We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Forest House(Coleford)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Angel Hotel(Coleford)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
The Lodge Rooms(Coleford)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
76
33
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
33
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringinformation packforest of deanhomemade jamsgoodrich castlewalking routessaracens headoutstanding viewson arrivaldog walkingrolling countrysidethe location is perfectgreat place to staywi firoom was clean and comfortablethoroughly enjoyed our stayspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Really enjoyed this lovely B & B room was spotlessly clean and very warm and friendly welcome and very helpful. Our only complaint was the soundproofing of the room, but this was not a major problem. The forest walk just across the road was beautiful and our dog loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster room which was the first room so only had one ajoining wall.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lodge. The owners could not have done more to make it a memorable visit. The views were great and a great place for walking. Superb breakfast. We stayed in Room 3 and the only criticism was the soundproofing of the walls allowing us to hear the neighbours TV. Apart from that BRILLIANT

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDT607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from staying at the lodge. It was really clean, lovely lay out of the accomodation and they supply the little things you dont think to take ( eg dishwasher tablets, abit of milk, hair dryer etc)
The view from your patio and the garden is amazing!
The owner is happy to help with whatever you need.
Would definately stay again!! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed just one night as a quick get away and what a little gem. Lovely setting, clean, modern and cosy rooms. All rooms have their own access which was great with our little dog. The views from the guest garden are spectacular. Cooked breakfast was delicious and homemade preserves were lovely. Lovely hosts. All in all perfect and will definitely be back for a longer stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Claire and darren Scales provided us with a cheap but very comfortable base from where we could explore the Forest of Dean. The lodge is located in stunning country close to Symonds Yat Rock, one of the most iconic views in England. The rooms, while small, are good value and very clean. The breakfast was superb. In particular try the yoghurt and Claire's or was it Darren's homemade hedgerow jam - sublime!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews