We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, great welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Solid oak kitchen - oven / hobs / microwave / kettle / toaster / sink
electric replica log fire
tea / coffee
Cosy red room with luxury bedding , quilts and mattress
cosy light and airy blue room with nice views towards golf course and forest
Large brand new shower room
The forest of dean walks - all around ( 1 mile drive )
Famous forest stain glass window - 2 miles
bike rides - 1 mile drive or bike from cottage
go ape - 3 miles
symonds yat - 3 miles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnonBA
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great welcome”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well equipped, very comfortable cottage. Plenty of room for 2 of us and a lovely welcome from owner Alex who is on hand next door. On road parking, which is plentiful and easy and a short from amenities, including shops, doctor etc. Will definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob186525
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely period style cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property is full of history, and Alex has made a great job keeping a lot of the character in the place. It is really cosy and comfortable with everything at hand to make your stay enjoyable. Alex was at hand to welcome us and explain local places to visit. Thank you also for the milk, tea, coffee and cereals, much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This little cottage is absolutely perfect. Every room is homly and cosy and at an exceptional standard. Lots of things to do in the area. Alex is the nicest and friendliest owner who went above and beyond to make sure we had a superb stay. Absolutely loved our time and will be sure to return very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
350Christ...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really enjoyed short break in the cottages. Very warm & comfortable. Plenty to do in surrounding area without travelling very far. Forest of Dean railway and Symonds Yat Rock a must. We will return one day

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nichola R
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely time staying at The Cottage. We had everything we needed and Alex was great and had left toys and food/drink for the kids. Beds were great and shower lovely.
The location itself was perfect; we hired bikes from Pedalaway cycles and spent the morning covering the family trail. Our kids are 7 and 10 and this was perfect for them. Puzzlewood was amazing and we had a lovely walk at Yat Rock.
Food in Coleford town centre wasn't great, but we found a lovely pub a short drive away.
Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
femalegan...
west mids
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We finally made it back”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It took 2 years but we managed to get back! Once again,the cottage was a delightful place to stay and come back to after a long day out. The cottage was full of creature comforts; from a wonderfully roomy and hot shower to sofas you can sink into to a well equipped kitchen. Alex was an exeptional host and a genuinely kind and nice guy. Thanks Alex :-)

There is so much to see in the area - too much for a short 3 day visit! Puzzlewood is an absolute must as its such a magical experience. Beechenhurst Lodge in the Forest of Dean is a lovely area for walks and activities -there's tons of the kids to do. And we're off to Clearwell Caves for our last day - see there's even something to do in the rain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing