We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

What an unbelievably brilliant hotel. The hosts mike and lesley were brilliant. My kids loved the hotel they were wonderful with the kids .The beds were great and the setting also , food and choice excellent.We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future thanks to you for letting us stay at your superb hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Mike and Lesley were extremely welcoming upon our arrival, and we were promptly shown to our room. Both the room and en-suite were spotlessly clean and you can tell that they work hard to keep this very old building in tip top shape. The Lamsquay House Hotal is not a luxury boutique getaway, but rather a much loved hotel with bags of character. Our room overlooked the courtyard and fields. Despite being set back from a busy road, you did not hear the traffic. We had tea/coffee making facilities in our room, along with a TV and plenty of space to hang up your clothes etc. There is also ample parking.

The location is superb, as you can access many local attractions as well as beautiful forest walks within a short time/driving distance. Recommendations would be Puzzle Wood (1 minute away) Clearwell Caves (2 minutes away) and/or the Steam Railway (1 minute away.)

The breakfasts were the best we have ever had, with a huge choice to choose from. Everything is cooked to order with plenty of coffee, tea and/or juice. What stood out, were the gluten free, vegetarian and coeliac options! Due to other commitments we did not have dinner at the hotel. However, they were booked up for the duration of our stay which woukd indicate that its pretty good! We stayed a couple of nights, and enjoyed the whole visit. Both of us agreed that this hotel is one of the best in the area, at an affordable price. If you choose to stay in Clearwell a minute or two down the road you pay £££££, and you do not get as friendly a service that we had from Mike and Lesley. We intend to stay here again when we next visit the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The Lambsquay House hotel is the only place I'd stay, if visiting Gloucester. The welcome, the food, and the rooms are all first class plus it's perfectly Situated in walking distance between Clear Well Caves, Puzzle Wood, & Perry Grove. A+

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareths-V8s-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and was greeted with warm friendly service. Set in a stunning quiet location, the hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. The hosts Mike and Lesley go out of their way to meet your needs and make you feel totally welcome. The family room was large, and decorated in keeping with the age of the house. There is a wide choice to choose from for breakfast, and it was delicious, even my boyfriend who is quite a fussy eater gives it a big thumbs up especially as the sausages were traditional bangers! I would highly recommend the Lambsquay house hotel and will definitely be booking again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

In brief (full review below) a clean, quiet hotel, centrally placed for exploring the Forest of Dean. In personal experience, the best place for those with dietary restrictions, (vegan, coeliac etc.).
-----------------------------
Having just come back from a long weekend staying at The Lambsquay Country House Hotel I can honestly say that it exceeded our expectations.

The Lambsquay Country House Hotel is easy to find being situated on a main road just outside of Coleford town. Externally, it is a beautiful Georgian building with a large free car park, garden, vegetable plot and small orchard. It is not over built in the area so there are some beautiful views surrounding. Internally, it is decorated in a style that is in keeping with the age of the building and as a country house. The cleanliness is maintained to a high standard. Free Wi-fi is available in most of the hotel, although not in the Honeymoon suite which was not a bother to us. Display area with local map and a plethora of tourist information leaflets are also provided adjacent to the main lobby.

On arrival, we found the hotel busy, but we were met promptly and warmly by Mike, who informed us that we had been upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. The room is of a good size, themed in a medieval style and has a comfortable double bed (half tester). It has a large en suite bathroom with a corner bath unit with over shower, the tub being shaped in a 3 leaf clover. Windows can be opened for as much natural ventilation as comfortable. There was no intrusive noise from the main road. We were also fortunate that other guests staying at the same time were considerate and, therefore, there were no problems with noise whatsoever.

When booking, we had informed them that both my husband and I have to follow a gluten and dairy free diet. Normally when eating out or staying somewhere, we have to pick and choose off a normal menu or a gluten free menu (if available) for items we can eat within both those restrictions, and as such our choices are usually extremely limited. Not so here. Gluten and dairy free food items are stored and cooked separately so there is no contamination. Food is cooked to order. At breakfast there is a choice of suitable cooked food available as well as cereals etc., and we were able to have a Full English breakfast that met our dietary restrictions. For evening meals there was a fantastic selection of gluten and dairy free starters, main courses and (amazingly) desserts on a menu that changed daily. Lesley cooked all the food to perfection, and her knowledge and care of our dietary needs really made our stay outstanding.

Mike dealt with all things front of house and was helpful and attentive without being intrusive. He holds an incredible knowledge of the local area, its attractions and events that ensured that our visit was enjoyable and time well spent. Mike and Lesley both are congenial hosts, their knowledge and experience in the hotel industry shone through in the service they provided.

I fully recommend The Lambsquay Hotel to anyone who wants a clean, centrally placed hotel within the Forest of Dean area, especially to those who have dietary restrictions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkingBo0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We are a walking group of 12 and meet up once a year. We have just returned from a stay at Lambsquay. The service was excellent and the food very good. All at a moderate cost. Walks from the hotel superb. Especially good for walking as the Forest of Dean is on the doorstep! Mike and Lesley excellent hosts. Mike even went out of his way and drove to find a lost member of the group!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and easy to find. We were staying for 2 nights for a friends wedding and were placed into room 9. Despite the Hotel needing a bit of updating, both the bedroom and en-suite were absolutely spotless.

Both Mike and Lesley who own and run the Lambsquay were friendly, welcoming and attentive. We would highly recommend The Lamsquay for anyone intending to visit The Royal Forest of Dean, and we will definately book again later this year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
0.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Property: The Lambsquay House Hotel
Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambsquay House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing