We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location,comfortable room, friendly service and”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location,comfortable room, friendly service and”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for three pleasant nights in an ideal semi rural location for us to travel around the forest of dean and surrounding area. The room was excellent, clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable.The owners were very accommodating, helpful and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious ample and hearty. We would have no hesitation to return to this accommodation in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchley1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for valentines weekend during the heavy storms.
The accommodation was lovely, best equipped self catering I've been to and the views were outstanding. The first night there was a power cut which left us in darkness well into the next day. The owners provided candles and heated out food for us. We had bought breakfast for two days but had to go out and eat in a cafe. The owners gave us a bottle of prosecco for the inconvenience which of course wasn't there fault. Can't help thinking that an offer of a return nights may have been courteous.

Overall it's excellent accommodation and well worth checking out, we found it to be reasonable value and would consider staying again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited for a weekend and were only able to book the larger apartment 5. We loved it and were glad we paid the extra, spacious and well equiped. The owners offer a delicious breakfast with lovely sausages and even home made jam! They could not have been more helpful with lots of information about the area. I would recommend this lodge to all my family & friends.
The lodge is ideally located between the Forest of Dean and the River Wye.

Room Tip: Apartment 5 is very nice, but the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a real find! Self catering apartment which is clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you need. I chose this because I was on a walking and foraging holiday and wanted somewhere from which to explore the Forest of Dean where I could kick off my boots and cook my finds in the evening.

An excellent pub by the River Wye is a 1.5 mile walk or 3 mile drive away and there are plenty of others further afield. The entrance to the Forest is immediately over the road and, in my first outing, I saw a fallow deer within seconds.

The owners are happy to discuss and describe walks for all abilities and there are plenty of local attractions (with brochures in the information pack). Can't really understand why this place is a bit cheaper than its immediate competitors.

Wi-fi in my room wasn't great (blocked by very effective sound-proofing) but there are areas where it's good and very usable, plus many local pubs have free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend and I enjoyed two nights in one of the excellent self-catering apartments. Warm, comfortable, extremely convenient for our fishing and thoroughly clean!
Well done and many thanks to Claire and Darren. We will be back again!
Mark

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Fab time ...clean, warm, welcoming beautiful breckfast ..lovely veiws at breckfast a real treat...highly recomended...lots of walks and b7ke rides for all abilities ..loads close by to do...pleanty of local pubs for evening meal..and we were welcome to bring a takeaway back to eat in breckfast room...

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms two doubles one with 4 poster and a single...alll beautiful
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Really enjoyed this lovely B & B room was spotlessly clean and very warm and friendly welcome and very helpful. Our only complaint was the soundproofing of the room, but this was not a major problem. The forest walk just across the road was beautiful and our dog loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster room which was the first room so only had one ajoining wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
0.8 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
821 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

Property: Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Address: Hillersland | Coleford, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb modern open-plan apartments and comfortable bed & breakfast rooms at Symonds Yat Rock on the Wye Valley.Set in quiet wooded surroundings, overlooking the stunning Ruardean valley and opposite many footpaths into the Forest of Dean and to the Wye, Symonds Yat Rock Lodge is a peaceful, scenic location.A perfect base for walking (dogs welcome), canoeing, wildlife, adrenalin activities, sightseeing and attractions, or just relaxing in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Symonds Yat Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat Rock Hotel Coleford
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing