We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Dryslade Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dryslade Farm
Ranked #4 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Mike and I stayed at Dryslade Farm with our Spaniel dog Jack for five nights and loved the farm so much we could have stayed the whole summer. Daphne and Phil were wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome and more like friends than paying guests. We stayed in the Foxglove room which was so clean and comfortable it could not be faulted. All the facilities were very clean and the breakfasts were truly superb. Daphne has been looking after guests for some time and she is a true professional and this great service coupled with her outgoing and friendly nature made us feel very pleased we had chosen the farm for our stay. We would highly recommend the farm to anyone seeking excellent accommodation, peace & quiet & wonderful breakfasts. the farm is also in an excellent location for a walking and sightseeing holiday.

Room Tip: A great place to stay if you love the countryside but also enjoy the benefits of great service and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed two nights at Dryslade Farm and have nothing but good comments. We do a lot of travelling and stay in several hotels and guest houses during a year and this is one of the best. Everything you need in a good...no excellent...bed and breakfast you will find at Dryslade Farm. Nothing but praise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a long weekend at this B&B following the reviews on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did as we couldn't fault it. Slightly confusing as it advertises 3 rooms where is actually has 5. A double on the ground floor, a twin and a large double (slightly more expensive) on the first floor and a two doubles on the second floor - all are en suite (shower only) except one of the doubles on the second floor which has a private bathroom. The reason they do not advertise the other two rooms (on the 2nd floor) is that they use them if family are visiting. The rooms are very clean and have all the facilities you could wish for and more including a hairdryer, bottled water (still & sparking), biscuits and mint chocolates. On the first floor landing there is a fridge you can use to keep wine etc. in which was brilliant as we had two warm evening while we were there so were able to sit out in the garden with our friends having a drink and chatting. Even better as if you book the pub down the road for your meal (25 minute walk).no one needs to drive. The fridge also has fresh milk for your tea/coffee plus on top are various fruit teabags etc. that you might want. It took a little bit of finding even with a sat nav but just look out for the sign just outside the village. On arrival we were met by Daphne and Phil who were happy to chat even though Phil has the farm to look after (and no there are no strong farmyard smells). Plenty of parking and Daphne was kind enough to bring us a pot of tea and a plate of biscuits so we could sit in the huge great conservatory at the back of the house where you also eat breakfast and chat with our friends. There are four comfortable wicker chairs to sit on as well as the tables and chairs used for breakfast. As for breakfast - don't know where to start as it was definitely the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK and we've stayed in loads of hotels & B&Bs with our friends. With the cooked breakfast you have a choice of eggs which are brought out to you on a plate the rest of the bits (hash browns, mushrooms, sausages, bacon, fried bread, beans and tomatoes) are brought out on a large serving dish which you help yourself to and there is plenty and all very tasty and well cooked - most would struggle to eat it all. Then there is as much toast as you can eat with fresh butter, jam and marmalade in dishes. A jug of juice on your table, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit - brilliant. Daphne will help you with directions and recommendations of where to go. What more could you want. All I can say is if you are visiting the area do stay here but take a torch for the walk home if you are planning to use the local pub although Daphne will loan you one if you need it anyway. I'd easily give it 10/10 and are planning to stay again when we are next in the area (if they have room).

Room Tip: Given a choice I'd go for the double or twin on the first floor as others walking past can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were two friends enjoying a few days walking & cycling in the Forest of Dean and fully spoilt at Dryslade Farm by Daphne and Phil who were wonderful hosts and made us feel very much at home in their beautiful character home. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast delicious and all facilities were very clean. The extra touches really helped to make a memorable stay. We could happily recommend this B&B to anyone who can appreciate peace, quiet and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed at Dryslade Farm for the bank holiday weekend and loved it - it really was perfect in every way. Daphne and Phil are very welcoming and helped us out with whatever we needed. The room was beautiful, very large with a wonderful view of gorgeous countryside. The breakfasts were delicious, as much as we could eat. We had a fantastic time exploring the Forest of Dean by bike, visiting the mystical Tintern Abbey, going to Symonds Yat and walking along the pretty Wye valley. We recommend Dryslade Farm 100%!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky_and_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Two-night stay in April, the hospitality was fantastic and within 10 minutes of arriving we were treated to a lovely cup of tea and a tray of biscuits, some home made. Breakfast was superb and cooked to order. The room was lovely and clean the bathroom was small, but sufficient for our needs. Both nights we strolled down the very quiet country lane to the Dog and Muffler pub, which was recommended by Daphne, and it didn't disappoint, the meals were lovely. We did a 8 mile circular walk from the farm, taking in Symonds Yat and the Wye River valley, it was a very scenic walk and as a bonus came across some wild deer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A lovely stay of 5 days, Daphne and Phil could not have made us feel more at home, always had time to have a chat despite their very busy lives and to give advice on local attractions, plus very helpful information about where to eat - most important. Breakfast was everything it should be and beautifully cooked, the standard didn't drop over the Bank Holiday week-end when there were 10 guests to be fed, Phil donned his 'uniform' and did sterling service providing the tea/coffee and toast. We had the delightful Primrose room which is very spacious even with a 6ft. bed. We would certainly make a second visit and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and relations. There was only one disappointment, at not time did we see Phil with his 'little bit of string' - you'll only find the answer to this by going there yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleford hotels
3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
#5 of 11 in Coleford
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryslade Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryslade Farm

Address: English Bicknor | Royal Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: £33 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryslade Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daphne & Phil warmly welcome you to our 18th century farmhouse on Pedigree Hereford beef farm. Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Ample parking. Cycle storage. Large conservitory for breakfast using local or organic produce. Bedrooms en-suite and tastefully furnished with the mellow warmth of pine furniture. Guest lounge with log fires during winter. Visitengland 4star grading with Silver Award plus Breakfast Award. Visit our web site for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dryslade Farm Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing