We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Sunday lunch”

The Miners Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Coleford
Price range: US$4 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Multi award winning pub in the Forest of Dean. Daily changing menus including Vegetarian, Gluten free, fresh fish and local meats and game. 98% of all produce sourced within the Forest of dean also award wining B&B
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Busy as always! Great Sunday lunch with lots of nice, smiley staff who make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. The furniture may look basic but the food is outstanding. The roast beef today was melt in the mouth delicious. Everything was hot and tasty. Cannot re ommend it highly enough.

Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018

Food never disappoints. Lovely friendly atmosphere along with good service and menu variety is good.
Thoroughly enjoy our visits and recommend this highly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven j, Manager at The Miners Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Many thanks for the great review, we happy you enjoy the Miners Sling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We where visiting the area on Saturday, and after visiting a couple of local attractions, one of which recommended lunch at The Miners we thought we give it a try. From the outside it looks like a normal pub, but as you enter there a lovely log fire, which was lovely on a cold day, we choice to eat in the bar area as it was warmer than the restaurant.
Drinks we choose some local soft drinks with where so tasty, then reading the menu we where excited by all the local produce they serve on the menu, Starters we choice Goats cheese with star anaise chutney and Fresh exe mussels both where amazing .Main course the kids had local 100 % pork sausages which is nice to see ( most places use cheap produce for the kids) Myself choice local venison pie and my wife Fish and chips again both where amazing, just my self for desserts which i choice homemade ice creams. In short this place is a food heaven cant wait to visit again

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhyst490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven j, Manager at The Miners Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Many thanks for the great review, we happy you enjoy the local produce we use

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t booked but a table was quickly organised for us even though they were full. Amazing joint of beef for 2 people which you carved at the table, tasted delicious with beautifully crispy fat on top. Roasties, new potatoes, Yorkshire pud and interesting, perfectly cooked veg including Cavalo Nero and tenderstem broccoli. Great service by staff and overall a great find. We’ll be back

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Helzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven j, Manager at The Miners Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Many thanks for the great review, we happy you like are Sunday Butchers boards, Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Met up here on Friday with my sister and brothers. We had a lovely time. The food was excellent with a wide range of lunchtime dishes. Everything was cooked to order and was well presented and delicious. Would highly recommend venison pie with triple cooked chips. Good value and a great asset to the Forest of Dean.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven j, Manager at The Miners Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Many thanks for the great review, hope to see you again at the Miners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miners Country Inn also viewed

 
Clearwell, Forest of Dean
 
Newland, Coleford
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The Miners Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing