We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly campsite”

Christchurch Campsite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christchurch Campsite
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in December during the xmas break with gale force winds and heavy rain. Weather was awful but the campsite was worth it. I think if it wasn't that good it would have been a miserable holiday. Toilet block was very nice and showers were of a good standard. Water pressure and temperature were excellent. There is a well stocked shop with nice local produce and tasty stuff. It also has the ketchup and vinegar stuff you want, but I like the yummy bits :).
Will I stay again? Yes, but in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasF1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Christchurch Campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our first time at this campsite, we camped for the week, 2 adults and 4 children between 6-13 yrs old. Plus we had other family friends staying with us on site. 14 people altogether. Lovely location, impressive reception/shop area, lovely site with so much potential. Very disappointed with a few important areas; service in the shop area - everyday it was painful to stand in the queue in the shop, the prices aren't cheap so when you chuck poor slow service on top it is very frustrating. It seems that there isn't designated staff for this area. While observing the staff through he week it seemed if you stared long enough at someone they finally came onto the till area to serve, even though they had 2 till points there was only ever one in use. So if food or drink was ordered the same member of staff, took the money, made the drinks, served them and if food ordered got from the kitchen and served to table. While this is happening everyone else in the queue is waiting, waiting and waiting some more. We spent a lot of money over the week in the shop, it's sad to come away and feel like this when we had such a great holiday. 2nd thing are the shower blocks, worst facilities on a campsite I've ever experienced, don't get me wrong, there was hot showers and plenty of toilet roll, so some would say that's enough but the showers were too powerful, making it almost painful to shower under especially for the younger kids in our party. Plus it wasn't the cleanest. Not enough space in these blocks at all.
On a very positive note,we would visit again but really hoping the management see this review and take action. All the staff were pleasant, but they need staff manning the tills and getting a better system in place for serving.
Big big shout out to Chris Smilie, we loved him, we all thoroughly enjoyed the young explorers activity and the night vision. He seemed to get it, great service, plenty of knowledge, make him MD!
Overall we did have an awesome holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we went for a five day break on the 26th august, the site was fairly full, but we had no problem finding a pitch with electricity, it was a clean site and dog friendly, thats why i booked there, i was a bit unnerved about the reviews from others about the toilets and showers, i went tooled up with lots of loo rolls, the showers was hot and plentiful, loo roll was scarce, but that was down to people letting their children play in there, there is nothing wrong with the facilities just the people that used them, a most enjoyable stay and we will return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan 'Pastiemun... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 night camping trip with 16 friends for bank holiday weekend. 1st thing is that 12 of us had no problem with the booking system however the last 2 families were not allowed to book for 2 nights and we're told this was against the campsite policy. The website clearly states minimum of 2 nights for bank holiday weekend so staff need further training and a refund definitely needs to be made!
On arrival at the campsite we were grated with a lovely reception area/cafe/shop selling locally produced food the campsite is all in one field with 2 toilet/shower blocks. In the one near the shop the showers did not work properly and we're barely luke warm which is a real let down for £23.60 pet night! There was also not any hot water at the washing up facility located at the back of the field near the woods. This campsite is not allocated pitches which had its pros and cons depending on what you like.
We had a lovely stay here despite the above. Site is 4 miles from simonds yat and rock and can be accessed by a beautiful woodland walk that runs down the back of the campsite.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodiejohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I think that the reviews that people have left are some what unfair, and prehaps they arent people that normally go camping. If you're expecting brilliant facilities & to be looked after by lots of staff, stay in a hotel!
We arrived on Thursday before the bank holiday, we had lots of room to choose our pitch. We had checked the weather so pitched at the top of the hill! The toilets & shower blocks in the middle of the site, were fine, yes there was 2 toilets of out action, but there were about 7 that werent!! The showers were hot & had a curtain & hooks for your clothes. As with any campsite, if you choose to have a shower at peak times, then you will have to wait, that is part of camping.
Im not sure if we were just lucky or maybe have different expectations, but this campsite was very good, whilst the facilities, arent state of the art, they are fine. The loaction is brilliant, we took our bikes & walked a lot, definately recommend the walk to Symmonds Yat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0ey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

When arriving at this campsite and seeing the reception you are very impressed. However that's where it ends! We arrived at 3pm on the Saturday of a bank holiday weekend - there were 2 families in our group and obviously we wanted to camp close together - but on entering the site I had grave concerns we would find space for 1 tent anywhere let alone 2!!!!
It was chaos! The toilet facilities are "grim" most of the blocks either are closed or 70% of the toilets and showers don't work. They smell and are just not somewhere you really want to go but you have no choice. We paid for an electric hook up but was so busy couldn't find a spare one. The site itself is very hilly and the bottom line it's old and dated. It could be very good if more money was spent on the facilities.
On a plus point the location is excellent for bikers and hikers!!! Symonds Yat is a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good pitch!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylorg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just got back from Christchurch in the Forest of Dean, we booked late so ended up with no electric hook up, which we coped well without for whole weekend. On arrival the reception area is fab with a small shop area which was very expensive, it took. About 30 mins to get booked in which was a pain very under staffed & slow. No pitches are allocated so its grab what you can, only bonus off that is no rush on departure date. Now the facilities horrendous!!! Toilets and showers out off action! Long queues as not enough showers which are in desperate need off up dating. And filthy! It's bank holiday weekend get extra staff & make sure everything working!!! It must be the busiest weekend off the year. We will not be booking again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ajpw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
4.1 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
1.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Campsite

Address: Bracelands Drive, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Coleford
Also Known As:
Christchurch Campsite Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing