We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Bungay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Mum and I just came back from a 4 night stay half board with Bells coaches and found it to be a very clean, lovely place to stay. If there was one thing, and there was only this the evening meal could of been done a little different, it was quite long winded at times but the meals them selfs were,lovely and a good variety.
May I be as bold as to suggest that you do table by table when serving dinner.
But we both would come again staff very helpful rooms done every day cannot fault the bell hotel.
Thank you for a wonderful stay
Miriam whitmore and Hazel zantini

Room Tip: We only had a twin but it was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zant123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you both for your kind comments about your recent stay here. It is a great base to see the Forest of Dean and the surrounding area and I know that your party made the most of it while they were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    77
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
52
53
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just come back from 4days of golf at the bells hotel .this was our 5th time staying their,we try to go same time each year 16 of us. The hotel as usual was great the staff are all ways brilliant .we stayed thurs to Sunday b&b evening meal the food was excellent the bar prices are a bit steep but happy hour 3 till 6.30 did take the sting out of it.hats off to the green keeper the course was brilliant the greens where the fastest I have played all year. Roll on for next year well done bells keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robannabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for leaving your thoughts. I am pleased that you enjoyed your golf break so much. I have passed your words onto our Green keeping team who have been working hard all year. We look forward to welcoming your group back, the same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have lived in the forest of dean since 1986 and I used to be a member of the golf club until a few years ago due to injury.
We were on holiday last week and decided to try it.
Many improvements have been carried out and it is now a very welcoming place.The service was good and the ploughmans we had was excellent.Proper thick ham ,three slices and very tasty, my cheese was also good quality along with the homemade coleslaw.
All in all excellent value, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gloucesterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your lunch with us. I am pleased that you had such a nice experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Well appointed rooms with a very helpful desk staff although the wifi is a bit unreliable and comes and goes.

The breakfast is some what disappointing with a limited choice and rather cheap quality products.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments. I am pleased that you liked your room and found our Reception team to be helpful. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast offering. The Breakfast menu has been revamped in the last month and so I hope that when you return you will enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome,checked out the room and found it in nice and clean and tidy, off for a round of golf , then into the bar for a cool drink where I found the bar staff to be friendly and helpful, the food over the weekend was really tasty , and the soup on the Sunday was the best I've tasted in a long long time. The guys working in the pro shop should get a mention , very helpful , could'nt do enough for you . Over all a great stay and I will be coming back again , oh and the surrounding scenery was great .

Room Tip: I had a room above reception , but still slept like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stringvest999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay. I am pleased that your golf weekend went so well and in particular that your enjoyed the food. Our Pro has been with us for a number of years now and what he doesn’t know about golf probably isn’t worth knowing! Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

the reception staff were all very friendly, always offering to help. was particularly impressed on my first morning, the breakfast staff was late to work and the cleaning staff offered to get us coffee and keeps apologizing for his colleague. on the friday, it was buffet breakfast and the chef was trying her hardest to get all the food ready at the buffet table but made sure she got myself and another guest coffee before proceeding with her work.

the hotel had a sign to ask all guests to be considerate to keep noise level down in the hotel (thank you) but a bit difficult as the floorboard creeks very loudly no matter how hard we all tried :)

good location as well - a walk downhill to co-op and loads of restaurant surrounding if you dont fancy the pub grub on offer at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_loh_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful. We do also offer a restaurant menu as well as our bar menu in the Clubhouse. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

First thing to mention is the staff: collectively, they're a great bunch. Unfailingly courteous, cheerful and efficient, everyone we encountered made us feel really welcome and wanted.

The beds were comfortable - firm enough but not too hard. However, sleep was spoiled by the inclusion of a plastic mattress protector which meant we tossed and turned in our own perspiration all night, even with the windows open. Horrible. Another irritation was the bedroom door which rattled loudly in its frame whenever anybody walked by in the corridor outside. We resolved this by wedging a folded carrier bag in the gap to make it a tight fit but it really shouldn't be necessary.

The bedroom had a large wardrobe and two bedside chests for storage and the room was spacious enough for two people to move around comfortably. Everything was immaculately clean. The bathroom was a sensible size with a good shower. The only niggle about the bathroom was the lack of shelf/storage space. The one small shelf over the loo just wasn't big enough for toothbrushes & paste, plastic toothmugs, spouse's shaving kit and my contact-lens kit. We tried putting some stuff on the top of the cistern but it sloped and, well, we didn't want to lose anything that way!

Breakfasts were served in the golf clubhouse across the car park so you need your coat on a cold or wet day. It's a self-service buffet and we thought the quality was pretty good. Be warned - the toasters take forever so put your bread in while you eat your fruit or cereal and it should just be ready to eat with your bacon & eggs.

We stayed four nights as part of a large-ish group having its AGM in the hotel; we also had a couple of group dinners in one of the function rooms. We were given menus to select from in advance and the food and service were good and quantities generous.

As part of a group, the B&B rate we paid was less than the usual tarriff and, overall, was excellent value for money. If they'd only take those wretched plastic covers off, I'd be happy to stay here again at the full price!

Room Tip: There's no lift so, if you can't do stairs, ask for a ground floor room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scribbles-in-Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank for your kind comments. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be so cheerful and efficient. You may also be happy to hear that we have upgraded our toasters! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
2.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.7 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Property: Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Address: Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Forest of Dean in the historic market town of Coleford, this exceptional hotel and leisure complex offers an 18-hole parkland golf course, clubhouse, superb restaurant and bowling green.With spectacular views of the surrounding countryside as well as the rolling parkland, lakes and woodland of the golf course the Bell Hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With friendly yet professional service, guests can expect their stay to be both enjoyable and delightfully memorable. The Hotel has a traditional, historic feel coupled with a great range of modern facilities. Each of the 53 en-suite rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed and they all include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, biscuits and tea & coffee making facilities. Many also boast beautiful views over the golf course and bowling green. There are accommodation options to cater to all types of traveller, from Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms to spacious Suites and 2 rooms that are suitable for wheelchair users. Their staff are available 24 hours a day, ensuring a warm welcome whatever time guests arrive.The Clubhouse bar is open all day every day and serves drinks and bar snacks throughout. Guests are free to relax and have a game of pool, watch Sky Sports or keep an eye on the afternoon’s play in the conservatory and terrace suite which has views over the bowling green. For some truly superb cuisine, Potter’s Restaurant offers a fantastic selection homemade dishes all of which are made from fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible.Founded in 1973, the Forest of Dean Golf Club at Bells offers a 69 par eighteen-hole golf course that is both a challenge and a joy to play regardless of ability. It also incorporates a large practice ground, putting green and a well-stocked golf shop.The Hotel also boasts a county standard bowling green, with has its own patio seating area and is overlooked by a south facing balcony.With such a spectacular location and excellent facilities, it is no surprise to learn that the Hotel makes for a wonderful venue for weddings and other special occasions. It is also ideal for corporate events and conferences with several different meeting rooms available in a range of different sizes.The Hotel is situated in the Forest of Dean in the town of Coleford just a 35 minute drive from Gloucester and 12 minutes from the A40, what’s more it offers plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Gloucester offers excellent transport links and there is also a local station at Lydney, just a 13 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s just under a 90 minute drive from Birmingham International Airport.Situated in the unspoilt beauty of the Royal Forest of Dean, an area of outstanding natural beauty, visitors to the Hotel will never be short of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells Hotel And The Forest Of Dean Golf & Bowls Club Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing