We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&S.F.E plus Lily. "Faultless"”
Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A perfect location with wonderful views especially from the garden over rolling countryside. The owners Chris and Lindy were really informative providing suggested walking routes. The quality and quantity of the breakfast was excellent which made walking a hard slog !!! Only thing missing were the wild boar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreakyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Put simply this is just a really nice B&B, and its in a stunning location. Room was amazing and breakfasts were ace. Great stuff. We will be back for another visit sometime soon. Good access to woodland walks from your front door and not too far to the River and Forest of Dean.

Room Tip: Studio room had its own private patio with views across rolling hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalTheBikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Faultless. I needed a single room B&B for one night, somewhere quiet & peaceful, so that I would be well rested for my meeting the next day. And that is precisely what I got. The view was beautiful too.
The bed was comfortable, linen clean & fresh, en-suite toilet & shower room and the room had a stable door, allowing me to keep the top half open to enjoy that fabulous view. There is the usual TV, free Wi-Fi, kettle, tea & coffee sachets and I really liked the thoughtful touch of including a pre-loaded shower gel, shampoo & conditioner dispenser inside the shower cubicle.
Finally....Chris, Lindy.....thank you so much for your generous hospitality and top notch breakfast. Full English with fresh mushroom, tomato and generous serving of good quality bacon, sausage and egg. Wonderful!!!

Room Tip: I had Room 6, which is a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizBon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the first time we had booked a dog friendly B & B, we were not disappointed at all. The room was faultless, nearby dog walks a bonus (just across the road). The owners garden was great to sit in with the dogs. Breakfast was lovely everything freshly prepared and presented lovely (sublime Scrambled eggs) A lovely touch at the end of breakfast both Chris and Lindy came and gave ideas as to were to go and what to see. We would recommend this B & B to any dog owners. Alma and Elsie loved it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWalkers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An excellent b&b. The service was brilliant. Chris & Lindy were so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food consistently good. Bedrooms always clean. Plenty of hot water. Some very thoughtful touches beyond the normal bb service. Flexible & supportive with respect to our bringing in food in the evening. Intimate knowledge of the area; good self-created route maps for touring, walking and cycling; very helpful in advising itineries. Beautiful location, with distance views and also on the edge of the Forest; nice garden.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at The Rock for a weekend break and loved everything about it: the location, the room, the views, the breakfast... Lindy & Chris are brilliant hosts; Chris's invaluable knowledge of local hiking routes (accompanied by his extremely helpful maps) was matched by Lindy's expertise in producing exquisite home-made veggie sausages. Both were really welcoming and friendly without being in-your-face. I can't imagine you'll find a better value B&B in this beautiful part of the world.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked two nights accommodation from 16 May 2014 and were so pleased we did.
The location for walking, accommodation and service was excellent, and a big thank you to Chris and Lindy for making us feel so welcome. We will definately stay at the Rock again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyinred208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
767 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
670 reviews
6.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B in Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock, which is the most popular tourist attraction in the Forest Of Dean. Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point are all within easy reach. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing