We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Chapel Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chapel Cottage
Living room, with Inglenook and woodburning stove. Seasonal flowers to greet you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Chapel Cottage
Living room, with Inglenook and woodburning stove.
Seasonal flowers to greet you.
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
I00% Cotton Bed and Bath linen supplied
Stained glass front door
Living Room
Living room, stairway to bedrooms and bathroom.
Single Bedroom
Dinning room in conservatory
Enjoy the conservatory
Logs supplied ready to use.
Single Bedroom
Enjoy the enclosed garden, great for dogs!
Garden seating area
Scented roses in June
Free range sheep and lambs roam the forest in spring
Walk to the bluebells, in spring
Roses and clematis climb together
Enjoy the well maintained garden
Free range grazing sheep roam the forest all year
Country lanes, lots of lovely walks
Mallards Pike Lake, is near to Chapel cottage.
Chapel Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura P
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fabulous weeks stay at Chapel Coattage, we arrived to a freshly baked cake, wine, eggs and even treats for our four legged friend. The cottage was well equipped and the location was fantastic, I'll miss my morning runs in the forest! We will be staying again in the near future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionaanda...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and well located. Perfect for the two of us.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely few days at Chapel cottage. It was well equipped and we enjoyed sitting in the large conservatory over looking the pretty little garden. Great to have somewhere to store the bikes as well. Didn't need to use the car too much as plenty of places to cycle to. Excellent for bird watching as well. Sadly we had to return home sooner than expected but we really enjoyed the few days we had there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring the Forest of Dean and beyond.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Chapel cottage had everything you needed. It had a well equipped kitchen and a conservatory that was toasty warm. The garden was very secure for our Springer spaniel.It's located very close to the cycle trail which runs right through the forest. Good spots for dog walking are Woorgreen lake, Cannop ponds and Mallards Pike. We had some very nice meals at the Miners Inn located at sling about 1km away. What was really useful was the owner provided an array of information about the local area including an ordinance surrvey map which proved very useful. On arrival we feasted on a delicious Victoria Sponge cake left by the owner, Mary Berry would be proud. It didn't last 24 hrs. Recommended activities would be Clearwater caves, very atmospheric and "goape" great fun. We had a great time.
Anne, Alan and Cuba the dog.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

What a lovely place this is to stay. From the little thoughtful touches of sponge cake, wine, eggs, milk and doggie biscuits there to greet us, to the well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and enclosed garden for the dogs to run about in, Chapel Cottage is a really relaxing place to stay. The Miners Inn at Coleford was a friendly pub with lovely food within walking distance of the cottage and the Miners Arms at Whitecroft does really excellent food about 10 or 15 minutes drive away. Lots of forest walks right on the doorstep of the cottage and innumerable more available by car made this an ideal spot for us and our dogs. The only thing to be aware of is there is no phone signal (EE/Orange or Vodafone) in the cottage which also meant no internet access either. Depending on your point of view I guess this is either a blessing or a curse, and for us it was somewhere in between with the major inconvenience of our phone's Sat Nav not picking up a signal until we were well out of the village and hoping we were heading in the right direction. Other than that, this is a super place to stay and Debbie has made it comfortable and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of local walks
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful cottage - we had a totally relaxing week.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage - clean and with everything you could need for your stay. A real home from home. The lovely homemade cake when we arrived was an added joy! A good base to see this lovely area. Relaxing, peaceful and just a brilliant place to chill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galaasea
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely, peaceful and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Chapel cottage is a lovely place to stay, all the amenities of home right in the heart of the Forest of Dean. The cottage was clean and well maintained with comfortable beds and plenty of storage. The conservatory with its huge table was perfect for drawing and painting and it was great to have a garden to sit in, (especially as the weather was glorious).The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome gifts of cake, wine, eggs and milk were lovely. The cottage is close to many super walks and locations and there are plenty of places to eat. I look forward to staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close proximity to lovely woodland walks.
Liked least: no mobile phone signal on Vodafone or O2
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing