We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treat”
Review of Dryslade Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dryslade Farm
Ranked #5 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real treat”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the farm where we enjoyed a very comfortable relaxing time. Our hosts were splendid. Nothing was too much trouble and there some wonderful touches e.g. a fridge with fresh milk and cold drinks for the guests to share. We particularly enjoyed having a tea time cuppa on the terrace with it's wionderful views. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the farm. The hosts are exceptional and nothing too much trouble for them to ensure a good time.
Beautiful surroundings with amazing views from our bedroom.
The breakfast was filling, very appetising and well presented.
It was an idea location for the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley and as there is still so much we want to see and do, we will definitely be going back to stay with Daphne and Phil in the near future.

There are no negative comments.for this lovely farmhouse.

Room Tip: Don't be put off staying in the room without the en-suite, that was our room and the views are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thank You Phil & Daphne.
We were recommended to stay at Dryslade Farm when we came to English Bicknor for a family
party.
We arrived mid-afternoon and where met by Daphne who made us fell very welcome as she showed us to our rooms.
The room w very clean and comfortable with en-suite and a a great view from the window.
Breakfast next morning was amazing and set us up for the day, no need for lunch.
After Breakfast Phil showed my two boys the goats and the milking of the cow which they really enjoyed.
We plan to visit English Bicknor again to explore more of the surrounding countryside and will be staying again at Dryslade Farm. (Looking forward to the breakfast !)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the house which had a great view of the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Drysdale Farm and wished we could have stayed longer. It was a delightful location, and the hosts made us very welcome and fed us handsomely! We looked forward every morning to our very fulsome breakfasts served in the large, airy conservatory, and enjoyed chatting with Daphne and Phil. We will definitely return here if we holiday in the area again, and have no hesitation in recommending Drysdale Farm to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Phil and Daphne Gwilliam made us very,very welcome, even though we only had time to stay for one night, bed-and-breakfast. Our bedroom was spacious, with lovely en-suite facilities. It's quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast next morning was everything you might expect from a genuine "Farmhouse Breakfast", served in a fantastic conservatory with extensive views of the garden and countryside. Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley are top-grade scenic destinations and Dryslade Farm is, for us, the perfect place to stay.
Harold & Dallas C.

Room Tip: Room called "Primrose" is faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold-C499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had two nights here,

Really nice place to stay, very comfortable room, great location.
Everything very comfortable.

Owners made us feel very welcome and were very informative. Safe storage for our bikes and some wonderful views from the farm.

Really really loved the breakfast, served up on a platter tray to. Fried bread and sausages were amazing. Lovely place to eat breakfast as you have some great views. You can also wonder over the fields which was very nice

Good local pub which is within easy walking distance that does good food.

A great place to stay for visiting the wye valley and the forest of dean.

Would definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolomarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We needed a break and returned to Dryslade Farm for two days. The welcome was as warm as ever, the room was perfect and the breakfast as filling and appetising as always.
The rain was persistent but this did not dampen the spirits with lots of farmer-like chat about life when you want to cut grass!!
The road was closed so the traffic was non existent. Local pubs were as welcoming as ever and the food was as good as always.

Room Tip: The rooms are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
4.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
48 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryslade Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryslade Farm

Property: Dryslade Farm
Address: English Bicknor | Royal Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryslade Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daphne & Phil warmly welcome you to our 18th century farmhouse on Pedigree Hereford beef farm. Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Ample parking. Cycle storage. Large conservitory for breakfast using local or organic produce. Bedrooms en-suite and tastefully furnished with the mellow warmth of pine furniture. Guest lounge with log fires during winter. Visitengland 4star grading with Silver Award plus Breakfast Award. Visit our web site for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dryslade Farm Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing