We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, some staffing issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Droitwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown and Sandys
Ranked #2 of 5 Droitwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

By no means a total disappointment. Room was comfortable. Lots of traffic noise but that's not their fault. Some grubbiness around the bath and a general need for some more thorough cleaning but generally acceptable for a one night stopover. It's a bit of a shame that, while the staff are generally quite personable, they lack the ability to serve and treat their customers with any respect or deference. The drink I ordered in the evening was served wrongly and I took it back to the bar and asked for the drink I had ordered. The barman chose to argue with me and say that he would only have served the drink the waiter told him to. I knew what I had ordered and didn't want an argument or explanation, just for the correct drink to be served to me. When we came down to breakfast the following morning, two members of staff (including the barman from the previous evening) were seated at a table, chatting over a coffee. At no time were we welcomed, said 'good morning' to or shown to a table and had breakfast explained to us. After we had been seated at a table for at least 5 minutes, the barman came through and asked us to move, with plenty of sarcasm in his voice I might add, as the table we were sat at was laid for four people and we should choose a table laid for two. He should obviously have wished us good morning and shown us to a correct table from the outset. I had the feeling that he deliberately waited for a while, in order that he could take the simple pleasure of seeing that we would probably sit at the wrong table. When we wanted to leave and settle our bill, we waited at the bar for a while - no-one around - we started to chatter and call, and soon after, the aforementioned barman came out again, this time with another member of staff, and said sarcastically that we can wait a while then two staff come at the same time! I am sure they were seated at the back, hearing us and taking a childish pleasure in making us wait. A very immature and unprofessional staffing approach at this establishment, spoils an otherwise comfortable night's stay.

Room Tip: One at the back, away from the busy A38
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Ate here mid week off the special menu and it was very good, and the service was good, but when we returned on a Saturday night, the prices has been increased for the same dishes and the service was dreadful. We had several different waitresses during the meal which meant that there was no organisation, We ordered drinks which did not arrive so had to re order again from another waitress, requested condiments with our meal and had to ask again. We had scollops off the special menu for £7.00 and had 2 scallops, the portions were small for a high price. The food when it arrives is very good, and the menu choice is excellent. The pub is nicely decorated and clean in a lovely village. Don't think we will eat there again, very poor value.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank viewsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Well patronised restaurant. Fish & Chips for 2 + 2 drinks and a bottle of wine Penoir Noir for £10.00. Good value at £38.50 total. Fish chips and mushy peas all well cooked. Good pub meal in a well appointed restaurant. Staff helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Been here a few times and I have to say that with the quality of the food, the general character of the place and the price I feel Crown & Sandy's offers very good value for money. If you're not familiar with Ombersley then its well worth a visit as its a quaint village with an excellent butchers Checketts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alasuberdaplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The food is really lovey and pretty decently priced. Restaurant was quite buzzy and we were placed near a walkway so not as romantic as it could have been if that's what you are looking for. The mains could have done with some veg either on the plate or on the side. Service with a smile although we had nearly a half hour wait between our main meals being cleared and the offer of dessert menu, which we had to ask for (I think they must have forgotten to ask as we ordered drinks when they cleared our plates). I was impressed with the quality of what we had

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just enjoyed a delicious meal here. It was quite busy, but the staff were very pleasant and efgiciuent. Ate from the A La Carte as it was a celebration,and the meal was well presented and tasty. Shall certainly return .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely rooms, fantastic staff, beautiful food and lovely location!

Have visited many times for food, always tasty and well cooked! Earlier this year attended a wedding which was fantastic, really well organised and a great day had by all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
3.1 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
561 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
#1 of 5 in Droitwich
504 reviews
4 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sandys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sandys

Address: Main Road, Droitwich WR9 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Droitwich
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Scoff and Quaff family, The Crown and Sandys is a is a large pub restaurant with a successful kitchen and front of house team, serving traditional British Fayre and locally sourced real ale, Crown and Sandys is embedded in the heart of Ombersley, Worcestershire. A perfect venue for large parties, such as wedding receptions, birthdays, christenings and corporate events. We would love for you to come down and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the best pub in Worcestershire! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sandys Hotel Droitwich
The Crown And Sandys Droitwich, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing