We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheeky weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Speech House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheeky weekend away”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a lovely weekend here. We booked one of their special offers "Explorer break package" which was great value for money and were upgraded to a four poster room in the main hotel, although did find it a tad noisy with the busy main road outside, however we weren't in the room very much. We had to take a double take in the bar as Greg Wallace was staying there and had a special dinner taking place on the Saturday night and although we hadn't booked for that, it was great to bump into him on the Sunday at the food festival taking place in the field next door to the hotel. Our room was comfortable, the staff were great and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejaviewhousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Dejaviewhousehold,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
Firstly I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Explorer Break and thought it was great value for money.
Sometimes the road in front of the hotel does get busy and can be a little noisy but it did not seem to cause you too many problems. The building is listed and it is difficult to get permission to install double glazing, however it is still work in progress.
I am pleased you enjoyed your four poster room.
Your comments on great staff and delicious food are very much appreciated. I have conveyed them back to all of our team.
Gregg Wallace, was indeed staying for the weekend. Gregg very kindly was hosting the pre Forest Showcase,Food Festival Dinner we were holding and then opening the event on our field the following day. He has become a good friend and enjoys his escape to the Royal Forest of Dean. He enjoyed his stay and once again has asked to be invited back to next years event.
He is as you discovered great fun.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next decide to take a "Cheeky Break".
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    236
    84
    22
    19
See reviews for
145
343
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Popped in for lunch with the in-laws. A busy service for the team, but very welcoming indeed. The menu is fairly extensive, although pretty bland from my view. The food itself was of decent enough quality, served in a good time frame, but lacked a bit of imagination...plus my side salad had been dressed for me, which annoys me (it's a personal thing!). I'd like to give the whole experience a 3.5 as it's above average, but not good enough to be very good. The orangery is stunning by the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Andy H
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit & lunch in our Orangery.
I am pleased to read that our team although very busy provided you with good friendly service.
Our menu offers a wide selection of traditional food, each dish cooked fresh from ordering. I am sorry that in your view you thought it pretty bland, but we try to cater for all tastes. The menu for the Orangery is wholesome food using local produce. I am sorry that it did not appear imaginative enough for you but food is as you say with your salad being pre-dressed is a personal thing.
I am glad you found our Orangery stunning and the service good. Thank you for giving your rating on your meal, which I have conveyed to our Head Chef.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My father was from the Forest of Dean, so when work gave me a trip to Gloucester I thought I'd take the chance to stay in this place of significance that I'd heard so much about. I arrived after the kitchen had closed, but the staff were very helpful in getting me a plate of sandwiches.

Tired, I headed to my room in the outside block and I'm afraid to say that it seemed a little grubby, it was cold and worst of all there was an unpleasant smell which kept me awake. I wish I'd had the energy to complain, but I wrote it off as one of those disappointing nights I've had in provincial hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear DougM 1962,Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at the Speech House.
I was extremely concerned to learn from your review of your experience in one of our courtyard rooms.
I am unsure of what time you arrived but had you rung reception on discovering the unpleasant odour we would have immediately moved you to another room. I have asked my housekeeper and maintenance team to explore the source of the problem.
I am glad my Night Porter was able to fix you up with some sandwiches and refreshments.
Once again my apologies that you encountered a problem but I would assure you my team and I work extremely hard not to be as you say "just another provincial Hotel" but to ensure our guests are happy and if there is a problem that we rectify it as soon as we are made aware.
I do hope you will return when next in Gloucestershire to enable us to show you this was a blip on our part.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We came to The Speech House for a Gala dinner with Phil Vickery and Greg Wallace. We arrived to a champagne reception and very warmly greeted by Peter and Gill. The food was outstanding and very delicious. Compliments to all the staff for such a wonderful evening. Thoroughly recommend a visit you will not be disappointed. A must visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Hotson99,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent experience at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you had a great evening with Gregg Wallace & Phil Vickery at our pre Forest Showcase Gourmet Dinner.
It was a pleasure to meet you and the guests on your table on the evening.
Thank you for your very kind compliments about the quality of the food and the service afforded you by our team.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the near future.
Thanks again for leaving a review.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/ Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were in the Forest of Dean for my parents Ruby wedding anniversary and booked lunch at the speech house as my parents had stayed there some years ago and remembered a wonderful stay. I emailed to enquire about decorations and a cake being supplied and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived the table had been decorated beautifully and at the end of the meal they presented my parents with an amazing gateaux cake. The meal was excellent and the waiting staff very friendly. The location is also second to none as it it right in the Forest, surrounded by beautiful walks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colek321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Colek321,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House.
I am delighted to read that you were extremely happy with your parents ruby wedding and it revived happy memories.
Thank you for your very kind comments on the cake, my Head Chef was pleased to know you had enjoyed it.
Thank you also for your very positive comments on how the team looked after you when making your booking and on the day of your parents celebration.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the future.
Thanks again for leaving feedback which I have passed on to our team.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a good lunch here on a Saturday. The Orangery meal was good, the only quibble was with the liver - I was not asked how I liked it cooked and it came very well done. I guess this is how many of the clientele would like it but generally these days annihilation is not necessary - a bit pink is fine. Just a little reminiscent of school dinners. That said, service was great, staff friendly and having to cope with a large posse of locals demanding drinks etc, as well as casual guests, must put quite a strain on their resources. They had a wedding on - and judging by the previous comments this is likely to be the case on most weekends as it is one of the few places in the area that can adequately service an event like this. Unfortunately these occasions tend to dominate - we could not escape - bride, groom, entourage - they were everywhere!! Very tight squeeze in the loos and corridors - I now know how brides go to the loo in those frocks, but wish I didn't.....!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear barty Wiltshire,
Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit to the Speech House.
I am pleased to read that you had a good lunch in the Orangery, and that our team looked after you well.
I apologise if your liver was overcooked but yes the majority of our customers prefer it well cooked. I have mentioned to the team from now on to enquire with the guest when taking their order.
The Speech House is popular for weddings and on the day of your visit there was an extremely large one taking place.
Sadly being a listed building I am unable to widen corridors and am certainly unaware how brides manage to go to the loo in wedding dresses.<s>
I am pleased that your party had a good meal and were well looked after and I hope you return to the Speech House. We look forward to welcoming you back
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director / Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a fantastic evening in the company of Gregg Wallace and Phil Vickery (former England rugby captain). The Speech House Hotel was a brilliant venue and nothing was too much trouble for owners Peter and Gill.
Food was fantastic and the room (a junior suite) was spacious. Slept like a log in a room that was very quiet - despite a long happening in the hotel. Location is excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you Peter and Gill - lovely hosts!

Phil and Steph (Dorset)

Room Tip: Think the suites are well worth that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 953Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear 935 Phil
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House and our Forest Showcase Gourmet Dinner evening.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening in the company of Gregg Wallace and Phil Vickery. They were both extremely interesting and very entertaining.
Glad to also read that your room and your nights sleep were excellent.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team. They all worked tirelessly to ensure everything went well and make the evening a great success.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
7.7 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
13.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Property: The Speech House Hotel
Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing