We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refreshing change from the usual bland chain hotels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A refreshing change from the usual bland chain hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

As a family who tend to book chain hotels I have to say that our weekend stay at the Lambsquay House was a refreshing change. We stay in UK hotels about 10 weekends a year, usually the main chains where you know exactly what you are going to get; which is risk free, but they all tend to be the same bland format. From the moment we arrived nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The owners, Mike and Lesley made us all feel very welcome without being too attentive, like some family run hotels.
The hotel is on the edge of the town very near to a lot of the Forrest’s attractions. Whilst our stay was for a nearby event we would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a base to explore the forest. The front of the hotel is clearly very old and has many of the original features with a large ornamental pond and flower beds which probably looks great in the summer, but was understandably a bit colourless on a wet April day!
On this occasion we were travelling with one of our daughters. Our family room was large enough for all of us, with an en-suite with a large bath and very good shower (not an electric one). The room was very clean and decorated, with pine furniture and curtains that fit very well with a period building.
Unlike the chain hotel rooms ours had 6 power points! Really useful when all of the phones need to be charged whilst the TV is on and my daughter is straightening her hair. We found the beds comfortable and, when our daughter mentioned to Mike that she liked her foam pillow at home one seemed to arrive miraculously in our room. I guess that the decor is not what we are used to in the usual chains, and if you are looking for a Hilton style of room then you may be disappointed (or pleasantly surprised as we were).
On the food, the breakfast was freshly cooked, piping hot and on very warm plates. The menu offers a large choice from the usual full English to the fresh porridge with honey. Our daughter is a very picky eater so we tend to eat out for dinner, but Lesley (in the kitchen) managed to bespoke some things on their menu so she could have what she liked, whilst we chose from the extensive main menu. I guess that this is the way they differentiate their offer from the chains by being flexible.
Overall, our experience was really great and it’s difficult to find fault. We would certainly book again if we are in the area or maybe just to explore the forest.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Oh dear. How do I do justice to this hotel. I understand the positive reviews: there are many good things about Lambsquay. First and foremost is the effort made by the owner, Mike. He goes out of his way to give impeccable friendly service and is attentive without being obsequious. The house is Georgian and has many attractive features from its past as a family home. The room was of a satisfactory size, clean and the bathroom recently refurbished.

The food is fine but largely, one suspects from the freezer, rather than fresh - understandable from a small establishment but I would always prefer a smaller fresh menu.

What then is the other side of the story. The house and garden look a little sad as you approach. The decor inside is Blackpool Landlady style circa 1980 - a lot of floral; prints and a bit of a tired hotch potch. The bedroom furniture is a bit of a clutter and the bed decidedly uncomfortable with hard pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riseholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

How refreshing to be greeted so warmly, shown our room and told all the information we would need. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and inviting. Lesley's menu is excellent with many choices and they are freshly cooked. Mike is very attentive, and knowledgeable about the area. As retired hoteliers we were very impressed with their high standard. We enjoyed the quiet, calm and homely environment created by these two dedicated people. We hope to return and will certainly recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We returned for yet another stay with Mike and Lesley. The food was well presented and excellent. The very high standards of hygiene and cleanliness are well maintained as usual. Mike and Lesley are so friendly and welcoming and flexible with arrangements. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and their fresh garden produce is used seasonally in their restaurant. They have made some beneficial changes in the lounge setting. We have already made a provisional booking for our next stay.
B.& G.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have travelled to the Forest many times over a number of years and have found our stays at The Lambsquay to be Excellant. Mike and Leslie are welcoming and friendly and provide comfortable accomodation with sustaining vitals,very clean and tidy. All in all a very good Hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

If you haven't eaten in the restaurant or stayed in the hotel, then you haven't experienced the warmest of welcome and the lovely food that Mike, Lesley and Keith provide.
Sunday lunch is a must, the meal is well presented and of an excellent standard. Compliments to the amazing chef.
We would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel to anyone looking to visit the Royal Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Brilliant weekend meeting up with old friends, wonderfully catered for by Mike and Lesely. Thoroughly recommend their services, nothing was too much trouble. Two excellent three course meals beautifully cooked and very efficiently served for 22 & 28 guests. Ron & Jean

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
0.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Property: The Lambsquay House Hotel
Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing