We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base for exploring town and countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Squirrel Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Squirrel Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve R
2 reviews
“Good base for exploring town and countryside”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a good stay here in May for 10 nights or so. Place seems really luxurious. Well equipped, all in good condition, but as usual in any rented place, I took several dishwasher tablets with me; we used the dishwasher daily.
During the stay, a neighbour had a bonfire which did concern us, but we didn’t, at the time, complain to to him or to the Lodge owners. I have been subsequently assured by the Lodge owners that there won’t be any more bonfires. With this assurance, I rate the lodge as excellent.
‘Miners’ or ‘Miners Arms’ pub nearby offered half-price meals on Monday evenings, needed to book, nice meal, especially at that price; I think best to check first, as they may not have this offer all year.
Lots of historical items to look at nearby. For birdwatching, my sister found nearby Lydney Harbour good. Gloucester Waterways Museum in April 2017 introduced scheme of (to me) expensive admission tickets that are valid for whole year, whether you want it or not, so best to check prices before go; hopefully they’ll stop it pronto and go back to original price. They have cheaper ‘group’ tickets, maybe they’ll do a deal if you haggle. Interesting museum, in my opinion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks for the great review Steve, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola R
1 review
“Lovely spacious lodge, central for attractions”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely, large, very clean place, close to lots of good fun things to do and containing everything you need for a family break. Sue and Rich were very easy to deal with and Sue even sent on gloves that we left there. We had two vehicles and there was no problem with parking both.The lodge is on a park with similar properties, and the owners of the park live on site, although the owners of the lodge do not.

We cycled and visited Go Ape, and spent time at Perrygrove. We built dens in the forest. It was lovely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thanks for the great review Nicola, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate A
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter Holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An extremely well looked after and beautiful lodge. We were amazed by the lodge with everything you could need for a holiday.
The kids, 6 &2, loved the space and the sofas.
The sun shone for our holiday so we spent most time outside. The lodge is in a great position for visiting so many interesting and exciting places. Puzzle Wood is almost next door. We went and rode a steam train, visited a butterfly zoo. Hunted the Gruffalo and visited family in Malvern and Cardiff.
It was great coming back to a peaceful and spacious lodge after all our adventures.
We will definitely book again. Rich and Sue are fantastic hosts who make sure you are well catered for and only a text or email away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks for the great review - hope see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee6...
1 review
“Great Location and base to explore area.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

what a wonderful lodge squirrel lodge is, Richard and sue have thought of everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Also great communication to make sure we
were okay. We found there were lots of things to do locally and explore that we ran out of time! so a perfect excuse to plan a longer re-visit in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thanks for the great review hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thanks Bob & Jan for the great review and the second stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great view, it was good to see you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liz M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family friendly cabin”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Squirrel Lodge is centrally located with easy access to the Forest of Dean. The cabin had everything a family with children could need. It was clean, cosy and comfortable. The cabin had all the necessities needed for self catering. Our kids really enjoyed the board games in the cabin and our hosts were friendly and gave us loads of local advice. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
thanks for the great review Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing