We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Druid House Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Druid House Guest House
Ranked #11 of 32 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just had a few days staying at Druid House What can I say it was amazing The room was clean and had every thing in it that you would need.The breakfast was to die for ,Hugh choice on the menu which set us up for the day,what I really liked was being able to go down to the bar and have a drink before we went out for dinner.It's a family run guesthouse which made it feel cosy.one of the sons has just started a taxi business, so we used that to get into Bournemouth,it was great he picked us up rather late but really didn't mind .What eles did we need. Well Done Druid House we will be back in the summer.

Room Tip: Room 11had a great decking area ,it would be wonderfull in the summer,Hugh bed and great space to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    22
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
87
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I entirely agree with the other guests who complained about this place - customer service was terrible. From beginning to end this was a very disappointing experience - host was rude to the point of humiliation from our arrival up until the end. Shower not working properly and only cold water was running but instead of receiving an apology I was made feel like a liar!
Comfortable and quiet rooms at least but this won't be hard to find elsewhere and the atmosphere can only be friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros:
Good location
Room very small but nicely furnished
Free parking

Cons:
Customer service non-existent
Awful shower…it was a trickle of lukewarm water


I was surprised by my experience, given the good reviews of this guesthouse. But make no mistake, this isn't 5* luxury - I've stayed in nicer 3-stars.

We got a late deal, paying £55 (no breakfast) for 1 night. Don't pay more, it's not worth it. We didn't add breakfast, as its location is ideal for exploring Christchurch's lovely cafes and restaurants.

On arrival, we were greeted by a disgruntled member of staff, who made no effort to make any conversation or provide a friendly welcome. None at all. We tried but nothing was forthcoming! All we were asked/told was to pay in full immediately. Probably to ensure they had our cash before being shown into a cupboard (sorry, Room number 8).

Room 8 was well furnished, though small. Bed was comfy, bathroom well stocked. Noise travels easily however, and we were disturbed by other guests in adjoining room.

Relatively good night's sleep, and woke up to try the shower. Awful. A trickle of lukewarm water.

With all this in mind, we were ready to talk with the owners about our disappointing experience. Upon returning the keys, someone popped their head out, took the keys and said thanks, before leaving the foyer and returning to the kitchen. No asking after our stay. No interest in how we found Druid's House. No time for a conversation with us. A check-out experience much the same as the check-in experience.

Maybe the owners were having a bad day, as our review goes against the many positive reviews. Interesting to see ChampagneLil's recent review mirroring our experience. Looks like maybe our disappointing stay wasn't just a one off!
With the experience falling far short of expectations, I'm afraid I wouldn't recommend and won't be returning.

Room Tip: Not Room 8, if you end up staying here at all. Small and terrible shower. Maybe all rooms are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolChris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We looked at all the reviews online and went ahead with booking based on the majority of good reviews. When we arrived the greeting we received was not very welcoming. We were advised the rate did not include breakfast and were even offered the option of breakfast at an additional cost. We were allocated room No 4, which was very small, with no shower just a bath. The bed was a standard size double which was too small for my tall partner. When I asked if a double bed was standard for all rooms, I was told no they vary but as we had booked at a special rate via Hotel Bookings. Com this was the given room for that rate and to have the bigger room with shower and bigger bed next door was an additional £30 to the £65 already paid (apparently this was also a special rate that would usually be £120). We decided to stay in the allocated room as the other room in our opinion was not worth an additional £30. Whilst settling in we then discovered that the blind was broken, so my partner went to reception to advise that it was not working, expecting them to come and look at it. To my partners surprise they admitted they already knew it was broken and said you better move into the larger room then. My partner was given the key for the new room and was asked to return the other one when finished, so no apology or offer of help to move. The room had cobwebs, was freezing cold and the shower water temperature was very cool. We also discovered that the main pressure pump for the room next door was housed in a cupboard in ours bathroom and was very noisy. This is in no way a 5 star establishment both in quality and customer service. We couldn't wait to check out and when we did we were met with the same cold attitude as received on check-in. We would never recommend this place or book again, you have been warned!

Room Tip: There are better options in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampagneLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Being very disorganised and last minute I hadn't booked anywhere to stay when I decided to take a couple of days break in Dorset with my 9 year old son. The first night we arrived very late and found a hotel in Lyndhurst -expensive and rather tired. The second evening after escaping horrendous traffic in Bournemouth and visting an even more expensive and run down hotel which we didn't stay in we happened (in desperation) upon Druid House. What an amazing find! Totally spotless and fresh -much better than either of the hotels we had visited. We immediately felt relaxed and comfortable and safe. Very helpful and kind owner. Easy to walk in to the town - which we did for a late supper. We would very happily have stayed longer only they were fully booked - unsurprisingly.
Very convenient, very clean, fresh and comfortable room, excellent service in light airy breakfast room. Easy to walk in to town. Own parking. Fantastic B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

First stay in Christchurch, and was with Daughter and Son-in-law with whom I had left the accommodation booking,so had no idea what to expect on arrival at Druid House but what a most pleasant surprise when entering the premises and observing what they had to offer-the bedroom could only be described as superb,and I am not always pleased at the single accommodation normally provided elsewhere.

After a pleasant day exploring Christchurch and returning to Druid House for a quiet,and comfortable nights sleep,it was time to have breakfast,and this again was perhaps even more superb,as the dining room itself was a model of brightness,and cleanliness,and the choice of items available were a model that other establishments would find difficult to match.

I would hope to stay there again in the future,and have no hesitation to give the establishment a full five star accolade

Room Tip: Only had my own room,and do not make a habit of trespass in order to view others,but am quite sure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cojoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have been to Druid House many times and have always thought that the excellent service, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff couldn't be bettered. We were wrong. We have returned home today from a 7 day stay, having stayed in Room 11, a room we have usually stayed in before, imagine our amazement when we opened the door, to find that it had doubled in size, with a wonderfully comfortable super king sized bed and also our own decking with chairs and a parasol! Our son, wife and 2 children also stayed for 5 days - on our recommendation - and were in Room 2, which was also a beautiful room with a balcony. As usual, the rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Also, the breakfast room has been totally "re-vamped" and is just amazing. Many thanks to all at Druid for a brilliant stay - we will see you soon. We have given them 5 stars but would give them 10 if it were possible.

Room Tip: Don't choose No 11 - that's ours!! Seriously, we have stayed in most of the rooms over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druid House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid House Guest House

Property: Druid House Guest House
Address: 26 Sopers Lane, Christchurch BH23 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Druid House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Druid House Guest House Hotel Christchurch
Druid House Guest House Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing