We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place to reconnect with nature and each other”
Review of Dome Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dome Garden
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the dome garden is the unworldly domes - they look like spaceships that have somehow landed in the forest. They are so unlike ordinary tents that going inside one you enter another world ... but the irony is that it's the opposite of hi-tech.

It's comfortable, for sure, but many of the things we think of giving us convenience in the modern world aren't there: there's deliberately no wifi, meaning you talk to each other instead of checking messages all the time and you need to cook for yourselves, chop wood and feed a wood-burning boiler to heat the hot water. And that's when you notice the strangest thing happening.

What might seem like chores in ordinary life become real pleasures that reconnect you to the way our ancestors lived. You find yourself saving scraps of packaging that could act as kindling to light the next fire. If it rains there's pleasure at the sound of it falling on the dome because the design means there's no problem with leaks. If the night is clear you look up through transparent panels at the stars in many of the domes.

We visited with our 7 year old son and he was enchanted the whole time, particularly by the chickens who laid eggs for him on the first day. Enchanting

Room Tip: The domes are great value if you fill them, so pick one the right size for your group
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Dome Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a long weekend with our 2 boys (6 & 4 yrs) and had the most magical time. They ran wild in the garden playing with all the other kids on the rope swings, willow dens etc whilst we relaxed with a glass of wine. There is a great communal vibe, but it's not intrusive if you'd rather do your own thing. It is very satisfying to chop wood, cook over fire, heat your own hot water for showers and keep your dome snug with a roaring wood burner. But at the end of the day there is a proper bed and duvet. Yes, things are a little bit haphazard and experimental at the Dome Garden, but in my opinion that's all part of the charm.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank darwinthebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is without any doubt the best glamping to be found in the UK. Absolutely top notch, first rate and we are definitely going back. We enjoyed our stay enormously. We took advantage of the local bike hire and went to beechenhurst for archery and wall climbing. The team at the dome garden are so welcoming and friendly and really put in 150% to ensure you have a good time.

Room Tip: all of the domes are gorgeous!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Dome Garden and my son (8) proclaimed it to be his best holiday...ever. For me, as a single parent, it was somewhere where my son could run wild, with new-found friends and I could hang out with other, very relaxed, adults. The domes are super-spacious with comfy beds, equipped with crisp cotton sheets and there is a bathroom with a loo and a shower. The thing that makes this place that bit different is that you have to build a fire to heat the water for your shower and there's also a fire in the main living area. The lure of the flames soon became addictive: While sitting sipping a glass of wine on the terrace in the evening I kept thinking "oooh I must put another log on that fire" to make our dome extra toasty. The same thing happened while eating the lovely home-cooked breakfast, watching the plume of smoke coming for the chimney waiting for our "shower fire" to warm up. For children, it's idyllic. There's a treehouse, zip wire, rope swings, chickens and Johnny, the gregarious host, is chef in charge at a pizza night. If you decide to leave the Dome Garden there's plenty to do in the local area including biking through the forest, canoeing and a lama hike. We are going to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wow! Just back from the most amazing time at the Dome Garden....Despite being a seasoned camper it was with a little trepidation that I signed up for this trip in November! I needn't have worried - the domes are absolutely gorgeous, so warm and cosy and pristinely clean to boot! The whole place provides a magical haven for being sociable or enjoying solitude. Our party couldn't have been made to feel more welcome, I only wish we could have stayed longer. The forest literally borders the garden, providing the most beautiful walks or bike rides. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Set in the Forest of Dean this collection of futuristic looking glamping domes provided our group with an excellent rural weekend. The domes come in several sizes the largest of which boasts a hanging bedroom. The domes have heating and hot water powered by log burning stoves. Those who wanted had the chance to split logs and maintain the fires although failure to do this could rsult in a more chilly holiday out of season. The site is laid out like a forest garden with cunningly constructed winding paths that are made of bark chips and do not get muddy. The forest is literally on the other side of the site gate and provides many enjoyable walks and a chance to commune with nature or hug a tree or two. On of the available attractions is the Pizza making and cooking event supervised by the site manager. One gets the opportunity to knead the dough and choose your favourite toppings and then watch it being cooked in a wonderful traditional wood fired pizza stove partly in and partly out of the communal lounge and dining room.
Our group of twenty souls found that the Dome Garden it was a marvellous environment to hang out in. The domes provided exotic sleeping places as well as somewhere to retreat to for more personal or smaller gatherings whilst the communal lounge attached to the supervisors house was excellent for our larger meetings and communal meals.
A final word of praise must go to the site supervisor who orked tirelessly in the background to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vajrafaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wow, just got back from this super special place, We were blown away by its beauty and ingenuity! The staff and food are wonderful too!
The domes where just brilliant and were so plush, the bathrooms were wonderful (we had a wet room sooooo lovely and hot hot hot) and the designs are gorgeous. We went with friends, but would suit everyone, familys, romantic breaks, groups of friends. a very special place not to be missed xxxx

Room Tip: spoilt for choice x
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
1.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge Rooms
The Lodge Rooms
#10 of 11 in Coleford
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Garden

Address: Beeches Avenue | Mile End, Coleford GL16 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Coleford
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique collection of 12 geodesic domes in a beautiful garden in the heart of the beautiful Forest of Dean.The domes have en-suite facilities, wood fired hot water boilers and stoves as well as timber decks, firepits and forest kitchens. It's like the Eden Project only you can stay in it, play in it and sleep in it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dome Garden Hotel Coleford
Dome Garden Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing