We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - outstanding setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - outstanding setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We loved our 1 night stay here - we found the staff very friendly. The hotel is immaculate and has clearly recently been refurbished. Beautiful location overlooking Christchurhc Harbour - lovely outside terrace for drinks where you can admire the view. Our room was a bronze non-view room, but it was a large room - very modern and exceptionally comfortable - we felt quite at home. Yes the drinks are on the pricey side but if you can afford to stay here you can afford the drinks. Breakfast was also outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    533
    267
    144
    78
See reviews for
323
1,036
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

What a beautiful hotel, to have 25 degrees in the UK and to spend it on a terrace with cushioned wicker sofas (all very tasteful and modern) overlooking a harbour, then if you wished to walk down the steps on lay on cushioned immaculate sunbeds reading the paper sipping a wine!!I genuinely couldnt beleive I was in the UK, not to mention 2 hours from London!!!!Admittedly theweather was unbelieveable, but the hotel look, feel and quality of the hotel (with the terrace and grass area looking over the harbour) it felt closer to Cannes than Christchurch! What was really lovely was how the hotel remained quaint and personal despite being very new with all the mod cons. THe spa was as good as it looks in the photos just a shame the spa was on the lower floor, if that opened up to the outside it would be even more amazing.

I cannot stop thinking about how and when I am going to go back..unfortunately after our stay we went on to a more expensive hotel in the New Forest Carey's Manor which was extremely dissapointing following our stay it felt like we had gone down 2 stars desipite Carey's Manor being a 4 star.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zap5241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Can't wait to return! We had a 1 night stay on our way down to Studland during a very stressful time for us. The spa, views, staff, food were all wonderful. Room was a bit small, but we had a balcony overlooking the harbour and Henghist Point. There is nothing more wonderful than watching the tide coming in and out, the sun moving across the sky and the plethora of birds singing and winging.
The ferries are great and fun + we happened upon classic & modern cars & motorbikes on Mudeford 'promendade' on Sunday. Monday morning, glorious walk into Christchurch and way back into history.
This is a place we will return to and know we will enjoy and be spoilt!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereSeeItDoneIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel whilst attending a wedding. On arrival we were told by a very snotty receptionist that our room was not ready. We had to change in the spa changing rooms to get ready for the wedding, which we thought was very poor, as it was absolutely roasting hot in there, and not at all suitable for changing into our wedding outfits. The prices of the drinks were an absolute rip off! So much so that we ended up going up the road to a really nice pub, full of locals and with very much friendlier staff than at the hotel.
When we did eventually manage to get into our room, it was very nice [we had a bronze room] and the bed was very comfy.
This hotel caters for a certain type of clientelle - basically those with pots of money! You have been warned!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahd0rset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding reception held at the hotel. I'd say a lot of the hotel's business would be weddings, as the wedding organisation was outstanding. The room we chose, overlooking the harbour, was beautiful and very clean. The only problem with the room was that it was right over the bar, and the spiral staircase acted as a funnel, amplifying the noise. OK, we were at a wedding, so you'd expect there to be a late bar, but the night porter hoovering the stairs at 2.00 the previous morning? That is just not acceptable. Apart from those negative points, we had a very enjoyable stay. I can't comment on the hotel restaurant, as we ate in the Jetty Restaurant, which was fabulous. My wife also enjoyed the spa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slingerlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed for one night on DBB package. I made my booking via phone. Initially, when I rang the hotel, I had to leave a message on answerphone as nobody to answer personally, but I received a phone call back almost immediately from Ellie at reception who was most helpful.
I wanted a gold room but I'd left it too late when I booked so had to opt for the silver room instead. Looking at previous reviews, I was a bit worried about the size of room as lots had commented on how small they were, so I'd requested a larger silver room if possible.
We found parking easy, lots of spaces when we arrived. We were a bit early and room not ready so we had a wander to Mudeford Quay for some lunch at the local pub then a stroll into Christchurch which is a nice 20 min walk.
When we checked into our room (414), I was pleasantly surprised..nice size room, great bathroom, immaculately clean and a great view of the harbour (when standing up).
It was my husbands birthday and there was a card and chocolates left in the room which was a nice touch. One thing the room was lacking is air con. I can imagaine the rooms can get very hot in the summer. One negative about the bed..it seems like a very small double. It has a padded mattress topper on the bed but for some reason you feel like you are sleeping at an angle almost falling out...not sure why? Having said that, we managed a good nights sleep.
We used the spa area and pool which was great, again spotlessly clean.
For our evening meal in the Harbour restaurant, we could choose whatever we wanted from the A la carte menu which was nice and had a great selection to choose from, (but didn't include coffee).
Staff very courteous and a nice touch that they addressed you by name and always acknowledged you. (When we were out walking in the street earlier, the manager personally acknowledged us which was surprising but again a nice touch that he recognised his guests)
Breakfast was lovely. There is a buffet for cereals, juices etc and fully cooked breakfast to order. Found the service was slower this morning than in the evening though and staff a bit forgetful. I had to re order eggs as mine arrived slimey and I asked for well done, also I'd ordered ketchup which never arrived.. minor issue really and overall staff were great, very friendly and I would have no problems recommending this Hotel and it's lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Beautiful hotel overlooking Mudeford Bay, with clean and well appointed rooms. The Spa is small but beautifully finished, and has all the necessary facilities. It is not over crowded which gives it a real sense of tranquility. The staff are the biggest asset, very friendly and helpful, amongst the best service we've recieved anywhere. Fantastic restauant overlooking the bay, food beautifully presented and the staff attentive without being obtrusive. Ideally located for access to the Jurassic Coast. Lovely to receive a letter from the General Manager after our return thanking us for the great feedback on the hotel and staff from the guest questionnaire we completed. Will happily stay there again and have been recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandAMD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
720 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing