We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach Trip to Forrest of Dean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A pleasant setting in a quiet area, first impressions from the outside did not reflect the quality inside. The ground floor rooms were noisy due to creaking floors and constant opening of doors by people through traffic. Staff were very good and helpful. The dining room and bars were across a car park from the Hotel rooms and a gauntlet of groups of smokers outside the entrance had to be run each time - not good! Notices were ignored and no one from the hotel seemed to be concerned about the large quantity of fag ends on the entrance walkways. Food and service in the dining room was good.

Room Tip: Upstairs best choice - less foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 551JohnS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am pleased that you found the staff very helpful. I must apologise for having to walk through a group of smokers to gain access to the bar and restaurant. Usually our guests comply with our requests to smoke in the area provided. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Unassuming from the outside, this is a little gem. Lovely room, good location in the Forest of Dean, friendly, helpful staff. Booked online for £55 for a double (Non-refundable), initially allocated a twin, but this was rectified within minutes. Good room, comfortable, well stocked with tea, coffee etc. Overlooking the golf course, good view, birds singing, had a lovely night. Had burger and chips from the bar, sitting on a gorgeous balcony overlooking the bowling green. Paid £7.50 for burger & chips - best quality burger we've had. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamanthaR186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Your comments and kind words are much appreciated. The balcony is a favourite of our guests, particularly during the summer months. Please do come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for a watercolour course with a friend. Had the use of a double room at the back of hotel which was well equipped and comfortable All the usual facilities you expect these days, ensuite shower; tv, drinks tray(although, irritatingly, the kettle had a short lead which meant unplugging everytime you boiled it for a cuppa); wifi,etc. My friend was not quite so lucky,had a smaller, more cramped room at the noisier front of hotel.
The facilities for the course were good, a nice big room with loos. Catering was a little fraught as trays had to be ferried over from the clubhouse kitchen but staff rose to the challenge.
Breakfast and evening meals were taken in the restaurant, this was on the whole quite efficiently run especially as one or two evenings were very busy. The choice of food was reasonable with tried and tested recipes of meat, fish and veggie options on offer. Staff were cheery and helpful on the whole.
The only real niggles was the amount of noise the floor in the corridor made when people walked through-very creaky and soundproofing between rooms not brilliant.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AquilasEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments about our hotel and service. I am pleased that you found our staff to be cheery and helpful. We strive to be friendly and approachable at all times. I hope that you can come and visit us again in the future, perhaps on another painting course as the area has so much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a small hotel which is part of the golf course in Coleford.

The room rates are very reasonable - and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Beware however of the fact that the walls and doors are quite thin - so if you are a light sleeper, the noise of others walking up the corridor and listening to the TV in their rooms may disturb you (bring ear plugs if you don't like night time disturbances).

Breakfast a bit expensive at £6 for continental - You have tea and coffee in your room; I suggest a quick trip to the co-op at the bottom of the road for juice and croissants !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albia-Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that you found our tariffs to be very reasonable and also that your room was clean and comfortable. I must apologise that you were disturbed while in your room. Some guests lack consideration for others. A quick call to our reception would have remedied this though. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed her as we were attending a function. The room we stayed in had a lovely view of the golf course and the sun set. The check-in was pleasant and efficient with friendly staff. The bar and restaurant area was very nice and obviously recently revamped, with a old English golf club feel with a modern twist. On the function site there was a separate room with large screen TV and pool table, then you walk through to the separate bar and restaurant area. We found a good selection of drinks, including cocktails. The food we had was far better than we expected, especially as we attending a function of 90+ guests being catered for. It was of a higher standard that we have experienced at some 5* hotels we've stayed at. My Beef Wellington was fantastic and a great bottle of Malbec only costing £15.95! Overall we would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Forest of Dean area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

I am grateful that you have taken the time to leave a few comments on your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stay in the Hotel and your function with us. We have a lot of experience with catering for large groups of people at one time and so we often receive praise from guests, it will however be extremely pleasing for our team of chefs to know that they have been compared to a 5* Hotel. We hope that you do not leave it too long before visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We were in Coleford for gym comp and booked Sunday Carvery for 5 adults and 3 children. Most of the adults had 3 courses and the children 2. Great value for money no complaints from us and lovely staff especially the dark haired barman who was great fun and very good at his job!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sharonhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of your experience in our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed with you on Easter Sunday, we thought the hotel staff and pro shop were excellent people to deal with but unfortunately we didn't feel the same way about bar and catering staff. Our lunch was not what we ordered and when commented was not dealt with in a proper manner I.e as if we were making a complaint unnecessarily. Our evening meal was also not as we ordered but the staff didn't seem to care. In a more positive note, we would come back for the golf course in excellent condition but we all feel something needs to be done about catering staff. I think next time we will just visit the local pub for our food

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us. I am pleased that you found the Hotel and Shop staff so helpful but I was disappointed to read about your experience in our bar/restaurant. This is not typical of Bells Hotel and we will be investigating how this was allowed to happen. We are often complimented on how friendly our staff are. I hope that you will visit us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to alter your opinion of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
2.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
687 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
8.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Address: Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Forest of Dean in the historic market town of Coleford, this exceptional hotel and leisure complex offers an 18-hole parkland golf course, clubhouse, superb restaurant and bowling green.With spectacular views of the surrounding countryside as well as the rolling parkland, lakes and woodland of the golf course the Bell Hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With friendly yet professional service, guests can expect their stay to be both enjoyable and delightfully memorable. The Hotel has a traditional, historic feel coupled with a great range of modern facilities. Each of the 53 en-suite rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed and they all include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, biscuits and tea & coffee making facilities. Many also boast beautiful views over the golf course and bowling green. There are accommodation options to cater to all types of traveller, from Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms to spacious Suites and 2 rooms that are suitable for wheelchair users. Their staff are available 24 hours a day, ensuring a warm welcome whatever time guests arrive.The Clubhouse bar is open all day every day and serves drinks and bar snacks throughout. Guests are free to relax and have a game of pool, watch Sky Sports or keep an eye on the afternoon’s play in the conservatory and terrace suite which has views over the bowling green. For some truly superb cuisine, Potter’s Restaurant offers a fantastic selection homemade dishes all of which are made from fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible.Founded in 1973, the Forest of Dean Golf Club at Bells offers a 69 par eighteen-hole golf course that is both a challenge and a joy to play regardless of ability. It also incorporates a large practice ground, putting green and a well-stocked golf shop.The Hotel also boasts a county standard bowling green, with has its own patio seating area and is overlooked by a south facing balcony.With such a spectacular location and excellent facilities, it is no surprise to learn that the Hotel makes for a wonderful venue for weddings and other special occasions. It is also ideal for corporate events and conferences with several different meeting rooms available in a range of different sizes.The Hotel is situated in the Forest of Dean in the town of Coleford just a 35 minute drive from Gloucester and 12 minutes from the A40, what’s more it offers plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Gloucester offers excellent transport links and there is also a local station at Lydney, just a 13 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s just under a 90 minute drive from Birmingham International Airport.Situated in the unspoilt beauty of the Royal Forest of Dean, an area of outstanding natural beauty, visitors to the Hotel will never be short of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells Hotel And The Forest Of Dean Golf & Bowls Club Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing