We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven... pass it on !”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven... pass it on !”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked a short break Mon – Frd at Badgers End Cottage and if we could have stayed on we would have done !
The cottage ,which dates back to the 1830’s, is idyllically set up a small lane, which give it a great sense of privacy and calm.
However you are only 5 mins drive to Coleford and some great places to eat.
Parking is easy and upon entering we felt like it was a real home from home. From the lovely log burner , soft lighting, very well equipped kitchen, two good sized bedrooms, one ensuite and a big family bathroom, everything was just perfect .
Carol ,our host, was just amazing, so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
The whole property is quite superb, totally faultless.
Whist’s there both my partner and I were able to really unwind, don’t worry there is Wi-Fi!
Now we have found Badgers End we shall return whenever we can... A truly magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage was outstandingbut we loved the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam M
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Charming cottage great for walking and cycling”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This place never fails to charm and we have stayed there three times now and have enjoyed it every single time. We take our bikes normally as there's a cycle path to the left of the property that offers an easy ride to Colefield and into the forest cycle network. This time we left the cycles at home and rented proper mountain bikes at the cycling center for our first stab at mountain trails - it was amazing and the weather whilst damp did nothing to put us off. Here the cottage works well. Large porch to take wet stuff off. 2 bathrooms showers and bath, there's always a scrummy cake on arrival. Simmons Yat is a 5 minute drive away and offers amazing views and a lovely riverside walk with a hand pulled barge or narrow bridge to cross over each side. If you're prepared to go a bit further the saxon hill fort is worth trekking to and Merlins cave is great for the imagination. The cottage has all local walks avaiable in pamphlets plus details of all local eateries. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage feel, great location
Liked least: up a small lane so can be difficult to find in dark
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal location for discovering the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Badger's End is part of a converted row of cottages, I think originally from four into two, the owner's house plus the 'bijou' self catering cottage in which we enjoyed our week. It is capable of hosting four guests, but could be a tad small if all adults. Not because the bedrooms or lounge are small, but mostly that the kitchen/dining area is very compact. It perhaps was a shame that the conversion didn't include the separate area through the now blocked door behind the fridge/freezer. Having said that we had booked primarily for just the two of us and were very happy. Carol & Tony are excellent hosts, available to advise or help with our stay.
The Forest of Dean held many surprises for us besides the obvious and beautiful tree-scapes,most particularly in terms of its significance in Britain's (and therefore the World's) industrial history.... Roman and other ancient remains, stone quarries, coal and steel workings all quietly waiting to be discovered in this stunning royal forest.
We couldn't manage a fraction of what we wanted to do in one week so look forward to staying at Badger's End again to continue our adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: see review
Liked least: see review
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devina L
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely rural location”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our visit to badgers end cottage was nothing short of lovely. Tony greeted us on arrival and gave us so many helpful suggestions and tips for local restaurants, pubs and things to see. The location was secluded yet not too far from Coleford and beautiful walks in the heart of the forest.
The cosy cottage was warm and cosy after a long day spent walking.
Couldn't recommend this enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Wood fire
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bedrooms
Liked least: Cramped dining area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NightjarJ...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful area”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I, with another couple, traveled from the US and spent a wonderful but too-short week at Badgers End Cottage. We were welcomed with cupcakes and many suggestions for what to do in the area (which would easily have filled a month or two!). The cottage is cheerful, spotless and comfortable for four adults. One of our party enjoys cooking and found the kitchen to be well-equipped. (If anything is lacking, the hosts are next door.)

We loved the location as it was a good base for exploring castle ruins in Wales and the astonishing Brecon Beacons in one direction and the Cotswolds in the other. Of course one needn't leave the area at all -- a week is too little time to explore just the Forest of Dean. We particularly enjoyed the Nags Head Preserve, where we were lucky enough to see a Pied Flycatcher. It's a pleasant walk from the cottage to Coleford for groceries or fish-n-chips take-away, or to Newland for dinner at the Ostrich Inn (yes, it is good).

It was a great holiday. We didn't see piglets, or Goshawks from the orchard, so we'll just have to come back. We did, however, see two wild boar!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing