We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bracelands Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely three night break at Bracelands. We usually go for much smaller sites but please don't let the size put you off as this a very spacious site with good facilities and plenty of walks to explore. The site manger was friendly and welcoming and the nearby town of Coleford has everything that you may need but forgot to pack. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Dawleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in our motorhome. This was our first trip in the motorhome so we were a bit green . The staff were very helpful . The shower area very clean considering we were in the forest. Pitches were well kept . The local area is beautiful we managed to walk to symonds yat and down the hill to the riverside. Would definitely go back sometime .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a lovely sight, reception staff very friendly. Toilet block unheated and it would have been great to have had curtained off washbasins. We parked our modest camper-van and it may have been just thoughtlessness, but we felt harassed in the morning when a member of staff had the urge to cut the grass directly around our van despite there being acres of grass elsewhere without campers. When I went off to the toilet block he was circling the van several times within inches of it, with my wife still in there. Was this really necessary?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghostlybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I love this campsite. It is in a beautiful location, and a walk away, through the forest, from symonds yat. The bracelands site is fairly basic - an enormous field bordered by the forest. Yet it does have plenty of decent toilet and shower blocks. The neighbouring sister site, christchurch, has more facilities, such as a school, pizzeria and children's playground. This is just a short walk up the road.
As the pitches are not allocated, you have the freedom to choose a spot wherever you're happiest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank niclala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Spent 4 days camping here. The site is quite open and has the option of lots of grass with or without electric pitches. Also they will accept large family tents (6 x 8m). None of the pitches are allocated but the GWE ones are clearly marked and the spacing ensures decent privacy etc. The do have a strict 6m rule – fair enough.

Suggest getting there early so you can have the most choice. We had a premium pitch (due to tent size) and this was on a flat area within a low railed off area. Mainly other large tents and caravans / campers. Electrical hook ups were plentiful as were the water taps and seemed like a good few waste disposal points too.

Shower/ Toilet blocks were very good: Reasonably up to date, cleaned every day and plenty of stalls / showers – and hot water whenever we needed it. Likewise the wash up area was very good (part of the shower block.) Great staff on site – helpful and friendly at all times.

There is a very good shop up the road at the Christchurch site. (cold Perroni on tap- just saying…)

It is a big site and I can imagine it gets really busy over some weekends.

Very dog friendly on site. There is a great walk the whole way around the site, but outside the site so the dog can be off the lead. There is a large field to the North – through the style at the top corner of the furthest corner of the site, for a quick run if needed too.

You are in the Forest of Dean – so I met a herd of deer in the site one night (yep wandering around between the tent and the toilets), heard owls and other beasts most other nights too. If the night is clear you will get to see the Milky Way as there is no light pollution. The site faces South West so you can watch the sun set in the evening over the woods that surround the site on all sides.

Do this!
Walk to Symonds Yat via the river (via pub) and then up the hill and back, all off road on paths, start and finish at the site. Cycle around the forest on family friendly paths – try to see all the sculptures on the trial too (cycle hire from pedalabikeaway.co.uk). Spend a ½ day on the river Wye (monmouthcanoe.co.uk) – bring change of clothes for all participants – mums and dogs can both take part so no excuses! Also Archery / GoApe / Bracelands Adventure / Puzzlewood / Tintern Abbey/ it would take a significant effort to get bored in this area. Avoid – Lydney train ride – suggest just going to the main station North of Lydney to see the trains etc.

Use trip advisor to find the best local pubs for lunch and dinner (see my other reviews) - needless to say we’ll be back here again next year.

Room Tip: Get there ~ noon to have best choice of pitch - not pre allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Easy to book, right in the forest can hear owls at night, extremely helpful and friendly staff, good value for money, great views over the forest, extremely clean toilets and showers, good walks nearby, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annapurna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I would give this 3 and a half if i could! We normally stay here if the weather is good. It is a great location and really good value. However, the toilets are old and the campsite can get a little bit busy in peak season (as they all do).

I love this campsite, however, my partner always moans that the shared facitlities are far poorer than you would get in Scotland, Lakes or Snowdonia. Just a little bvit more investment in the overall experinence would gibve this place a 5* from me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGlosmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleford hotels
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 11 in Coleford
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracelands Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracelands Campsite

Address: Bracelands Dr | Christchurch, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Coleford
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfully spacious, perfectly placed and incredibly enticing, Bracelands campsite is just waiting to welcome you. Located on the edge of the Forest of Dean, Bracelands is open all year, allowing you to pitch your tent in nature's best surroundings whenever you like. As soon as you enter the grounds of Bracelands campsite, you'll be immediately impressed with its size and ability to encompass you in the wonderful landscapes of the forest. One of the largest Camping In The Forest sites, Bracelands boasts 520 pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomes plus five new camping pods, perfect for protection from the elements all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bracelands Campsite Hotel Coleford
Bracelands Campsite Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing