We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
annbO5690NM

Shame on you.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2024
Decided to stay two nights in a superior (dearer) room so we could relax. Room 10 looked terribly tired and needed a good lick of paint so it definitely didn't feel like its 'superior' title. It was very dusty in places (windowsills, radiators, heated towel rail).

The carpet might or might not have been clean but so badly stained it was impossible to tell and made us feel unsettled. The bed throw had a large, sticky stain on it (felt nauseous at this point) and a chair was so badly stained we stayed clear. Decided not to unpack because we didn't want to touch anything in the room.

We complained and was told we'd be moved the next morning. We certainly didn't have a relaxing night.

In the morning we had to move all our stuff to room 36 by ourselves. In the past when we once moved rooms because of faults with the room, we got an apology and our bags etc were moved for us.

Room looked OK initially but why is there a urinal taking pride of place in the bathroom? Generally, women don't like seeing urinals as they walk in and why position the bathroom bin directly underneath it? Hygienic?Not.

We didn't unpack as by this time we were already tired of it.

First find in this room was a stone under the bed (couldn't miss it as the bed is high in there). We didn't bring it in so presumably high beds aren't hoovered under (they should be).

To the left of a bedside cabinet was a very large and very obvious black thing (looked like an extending cord for a bag maybe, or a weird extendable shoelace).

Either way, it wasn't ours and we can only assume it was a gift from the previous occupants, missed because that area of the room wasn't hoovered either.

Dust on bathroom floor and towel rail.

Didn't want to keep complaining so decided to give up.

Final straw was being charged more because we'd been moved to a dearer room. It wasn't our fault the first room wasn't clean. We never asked for or wanted a dearer room, just a clean one. Shame on you Speech house for making us pay more, especially since neither room was clean.

To be fair and end on a positive, the service, ambience and food was all excellent in both The Orangery and the breakfast room.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Take your own polish and duster.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2024
Dear annb05590NM,
Many thanks for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was dismayed to read your comments and I have spent two days investigating them and would like respond as follows:-
Room 10 is a large room, with a king size bed and large sofa, and is traditionally furnished, and in good decorative order.
Given your comment on the carpet being badly stained, my Head Housekeeper, inspected it and found no visible stains and the bedspread when inspected, was found to have no "Sticky Patch" but it was washed as you have made reference to it.
My duty receptionist was approached by your husband after you had checked into your room, and asked if there was another room on the ground floor as you had great difficulty negotiating two flights of stairs due to your medical condition. He made no other comment regarding the condition of the room and was offered room 36, a superior ground floor room.
The following morning, one of my Assistant Managers spoke to your husband and offered assistance to help move your luggage to room 36, which your husband declined saying he could manage.
Room 36, is a large room with a modern 4 poster bed, two arm chairs and modern furnishings. The bath room has two hand basins a large bath with over head shower and yes a conventual toilet. There is in addition a modern gents urinal with cover. This accommodation was built and furnished out by a previous owner of the hotel. The small covered urinal is perfectly hygienic and the lidded waste bin is to the left of the urinal not directly under neath it. I can only apologise if you found the bathroom layout to be upsetting.,
I am sorry that there was a small stone found under the four poster bed and I have raised that point with my house keeping team.That was not to out usual standard, however the bathroom floor is tiled and towel rail would have been dusted prior to putting your bathroom towels on.
On checking you were charged the same rate for room 10 as you were for room 36. I would point out that our published rates are slightly higher for the Friday and the weekend.
I am sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodation but wish that you had made us aware at your time of staying. The only thing we were made aware of was that you were unable to negotiate the stairs. We would have offered help with your luggage to move rooms when your husband first reported your difficulty with stairs had you have decided to move at that time.
Thank you for your positive comments on the service, ambience and food throughout your stay.
I felt it important to put the hotels side of your review, after lengthy investigation with all of my team.
Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but please be assured that your comments will be discussed at our heads of department meeting so as to try and improve our customer service even further.
I hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes, stay safe,
Peter Hands.
Director/Proprietor.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
terrace
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from The Speech House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Avon Lodge
    2.3 miles from The Speech House Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.5 miles from The Speech House Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      3.0 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      2.9 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Restaurant
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        £107
      • Booking.com
      1.8 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      Bar/Lounge
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        £61
      • Vio.com
      4.6 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      Free parking
      • Agoda.com
      2.8 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      • Agoda.com
      3.6 miles from The Speech House Hotel
      View more hotels in Coleford
      Reviews (1,186)
      Filter reviews
      1,186 results
      Traveller rating
      620
      345
      145
      37
      39
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      620
      345
      145
      37
      39
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews courtyard room four poster verderers court forest of dean the main house historic hotel no lift main restaurant sculpture trail poster bed self service short break lovely room full english breakfast was excellent orangery wedding
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      9 - 14 of 1,186 reviews
      Reviewed 3 May 2024

      An excellent hotel - quite quirky! Bedrooms are comfortable, staff were wonderful, food was excellent. If you have access problems speak to reception and book with them as some rooms are up a steep staircase. There is a special access room complete with electric scooter!

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank aberdeenjohn
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

      Dear abedeenjohn,
      Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
      Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your food and how my team looked after you throughout your stay. I have passed them on to all my team.
      Yes, we a listed building and unfortunately we have no lift in the main house. However, we do offer help with bags and cases for guests who struggle with stairs.
      Alternatively, we do have a selection of exterior rooms in the courtyard one of which has a wet room for those with mobility issues.
      As you point out we do also have a "Forest Tramper" for hire for those people who have difficulty walking and wish to explore the Forest.
      Thanks again for your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
      Best wishes, stay safe,
      Peter Hands
      Director/Proprietor.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 May 2024 via mobile

      This was our first visit to The Speech House, which is situated in the heart of The Forest of Dean, and certainly was not disappointed, we have a dog so had a dog friendly room where they had provided dog bowls and towels, they also had a very large fenced field where you could exercise your dog.
      The room was ideal as our dog sleeps in a crate which fitted in well, the room was clean and tidy and had everything you required.
      There were two dining options fine dining in the restaurant or more casual dining in the Orangery which was also dog friendly. There was a very good selection of items for breakfast and A good menu choice for dinner.
      All the staff were extremely friendly and polite especially our young waitress, Rebecca, who looked after us in the Orangery. Although there were other events taking place in the hotel it didn’t impact on the service in the restaurants.
      We look forward to our next visit.

      Room tip: Large carpark Forest walks on the doorstep Close to a number of towns
      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank BlueroanWarwickshire
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

      Dear BlueroanWarwickshire,
      Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
      I am so pleased to read that you had a great stay with your dog. It is great that we are able to offer an enclosed field for them to exercise.
      Many thanks for your very kind comments regarding the way my team looked after you throughout your stay, especially Rebeca which I have passed on to all my team.,
      Thank you also for your your comments on our food quality and choice.
      We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
      Best wishes, stay safe.
      Peter Hands
      Director/Proprietor.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

      Just back from a visit to the Speech House with the family, the food and service were very good, they couldn’t do enough for us.
      Special mention for Chaz who was exceptionally helpful.
      Location is superb, we tend to stay here as we have family close
      I think it would be fair to say the rooms we stayed in, in and around the courtyard/cottage area could do with investment, quite tired and shabby.
      But I’m sure it’s in the plans.

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank davidsP9928LN
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

      Dear davidsP9928LN,
      Many thanks for taking time out to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
      I am pleased to read that you had break with us when visiting your family in the Forest.
      We are currently carrying out an ongoing refurbishment programme, but this as you will appreciate takes time.
      Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the food and service that you received from my team and Chaz in particular.
      I have passed on all your very kind comments to the team and especially Chaz.
      Thanks again for your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
      Best wishes, stay safe,
      Peter Hands
      Director/Proprietor

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 April 2024

      Our room had a 7ft four poster bed and it was very comfortable with beautiful quality bed linen and cushions. The staff are friendly , helpful and genuinely happy in their roles always polite and courteous. The food was excellent , breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. An evening meal in the orangery was good value and the portion sizes were spot on for us. We will be returning to stay again

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Elaine T
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

      Dear elainet0656EE,
      Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
      I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your 7 foot 4 poster bed, we have two of them in the hotel and they originate from circa 1834. We also have a slightly smaller "Barley Twist double bed from the same era.
      I am delighted that you enjoyed your food through out your stay and that you found my team to be friendly, helpful and happy,
      I have assed on your comments to all of my team who I know, will appreciate them.
      We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
      Best wishes, stay safe,
      Peter Hands
      Director/Proprietor..

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

      Perfect location for forest walks. Location a fairly busy road junction. But right in the middle of the forest, so plenty of walking right outside the door.
      Good food, choice of a la carte or a more bistro Restaurant . Wine list and a coupe of local ales
      Nice to have a reading room as our bedroom was a little small.
      Comfy bed and very well appointed bathroom
      Friendly staff, particularly the young ladies in the Orangery Restaurant

      Room tip: Big function oriented venue so chose q quiet room
      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Neil T
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Peter Hands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

      Dear Neil T,
      Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
      Thank you for your very kind comments especially about the food and the way our team looked after you throughout
      your stay.
      I have passed on your comments to all my team and we all look forward to you returning for another Forest getaway soon
      Best wishes, stay safe,
      Peter Hands
      /Proprietor

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews