We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
119
110
47
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
110
47
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great site hard standing grass pitch toilets showers shower block forest of dean site rules clean facilities large site bank holiday electric pitches cleaned daily on arrival stayed here for nights cycle centre camping trip door step
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in our motorhome. This was our first trip in the motorhome so we were a bit green . The staff were very helpful . The shower area very clean considering we were in the forest. Pitches were well kept . The local area is beautiful we managed to walk to symonds yat and down the hill to the riverside. Would definitely go back sometime .

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a lovely sight, reception staff very friendly. Toilet block unheated and it would have been great to have had curtained off washbasins. We parked our modest camper-van and it may have been just thoughtlessness, but we felt harassed in the morning when a member of staff had the urge to cut the grass directly around our van despite there being acres of grass elsewhere without campers. When I went off to the toilet block he was circling the van several times within inches of it, with my wife still in there. Was this really necessary?

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghostlybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I love this campsite. It is in a beautiful location, and a walk away, through the forest, from symonds yat. The bracelands site is fairly basic - an enormous field bordered by the forest. Yet it does have plenty of decent toilet and shower blocks. The neighbouring sister site, christchurch, has more facilities, such as a school, pizzeria and children's playground. This is just a short walk up the road.
As the pitches are not allocated, you have the freedom to choose a spot wherever you're happiest.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank niclala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Spent 4 days camping here. The site is quite open and has the option of lots of grass with or without electric pitches. Also they will accept large family tents (6 x 8m). None of the pitches are allocated but the GWE ones are clearly marked and the spacing ensures decent privacy etc. The do have a strict 6m rule – fair enough.

Suggest getting there early so you can have the most choice. We had a premium pitch (due to tent size) and this was on a flat area within a low railed off area. Mainly other large tents and caravans / campers. Electrical hook ups were plentiful as were the water taps and seemed like a good few waste disposal points too.

Shower/ Toilet blocks were very good: Reasonably up to date, cleaned every day and plenty of stalls / showers – and hot water whenever we needed it. Likewise the wash up area was very good (part of the shower block.) Great staff on site – helpful and friendly at all times.

There is a very good shop up the road at the Christchurch site. (cold Perroni on tap- just saying…)

It is a big site and I can imagine it gets really busy over some weekends.

Very dog friendly on site. There is a great walk the whole way around the site, but outside the site so the dog can be off the lead. There is a large field to the North – through the style at the top corner of the furthest corner of the site, for a quick run if needed too.

You are in the Forest of Dean – so I met a herd of deer in the site one night (yep wandering around between the tent and the toilets), heard owls and other beasts most other nights too. If the night is clear you will get to see the Milky Way as there is no light pollution. The site faces South West so you can watch the sun set in the evening over the woods that surround the site on all sides.

Do this!
Walk to Symonds Yat via the river (via pub) and then up the hill and back, all off road on paths, start and finish at the site. Cycle around the forest on family friendly paths – try to see all the sculptures on the trial too (cycle hire from pedalabikeaway.co.uk). Spend a ½ day on the river Wye (monmouthcanoe.co.uk) – bring change of clothes for all participants – mums and dogs can both take part so no excuses! Also Archery / GoApe / Bracelands Adventure / Puzzlewood / Tintern Abbey/ it would take a significant effort to get bored in this area. Avoid – Lydney train ride – suggest just going to the main station North of Lydney to see the trains etc.

Use trip advisor to find the best local pubs for lunch and dinner (see my other reviews) - needless to say we’ll be back here again next year.

Room tip: Get there ~ noon to have best choice of pitch - not pre allocated.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jooshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Easy to book, right in the forest can hear owls at night, extremely helpful and friendly staff, good value for money, great views over the forest, extremely clean toilets and showers, good walks nearby, highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annapurna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews