We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£113
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£113
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£100
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sadie H

Absolutely amazing

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023
The restaurant food is superb and the staff are excellent 👍
Fantastic atmosphere and beautiful surroundings.
Really really friendly and the staff are encourage-able.
And now there’s too many letters left
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Dear sadieh569,
Many thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House.
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the superb food and the care and hospitality shown to you by our team.
I have passed on your comments to all of the team who I know will appreciate them after such a tough year.
Not too sure where the "too many letters went",
We all wish you a safe, healthy and happy New Year and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/ Proprietor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£84
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£105
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Lol.travel
1.8 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
£90
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Tripadvisor
    £90
  • Vio.com
4.6 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £88
3.6 miles from The Speech House Hotel
terrace
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
2.7 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.0 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.8 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
4.2 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Tripadvisor
£186
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
3.9 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Coleford
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,181 results
Traveller rating
617
344
144
37
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
617
344
144
37
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room four poster verderers court forest of dean the main house historic hotel no lift main restaurant sculpture trail poster bed self service short break lovely room full english breakfast was excellent orangery wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,181 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Loved the owners were on hand the whole time and didn't mind mucking in, you could tell it was a family run hotel everybody seemed happy and most of the staff have been there for years. The atmosphere was lovely and there were so many extra's like the Carol service, magician and quiz. The food was very good and plentiful, we don't usually believe in returning in case it isn't as good but for the Speech House were willing to risk it and plan on returning next xmas I think that say's it all!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 444ladyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Dear 444lady,
Many thanks for taking time out to leave a review on your recent stay with us for Christmas.
Thank you for your very kind and generous comments which I have passed on to all our team who I know, will greatly appreciate them after working so hard over the year.
Thank you for booking next Christmas with us and we will do everything possible to replicate and enhance your experience in 2024.
We all wish you a happy, healthy, safe and prosperous New Yea and look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House.
Best wishes,
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2023

This was our third Christmas stay at the Speech House , and it did not disappoint. Fantastic food, friendly staff and great entertainment meant that it felt like being part of a big family gathering. Thank you to Peter Gill, Naomi and the team!

Room tip: Book early!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear shirleytP176KA,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your Christmas Package stay with us at The Speech House.
It was so good to meet up with you both again, and for us and the team it was indeed like meeting up with family members.
Thank you for your very kind comments and for entrusting us with your Christmas.
I have passed on your comments to all of the Speech House team who will greatly appreciate them, having worked so hard over the Christmas period.
We all look forward to meeting up with you both again and wish you both a very healthy, safe and prosperous New Year.
Best wishes,
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2023

We have just spent the weekend at this excellent value for money hotel. When we first arrived and being fore warned that there was a function on that evening our hopes were not great. How ever we needn’t have worried, a great night’s sleep in a very comfortable bed ensued. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast served by young but very capable waitresses. The hotel prides itself on the quality of the ingredients for their menu’s and this showed even at breakfast where the bacon and sausage was second to none. In the evening we dined in the Verderers restaurant where not only was the quality excellent but thought had been put into the menu, whereas normally side orders comprise just one or two vegetables here you get a good mix of several. I would heartily recommend the sirloin, beautifully cooked and tender. Our final meal was breakfast, again it didn’t disappoint. We have stayed in many four and five star hotels throughout Europe but the standard of food at The Speech House can hold its head up with most of them One nice touch is the number of walkers that come to the bar with their dogs and enjoy a quick drink before going on their way again. It’s a convenient base for walking around the Forest, we walked the long trail at the Nagshead Reserve and the Kymin above Monmouth. Goodrich Castle is one of the best ruins that we have ever visited, there was a very well informed guide there as well.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank worc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Dear worc54,
Many thanks for taking the time out to leave a comprehensive review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay and that you thought we offered excellent value for money.
We do allow dogs with well behaved owners into our bar and Orangery and also have a few bedrooms in the courtyard that are pet friendly.
We are in the centre of the forest and have some 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on our doorstep.
Once again, thank you for your very kind comments which I have passed on to all my team whom I i know will greatly appreciate them.
We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area and we all wish you both a peaceful and safe Christmas and a healthy and prosperous New Year.
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2023

We called in for a non-resident breakfast. Katie on reception was warm and frindly and guided us to the restaurant. Here Jacqui showed us the system and offered help with any extras we might require or desire. She was so kind and helpful. at a difficult phase in our lives this was a warm and wel

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler53381699347
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Traveler53381699347,
Many thanks for taking time out to leave feedback on your recent visit and experience when you visited us.
I am delighted that we were able to meet your requests.
Thank you for your very kind comments on your breakfasts and on the way my team took care of you throughout.
I have passed your comments on to all my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Best wishes, stay safe,
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

An outstanding meal once again in the Verderers restaurant. Quality fine dining at a sensible price. All three courses were exceptional and all sourced locally. Finished with a lovely touch from the Chef to mark Birthday celebrations. A real treat.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DavidF1304SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2023

Dear DavidF1304SM,
Many thanks for leaving feedback on your recent visit to The Speech House.
I am delighted to read that you had yet another outstanding meal in the Verderers.
We do try to gather our products as local as possible and certainly within a 35 mile radius.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday treat from our Head Chef Gareth.
Thank you for your very kind comments which I have circulated to all our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon.
Belated happy birthday greetings from the management team.
Best wishes, stay safe,
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews