We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We used the Lambsquay for an overnight stay when attending a wedding in the nearby Clearwell Castle. We were a tricky group comprising 1 couple, 1 single person & a family of 4. The management were extremely helpful and were able to provide us with a single, double & family room in their beautiful hotel with no trouble at all. The hotel is delightful and so quaint having been restored by the owners Lesley & Mike.
Highlights: receiving confirmation of booking incuding details of local taxi companies to help us book transport to the wedding ahead of our stay, being greeted by the very friendly owners who were eager to help with luggage and happy to rustle up some sandwiches for us all while we got ready for the wedding, spotless & cosy bedrooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay including tea/coffee,TV, toiletries, shoe kits, a great welcome brochure including a section about the owners and the history of the hotel, delicious breakfast with lots of home grown produce, delightful gardens to explore. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area. Great value, full of character & perfectly run.
Needless to say we would definitely return to the Lambsquay and next time we'd stay longer and be sure to book in for Sunday lunch!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice hotel with a lovely couple running it. Good location for the walks in the forest of dean. Plus breakfast good homely cooking and generous portions. Also the rooms were a good size with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Having previously been invited to a function at the Lambsquay House Hotel and having come away very impressed we decided to have our 50th wedding anniversary celebration there. It turned out to be an excellent venue, charming hosts (Mike and Leslie), lovely food and a very pleasant ambiance. All our guests were very complimentary. The bottom line is that we would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have been a regular visitor at the hotel over the last three years and have no hesitation in recommending it. I am always looked after well, good room and excellent food at a very reasonable price. All thanks to Mike, Lesley and Keith. A looked for respite from caring for my disabled wife.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

12 of us ranging in ages from 4 to 81 all enjoyed our stay because Lesley,Mike and Keith all went
the extra mile to cater to all our tastes especially at my birthday party.
a pleasant bonus was the discovery that their already reasonable prices had gone DOWN

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the honeymoon/executive suite and had great expectations from the reviews and the way it had been described. The bed was quite small I would have expected bigger being a honeymoon suite. Also jacuzzi I feel was quite small.

The hosts Mike and Lesley could not have been more welcoming or helpful though nothing was to much and the property is very beautiful. Would recommend but probably wouldn't spend the extra money on the executive suite as I'm sure the other rooms are just as nice with similar facilities.

All in all great experience and can't fault the hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boober08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Myself and 13 others had a meal on mothers day 2012 whilst visiting the Forest of Dean. The hosts were very experienced and made us all feel very welcome. The food was fresh and well cooked, the building is in a lovely spot and is easy to find. If we visit the forest again, we will be booking to eat at the Lambsquay hotel and I recommend that you try it for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
5.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
102 reviews
5.1 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Property: The Lambsquay House Hotel
Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambsquay House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing