We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but could be brilliant..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Speech House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but could be brilliant..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed at the SPH for 1 night with my wife, primarily as a luxury base for mountain biking in the Forest. Location-wise it is spot on, absolutely ideal, right in the heart of the Forest. As a treat, I booked a Four poster room which overlook the main road, but we weren't too disturbed by passing traffic. The room was nice and roomy, but did have wobbly floor boards and a partly rotten door. The decor was dated, but I guess it added to the historic feel to the hotel.
The hotel appears in a contrary state, some parts are really modern and contemporary, others a little tired and in need of attention. For example, having large hi-fis plugged into a wall socket in the Orangery and restaurant, playing cheesey pop, seemed abit naff.
The service is overall good, but was let down by one or two minor incidents which I felt were inapproriate. The bar is quite small, not sure how busy it would get if there was a function on (it was nice and quiet on our stay).
We had 3 meals at the SPH, lunch on the Orangery, dinner in the restaurant and breakfast as part of the B&B package. All were good and plentiful, no complaints at all.
I was slighlty unimpressed with the value, but I would stay again if I returned to the FoD, although I might stay in a cheaper room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TM_Moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    226
    81
    20
    19
See reviews for
139
324
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed for a midweek break and had a super time. The staff couldn't be more helpful and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. Food was, in the main excellent, though one dish was sent back and refunded without question. The breakfasts were generous and tasty.

We stayed in one of the cottage rooms, which was bright and welcoming with comfortable beds, though a few improvements to the bathroom were needed (dripping tap and shower guard which leaked water all over the floor). The bedroom carpet had marks on it which was surprising as otherwise the level of cleanliness was good.

You'll often see sheep grazing on the verges around the forest, and lo and behold, a small flock of sheep seemed to enjoy congregating neaby. We found them charming...but we like that sort of thing.

The surrounding area is fabulous with loads to do for families. Stunning walks. Hire some bikes locally and cycle along the Wye from Monmouth to Symonds Yat; you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbsandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We have just had 3 smashing days at the hotel and could not fault it at all. The food is great the chef must be very good and her home made ice creams are out of this world. The dinner was varied with lots of choices and the breakfast also was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and a credit to the hotel. We will be back sooner rather than later

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TonyMaloney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel on my honeymoon over 30 years ago and thought it a place of real character. It was OK this time - no real complaints - but I think that with its location and history it could be so much more outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontpellierOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Booked into The Speech House (forest of Dean) at the last minute: was attending a garden party in Monmouth, decided to `make a weekend of it`. Due to a large wedding party (Saturday night) and a Replica Car Club weekend, rooms scarce.. Wanted Fri and Sat night but only two rooms left - different rooms on different nights. After a discussion with the reception staff (telephone) they manged to allocate the same room for both nights at a good rate (room, dinner and breakfast).
The room was very, very good. The food was very very good; service excellent! The room we were given was as far away from the wedding reception (marquee in grounds) as possible. Superb walks all around the hotel, literaly in every direction.
One grouse: manage to lose my morning Telegraph! My fault perhap: it was there at reception when we stolled down to breakfast, but missing when we returned fron a short walk after breakfast. Had a replacement paper offered and accepted. Will be very sure to use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m9m9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

It was a pleasure to stay at Speech House. It was great value and we were upgraded from a Courtyard room to one in the main hotel without asking as there was a wedding party and Car Club convention. Even though the staff must have been run off their feet , they were always polite, smiling motivated..faultless. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. It is an old building with fantastic history but well adapted for modern living. The meal, breakfast and wine were all perfect and very good value. the Forest of Dean is a lovely way to see traditional old England and all the staff were local , well spoken and knew the surrounding area very well. it is easy travel from Bristol or Cardiff for a real break without a long drive. We sat and read in the beautiful relaxing garden because we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usafirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at The Speech House whilst attending a wedding at nearby Clearwell Castle (which incidentally was superb). The hotel is full of history and very interesting, it was apparently originally built as a hunting lodge for King Charles II in the 1600's. It is right in the centre of the forest, quite isolated but rather nice for that.

We booked two nights in a Courtyard room (stable block style, probably built in the 1990's) at £64 per night B & B. We were told the room was small which it was but it offered clean comfortable accommodation and a decent shower. As value for money it was spot on. There was a large party in the restaurant on the Saturday night but we were accommodated in the adjacent dining room and the food was good, modern gastropub style. You could have eaten in the bar area - a new conservatory type building - which offered a decent menu.

The staff were all cheery and friendly, no complaints on that front. Breakfast was good quality, plenty of coffee and juice and full English.

My only criticisms are of potential noise from the groups, wedding or otherwise, who stay at the Speech House and use the marquee erected as if you were in the Courtyard Rooms I think you would be disturbed. The hotel are very upfront about this and thankfully there weren't any functions in the marquee while we were there. Also the cattle grid in the car park (to keep out the sheep) is noisy from 7 a.m. when I imagine staff start arriving for work. You could also hear road noise when the window was open. So perhaps light sleepers beware and choose your room with care.

The hotel reception areas are not run down as some have suggested however the entrance from the car park could do with a new carpet runner and a freshen up. I can't speak for the bedrooms in the main hotel as we didn't stay there.

You can get an Orange mobile phone signal at the far end of the car park so for those that need mobile reception I suspect if you walk about in the car park you will find a signal of some description. There is Wifi in the bar area.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Speech House and for value for money, it was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
7.7 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
13.4 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Property: The Speech House Hotel
Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing