We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StephenF2...
2 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Carol and Tony gave us such a warm welcome, the cottage was full of charm and character. Surrounded by nature and very peaceful. We left feeling totally relaxed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Thank you both, we love our guests to leave relaxed and with a touch of nature or adventure to remember.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Thank you
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you . It's always heart warming to hear you really enjoyed yourselves. The forest is so ancient and interesting, there's a hidden gem round every corner - as long as you don't get lost! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew D
1 review
“Perfect autumnal getaway.”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great location for exploring the Forest of Dean. Carol, the cottage owner greeted us warmly upon arrival and was so nice to the children and dog! The cottage was immaculately turned out with dry wood for the log fire and a huge chocolate cake in the fridge we felt immediately at home. Carol advised us well on the different attractions and activities available, and the small town of Coleford provides all essentials and is within walking distance.All in all a perfect short break in the forest of dean!! Will definitely return.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thank you Andrew, it was a real pleasure to host you and the family. I'm into baking fresh bread at the moment so next time it might be home made jams, local butter and fresh bread! All the very best for the New Year and I look forward to seeing you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thank you Natalie, it was a real pleasure to host you all.
I'm glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again. You must see the white stag!
Have a lovely Christmas
Kind regards
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trud B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Although quite a small lounge/sitting room, the cottage is fab, very relaxing. It is very close to fields where you can walk dogs. The woodland is close by and there are plenty of walks. The owners are very nice and friendly and will offer advice on places to visit if asked. It is very close to Coleford and only 5 miles to Monmouth. I would recommend it to bird watchers and nature lovers. I will definitely try to come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you Trudie. Glad you enjoyed the owls. They had a family this year and we now have several. We could audition for the next Harry Potter film with the variety!
29 different species of bird was recorded recently by a keen ornathologist in our orchard, he did get up at 5am though! Glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you next spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, clean and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent location. Lots of places of interest and walks nearby - Clearwell Caves, Symonds Yat and canoe hire, cycling in the forest, cider making and tours. Plenty to do.
Cottage is extremely well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Even towels were provided and cake awaiting our arrival. The owners were very friendly and helpful regarding things to do around the area and places to eat.
Best holiday we have had for a while and would recommend it to everyone, especially if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Hosting Sarah and her family was a real pleasure. They tried new things like the Weston Cider museum and processing plant. They havent yet been down 'Big Pit', we hope they will come back and try it !
Sarah's card has pride of place in our book. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPW87
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thanks Carol”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Sorry it has taken so long to get round to this review. Me, Sam and Ossie had a lovely time even though we got lost in the woods by Symmonds Yat! Everything was perfect; the fire, the location, the cottage was clean and tidy. Exceptional value and we made a load of new sheep friends. We will be back, would not hesitate to recommend. If you are on the fence, don't be, just book!
Love Tom and Sam (and Ossie) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you. It was great fun to host you and hear your exploits. A good job you had Ozzie your guide dog to lead you home.

The sheep are missing you! Seriously, do come and visit us again soon.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing