We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect mini break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Speech House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect mini break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

an ideal night away from home (and children) to spend some quality time with my husband. booked for our wedding anniversary and can think of no where better to celebrate. you have comfort with a splash of luxury, helpful staff and food of superb quality. this was our second visit and won't be our last. a wonderful treat!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trudy_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Trudy_Price,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
It is always good to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before and to learn that we have once again made your stay with us attentive and welcoming.
Thank you once again for your very kind comments and feedback which I have passed on to all our team.
We look forward to you returning once again in the near future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    226
    81
    20
    19
See reviews for
139
324
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked up online for short stay recently and we loved it! We had booked a package deal with local bike hire for a day out exploring the forest of dean! The hotel supplied us both with a delicious packed lunch to take with us. We stayed in room 6 on the top floor of the main house, a junior suite. The room was very large with a separate bathroom and lounge area, very clean! The room had robes, towels, toiletries, tea making facilities and the biggest most comfortable bed! We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was ok, I have to say I think the chef likes his salad as over half our plates was pre packed salad!! Also there was a lot of staff stood around wondering what to do, basically watching us eat waiting for us to finish, this is not a nice experience! The breakfast was wonderful, a buffet style but everything you could need and tasted great! Rosie on reception was very helpful and friendly, organised our stay for us and it was lovely... Thank you! Overall this is a beautiful place to stay and we will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Kelly S,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
I am delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and were well looked after by our team.
I would like to assure you that our Chefs do not use pre packed salad, and that all of our salad produce is delivered and freshly prepared as required at the time.
I can only apologise if you were slightly distracted by the additional staff on duty in the restaurant but we do get our new members of the team to shadow the more experienced members so as they can quickly learn to offer the levels of service we try to offer our guests.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return in the future.
I have passed on your generous comments to both Rosie and the rest of the team.
Hoping you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a nearby wedding. Building is beautiful and kept very well. Rooms are spotless with very modern bathrooms. Grounds are beautiful. The lady on reception went out of her way to help us, very friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear LDB 09,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you were extremely happy with your stay with us and that my team looked after you very well.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of my team and we look forward to you returning once again for your country get away.
I hope that you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for several visits in Sept -Oct 13. They were all business trips. The rooms where of good standard and I was upgraded twice in this period. The upgraded rooms were extremley well appointed and very comfortable. I ate at the restuarant every night and the food was excellent. The staff were extremley informed and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for short romantic breaks but just as good for business trips.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the " Haunted " room which I was upgraded to, large four poster but for pure ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Janet P,
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stays at the Speech House.
I am delighted to read your very positive review and to know that you felt well looked after and enjoyed all aspects of our service.
I have passed on your very generous comments to all of our team as they always like to know our customers comments and to know that their efforts have been appreciated.
Thanks once again for taking the time to leave a review on your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a two day break in the The Forest of Dean staying at The Speech House hotel and were delighted with our choice. From arrival to departure we were extremely well looked after by all members of staff. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. The food was well presented and represented very good value. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jenny V,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read your very positive comments which I have relayed to all of the Speech House team.
It is always helpful to receive customer feedback which we use for our staff training to help to improve our customer service.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our tea here recently. We could choose our sandwiches(my friend is vegetarian). The scones were fabulous with plenty of clotted cream and jam. The cakes were tasty and the elegant tea service china made it really special. The staff were very pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jill W
Thanks for taking to leave a review your recent visit to the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you and your friend enjoyed your afternoon tea and that my team looked after you well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the near future.
Thanks again for taking time to leave feedback.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Speech House Hotel was recommended by the owners of the cottage we rented in Cindeford and we were not disappointed. It is a dog friendly, people friendly, delightful restaurant (hotel). We initially dropped in with our little jack russell dog Lillie on Saturday afternoon, We were told it was dog friendly but when we got there, there were no other dogs there, so we were a little apprehensive, we needn't have worried because every member of staff stopped to fuss her with a big warm smile. The staff were very busy serving people but they did it with a warm smile and good hearted banter which was absolutely genuine. Lillie knocked over my hubby's pint which was half full and they didn't even bat an eyelid. One waitress suddenly appeared with a couple of clothes to mop up the spill without any fuss at all. We went back on the night for a meal (minus Lilllie) and ate in the Orangery and very light and airy dining room. Couldn't fault it, the staff, the food, value for rmoney the whole experience. There was one waitress in particular, i think her name is Cassie who served us is an absolute asset to the hotel, if there is an award for waitress of the month she should get it each time. absolutely loved it and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Wasn't a resident at the hotel so can't comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisrob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Crisrob123,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to The Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visits to the hotel and that both of you and Lillie were all made welcome and well looked after.
Thank you for returning to dine with us, and once again for your very kind comments regarding our team, I have passed on both to Cassie and the others.
We do try to instil into our staff the importance of customer care and to try and go the extra mile to ensure a pleasurable visit.
Thank you once again for your feedback, it is always so useful for us and for the team.
I hope we will see you again in the not to distant future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
7.7 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#12 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Property: The Speech House Hotel
Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing