We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and lovely period mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Andrews Town Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb food and lovely period mansion”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Drove up from Dorset not knowing what to expect but was so pleased with everything. Clearly repair work of small amounts underway but a beautiful mansion like this one must take a lot of tender loving care . We were going to eat out in the evening but thought only fair to give the in house cuisine ago.Superb food which kitchen clearly love preparing.
waiting staff very smart and extremely friendly. Wish i lived closer so i could visit more often.
Well done and thank you (room 15)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seventhwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and that you were well looked after by our staff. Our head chef Nigel Cooke and his team do work hard to produce our 'classic cuisine with a twist' and we're glad that was a highlight. We do hope you will be able to visit us again.

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    138
    63
    49
    43
See reviews for
135
133
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. Convenient for both visiting & shopping. It was a very pleasant 4-day stay thanks mainly to the very friendly staff. Becky, in particular, was very attentive and full of enthusiasm. The rooms had been renovated and the bathroom facilities - water pressure / temperature - very acceptable. We suffered some noise from the room above, but not enough to annoy. Both bar & restaurant provided very good value offerings. The food, both at breakfast & in the restaurant, was of a very high standard and well presented. There was a generous amount of free parking in the grounds. Well done to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that our staff looked after you well. We've passed on your kind comments especially to Beccy. We're also glad you enjoyed your meals so much. We hope we can welcome you back again when you are next visiting family.
Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I really love going to St Andrew's. We are always greeted with a friendly welcome whether we've popped in for drinks in the bar, when we are having an event there, and also when we've been in there for impromptu business meetings.

The food is excellent! No wonder they keep winning awards :-)

We've always had great service and the owners are fantastic - very much giving it the personal touch and connecting with all the locals - businesses and residents.

Great place and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Let them know your preferences and they will look after you. Great selection of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind review. What can we say! A friendly welcome, great service and excellent food are probably the areas that we feel are most important, so we're very glad you enjoy what St Andrews has to offer.

Keep coming back and spreading the word!

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Since my last stay the hotel has had an update it looks good overall and on the surface but some signs of shoddy workmanship, particularly in the new large function room to the side and badly laid carpet but that's objective.

Room was ok, fine for purpose. That is where the good stops.

Gone is the friendly and efficient staff i remember, replaced with surly, unhappy and rushed staff, that all clearly want to be somewhere else. Coffee served in dirty cup. Slow service. Food ok when it eventually arrived. Messy garden with chairs strewn all over, no cushions and perhaps one parasol. Lady on checkout was obnoxious. Breakfast girl was the only one doing anything in the morning I checked out. Obvious lack of management. Looks quite boutique like but has the service and feel of your average gueat house. A shame as I presume the owners have spent a lot of money here? Money might have been better spent on training staff. The old hotel although more shabby than chic certainly had a warmer and more efficient feel. The heart seems to have been ripped out from this once very warm and lovely place to stay. I'm sorry to say i won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review. We're obviously very disappointed you were so unhappy with your stay. As you point out, we have spent a lot of time and money updating the look of the hotel, and we're glad you enjoyed what we've done. We are also investing significant time and effort in training and supporting the staff, so we were particularly disappointed that you were not impressed with the service you received. As you will see from other Trip Advisor reviews, we are usually known for our friendly and efficient staff, and feel this is the most important part of what we offer as a hotel. We are following up your comments with the relevant team members, to see what improvements still need to be made. We do hope you will give us another chance, to show you that St Andrews still very much has the friendly heart that you remember.

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a beautiful venue for morning coffee, but turned out to be very disappointing. Although the staff were very good at providing cushions and a sun-shade so that we could sit in the garden, we found that the scones that had been offered when booking were not available until the chef arrived at midday. The only accompaniment available was shortbread - I am sure that they were very good shortbread and they looked home-made but I don't like shortbread! We had quite a long wait for coffee, which was good and we had the hot milk that we'd asked for, but the cafetiere that came would have been adequate for 3, generous for 2, but not enough for 4 people. There was not enough for a second cup each - just a small top-up.
It's a real shame that this hotel with such a lovely garden, can't provide a better experience for local people to use. It can't be that difficult to offer scones and cakes at coffee time, or even a larger selection of biscuits.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BrinjalTamarind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave your comments. We're glad that you enjoyed our garden so much, but are obviously sorry that the coffee and accompaniments were disappointing. We appreciate you highlighting this issue, and are discussing with our Food and Beverage team to find out why this happened, and how it can be improved for the future. We do hope you are able to come back and give us a second chance.

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Four of us, pensioners like to go out for coffee occasionally. We "host" alternately. Our host rang to check that coffee would be available with biscuits and/or scones. We sat in the sun expecting coffee and a selection of eats for four. Shortbread was the only option. Request for alternative biscuits or scones was politely refused. No one could access any other food until midday when the chef arrived. Cafetiere was adequate for two meagre for four. Service was slow. The waitress was apologetic and blamed health and safety for her inability to open the fridges. The coffee was all right no replenishment offered. £10 was dear in the circumstances. Very poor for a 3 star AA hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank NVWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thankyou very much for taking to time to give us your feedback. Obviously we're very disappointed that your experience didn't live up to experience. Scones should be available in the mornings, and we are currently looking into why these weren't available on your visit, so we can remedy this for future occasions. We are also discussing with our Food and Beverage team regarding your comments about the coffee, to see how we can improve this.

We do hope you feel you could come back and give us a second chance to show the friendly and efficient service we are usually known for.

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I attended the dinner for the opening of the Droitwich food festival and although badly let down by builders who failed to complete the new Orangery the owners, management and staff managed to feed all 152 guests although a little cramped the staff did a wonderful job of service and looking after us all.

Now the food. This was the menu:

Welcome drink of ‘Hix Fix’ or HPA
❅❅❅❅
Evesham asparagus 3 ways:
Steamed with butter
Shaved asparagus salad with cheese and land cress
Scrumpy-fried asparagus herb mayonnaise
❅❅❅❅
De Beauvoir smoked salmon ‘Hix cure’ and Severn and Wye
smoked eel with new potatoes and horseradish salad
❅❅❅❅
Neck and rack of Pershore lamb with spring vegetables and ramson sauce
❅❅❅❅
Perry jelly with summer fruits and elderflower ice cream
❅❅❅❅
Local cheeses with Ombersley rhubarb membrillo
❅❅❅❅
Tea or coffee with ‘friandises’

This was without doubt the best meal I've ever had when at a function like this and a large group and certainly was of the standard one would expect at a Michelin star establishment.

I'm returning very soon for dinner to further sample very high quality food prepared perfectly and very efficient friendly service and very good surroundings.

If you are planning a function or a wedding go to the St. Andrews Town hotel and see what they have and can do for you. You will be delighted with the outcome.

Room Tip: I'm told room 3 overlooking the garden is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerVanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStevens72, Owner at St Andrews Town Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind comments regarding the Celebration dinner we held for the Droitwich Food Festival. As you mentioned, there were a few challenges regarding getting the building work finished, but we're glad that you enjoyed the evening so much. We're really proud of our team of chefs, lead by our head chef Nigel Cooke, and we're glad that you were so impressed by the food. The waiting staff also did a fantastic job.

We look forward to welcoming you back! And hope you will enjoy the chance to have a look at our new Orangery which is now finished and being well used.

Best wishes
Sarah and Aidan Stevens
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
1.2 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
2.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Droitwich
Travelodge Droitwich
#3 of 4 in Droitwich
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
897 reviews
5.5 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Town Hotel

Property: St Andrews Town Hotel
Address: St Andrews Drive, Droitwich WR9 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Andrews Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Andrews Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
St Andrews Droitwich
St Andrews Town Hotel Droitwich, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing