We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Cosy English Pub - Restaurant Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Droitwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This cosy pub has a traditional english charm to it, with wooden beams on the ceiling and an open fire to greet you as you walk in. The staff were friendly and efficient at booking us in for an evening meal, despite the fact christmas parties were also booked in for the night. Our evening meal was fresh tasting and very good, with good service throughout our meal. The only slight on the place is that the meals are rather pricy for what you get, probably £2-3 overpriced. Overall, a great place with charm, character, good service and good food. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is an excellent place for a meal out. The surrounding are lovely, the staff friendly and efficient and really great food. It is also very reasonably priced so you feel you are having value for money.It is a place I and my family will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice cozy pub with a lovely log fire greeted us on a cold night. Good choice of beers with the Wadworth 6x perfect. From the menu I opted for the cod with triple cooked chips and mint pure'e this was very nice but the tartare sauce needed a bit more of a 'kick'. Pie of the day was beef, mushroom and stilton, this was excellent and served with a tasty gravy but needed a few more vegetables. Limited vegetarian options on the menu. All in all a very good meal and the staff were excellent, friendly and attentive a credit to the management. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a fantastic find. We booked a surprise birthday party for my dad and from the minute the booking was made the staff were fantastic. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced and the level of accommodation was faultless. What made the night were the staff they were amazing and made every effort to make sure the night was special. I will definitely be recommending the inn and looking for an excuse to return.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite was huge and had beautiful views, lovely quiet setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busbys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Inn is off the main route (A449) between The M5 and Kidderminster. We found this place through a website, otherwise we would not have been aware of its existence. The booking through the internet was easy and proved to be trouble free on our arrival. The location of The Inn was easily found using their Satnav coordinates. There is plenty of parking space at The Inn that is located in open countryside.
Check in was quick and troublefree. A young lady showed us to our room (Room1) and offered us a flask of fresh milk to enable us to use the tea and coffee facilities. Room 1 is large and light. The en-suite is also spacious and the warmth from the radiator was most welcome on a chilly evening.
We had dinner in The Restaurant that was also spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly with the choice of the main meal. We had never eaten Ox Cheek before, but the kitchen staff provided a small taster to help us make our decision. The Ox Cheek was tender and tasty. A most enjoyable meal. We met The Cook who also proved to be a cheerful and helpful chap (Tim).

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed in a very quiet setting in the open countryside. Breakfast is satisfactory with a good choice of options including fruit juices, cereal, cooked meals and good coffee.

We will return to The Hadlet Bowling Green Inn again, mostly because of the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the front of The Inn but proved to be a quiet location during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Saturday evening with the family. I couldn't think of a better way to spend it. As always greeted with a warm welcome and smiles by all the staff. The food was to an excellent standard, I had the special Scollops to start and they delicious my husband also had a special dish and thoroughly enjoyed it, our son had the fish cakes which can also be had a main course. (Our son has a dairy allergy but nothing is ever too much trouble, the staff are willing to adapt the food to suit his needs). Our main courses were also superb my lamb melted in my mouth and the beef and ale pie was polished off by my hubby. Excellent choices of wine helped to complete a very relaxing evening in good company.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Bowling Green Inn is a hidden gem - though on my stay it was a little difficult to get too, given all of the traffic diversions and the signs changing each day (thank goodness for the sat nav). The room was fabulous and the staff really helpful and accommodating. I stayed for two nights and could have had a full English breakfast but settled for the basics which was fine. I stayed for two evening meals and both were tasty but I have to say quite pricey. The atmousphere was great with some fascinating people with lots of stories to tell. I will return and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms - they are bigger and lighter. We were placed over the kitchen - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
3.2 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Droitwich
Travelodge Droitwich
#3 of 4 in Droitwich
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Phepson Farm B&B
Phepson Farm B&B
#3 of 5 in Droitwich
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley Bowling Green Inn

Address: Hadley Heath, Droitwich WR9 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Droitwich
Price Range: £60 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hadley Bowling Green Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hadley Bowling Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadley Bowling Green Hotel Worcester
Hadley Bowling Green Inn Droitwich, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing