We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, good for kids - OK for adults”
Review of Puzzlewood

Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Puzzlewood - A Magical Day Out in the Forest of DeanWhy is Puzzlewood magical? Is it the maze of pathways winding through deep gulleys of moss covered rocks, the twisted roots of the Yew trees or the bridges, ‘lookouts’ and features to find on your way round? Puzzlewood is enchanting; it has an atmosphere quite unlike any other woodland. Here you can imagine that you are in a fantasy film, and that fantastic creatures lurk round every corner. Puzzlewood is used for Merlin, Dr Who and recently for a new Warner Bros movie called Jack the Giant Killer (release date June 2012).Also onsite are farm animals, willow maze, indoor maze, playground, picnic tables, café and gift shop
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 18 August 2011

There are several areas to Puzzlewood, the main maze, a very small maze at the front, an enclosed (by MDF boards) maze in the barn area, a children's playground and the cafe/gift/ticket shop. Overall, it's definitely designed for children.

The maze at the front is very small and suitable only for children (big ones will have to crawl) and appeared rather basic. It's in an open, grassed area with the maze constructed out of thatched branches and it's paths are just dirt/soil. Adjacent to this maze is the children's playground area.

The maze contained within the barn area is made from MDF boards and is big enough for anyone, but suited more for children. There is an associated activity for the children to complete to make it more interesting and the barn has a few farm animals to see and touch.

The main maze is quite large and is located to the rear of the property. The design is quite unique and definitely has that "Lord of the Rings - Hobbit" feel about it. The maze has many narrow, windy paths, a few short steep inclines and a lot of wet and muddy areas. The forest allows shade throughout and there are a few scattered bench seats available, but the place does have a few small "bitey" insects. Overall, it's very nice wandering through this maze, with lot's to explore and see, and quite easy to exit once you've had enough. There's also a discovery task to complete, enhancing the maze's experience and also giving incentive to explore it more fully.

As an adult, I saw most of the maze and barn area, then got a bit bored after 2 hours. (Also, my brother's 9yo son was with us, but as he was the only kid, he became bored too.) However, for a group of kids this would be an ideal place to run off, get lost, interact and play etc. and could easily take twice as long as our visit took. I enjoyed the time we spent here, and as it's unique I would recommend others to go visit this attraction too.

Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"indoor maze"
in 78 reviews
"farm animals"
in 44 reviews
"magical place"
in 73 reviews
"willow maze"
in 36 reviews
"star wars"
in 46 reviews
"middle earth"
in 29 reviews
"the barn"
in 14 reviews
"puzzle wood"
in 55 reviews
"rock formations"
in 27 reviews
in 37 reviews
"small farm"
in 11 reviews
"winding paths"
in 11 reviews
"film set"
in 15 reviews
"magical forest"
in 18 reviews
"every corner"
in 18 reviews
"ancient woodland"
in 13 reviews
"picnic area"
in 38 reviews

1,073 - 1,077 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

My girls aged 3, 7 and 8 absolutely loved the woods and enjoyed finding the different objects - could have done with a leaflet to take with us to remind us of what we were supposed to be looking for! The indoor maze didn't look like much but actually the children really enjoyed looking for the animal pictures again and again.

I was surprised that there were a couple of adult/older teenager groups - wouldn't have thought it would have appealed to kids much older than about 12.

The cafe was a total let down. The children's lunch boxes cost £3.50 each and contained a 20p Freddo chocolate, some cheap and sour orange juice, a cheap bread roll with a couple of slices of thin processed ham or a few gratings of cheap cheese plus a packet of pom bear crips. Total cost of the contents approximately 70p I would have thought ... if that! They charged me 20p extra because my youngest wanted water instead of juice. Total rip off!

Would go again I guess but with our own picnic. You need grippy shoes because the paths are wet.

Thank Pen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen O, Manager at Puzzlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Pen
Thank you very much for your review and I would like to take this opportunity to respond to a couple of your comments.
I'm glad you all enjoyed looking for the different objects in the woods and the reason we do not print leaflets are that if dropped they would encourage visitors off path which could be dangerous, they would lead to an increase litter in the woods and we feel that it isn't environmentally friendly to print material that is not essential.
When selecting of products for the children’s lunchboxes, we choose good quality branded products. I would like to confirm its contents as: a Warburton/Kingsmill roll wih Flora margarine (with either cheddar cheese, sliced ham or jam), a Cadburys Freddo frog, Pom Pom Bears (selected as they have no artificial flavours/colours/preservatives and are gluten free) and a carton of either Just Juice or Princess orange or apple juice, all packed in a brightly coloured box that many children enjoy taking home. High quality roll fillings are always purchased, generously spread and freshly made. I do agree that you should not have been charged an extra 20p and I have checked this with the staff and can only apologise. They thought they were making the correct decision based on the fact that bottles of water are 20p more that juice cartons.
Picnics are always welcome at Puzzlewood and daily tickets allow all customers to come and go, should they want to purchase something else to eat .
We do advise sensible walking shoes in all weather conditions as Puzzlewood has narrow, uneven pathways with over 200 steps.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited this attraction with 18 other members of the family and were disappointed that no Group discount was given when asked. The price per person is not cheap and value somewhat questionable.
Whilst the children's areas are ideal for them if you are over a certain age then you may well find yourself getting very bored.
The walk in the wooded area itself is not for those who suffer from claustrophobia. Pathways are very uneven, often wet (even in dry weather) and like a maze have no directional signs to help you find your way round or seek a route out.

2  Thank EastDevonVulpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

A worthwhile visit and good value for money. Leave your picnic etc in your car as we carried everything round with us not knowing that all visitors have their handsstamped enabling access all day . Impossible terrain for prams so toddlers need to be carried. A really good day out play area and willow maze great for under 5s Pony rides good too. Only aspect that needs further consideration is the cafe. too few staff for a busy Saturday in august long queues and staff not friendly Would go again

Thank lizziewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My Husband and I visited here on what had started out a rainy day so it was a little muddy in the forest, however Puzzlewood is really good fun, we both thoroughly enjoyed it, its a truly captivating forest, very beautiful! Great value too especially having found a 2 for 1 on our Iphone App. There's a lovely picnic area too.

2  Thank emmac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puzzlewood also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean

Been to Puzzlewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing