal. Very relaxed, so all good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadAcheOnASunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have eaten here several times, food always good. Normally just one real ale which is the only disappointment, ideally could do with 2 or more

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Doors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“chewy roast beef”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

my partner and I went at short notice for Sunday Lunch, were greeted in the bar, served drinks and were shown to our table, surroundings were all quite pleasant and just one other table occupied, at that point. It rapidly filled up though and we began to feel a little neglected, tried to attract attention to re-order drinks, but this proved difficult. neither waitress looked around once taking orders or other tables had food served. eventually diners at the next table told their waitress we were waiting....
Roast beef arrived, served in a bowl not on a plate, vegetables arrived a couple of minutes later. Food was piping hot but the beef was chewy, not tender at all and frankly was not easy to cut as it was in a bowl. A little disappointing really as we had heard good things. Service was inattentive, we were not asked if all was well until we asked for the bill, at which point the waitress apologised but offered nothing more. |We took the remainder of the beef home for the dog.....she enjoyed it....
Could and should have done better would be my opinion

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lodge also viewed

 
Dereham, Norfolk
 
Dereham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing