We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located nice hotel service could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel was nice, afternoon tea excellent fab location, service was terrible for the whole stay, I don't like hotels which claim to be 4 star luxury and then have rubbish service to match which tends to be the trend these days unless you go to London. Its a shame as I feel it really let's the place down. The room was cramped for us even though we had a 2 bedded room not much space to move around the beds.

I would recommend this hotel to couples families are welcome but not well catered for .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnicleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,712 - 1,718 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have just attended a wedding at the Christchurch Harbor Hotel and it was an amazing day. The staff could not be more helpful and the service is second to none. Food was amazing. The room was lovely and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. I would highly recommend this hotel for any event or just a getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heids-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel itself is beautiful. A word of caution though - there were weddings occurring on each day of our stay and the hotel is obviously geared around making sure that these money making events are a priority. The noise level on the Saturday night was dreadful as some of the guests weren't very respectful in the early hours.

Our biggest disappointment was that the service in the in-house restaurant was extremely poor. Lots of staff but completely lacking common sense and purpose. Lots of little things like no napkins on the table at dinner so the waitress brought us a set of paper ones usually used at breakfast. No-one bothered to top up the wine glasses or water glasses - not even once. The food itself was nicely presented but completely lacked the va va voom taste explosion that one usually experiences with fine dining (not really acceptable for a meal that cost over £100 for two).

In contrast, the meal at The Jetty restaurant was magnificent with absolutely faultless service. A definite "book in advance" recommendation so that you ensure you get a reservation and can enjoy the beautiful views.

Would I stay again? Yes. Would I pay £325 for a two nights B&B weekend break there again? No. There are other places I would probably go to ahead of here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyH_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We found the Christchurch Harbour Hotel via Trip Advisor. It's a charming hotel with a fantastic location and really helpful, polite staff. On the return journey home my husband realised that he had left a sweater behind in the room. Following a phone call to reception, the sweater was retrieved and sent onto us at home within a couple of days.....I cannot praise the staff highly enough for their caring, prompt service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdeyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We got a good deal via laterooms and stayed in a bronze room (the lowest of the 3 categories) It was 'bijou' but everything had been carefully thought out. The bed was kingzise and v. comfortable, the window could be opened wide (some hotels don't let you do this on upper floors and it makes a difference) iron and ironing board, free wi-fi, decent sized bathroom with robes and slippers provided, plenty of storage space and plenty of mirrors. There wasn't a harbour view, but this was fine as you can go and have a drink (or cream tea) on the terrace downstairs which does overlook the water. We booked for 3 nights, but actually booked another 2 nights whilst we were there as it's such a good hotel. The spa and pool area are relaxing - the pool is a fairly decent size and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were generous in proportions too. I had a couple of spa treatments - a pedicure and a full body massage which were excellent whilst my husband went windsurfing on the lovely sheltered natural harbour. He hired a board from a shop just up the road from the hotel called 'Spot on Water' .You have to persevere with contacting the owner as they are not always in, but hire prices were reasonable and equipment a good quality. The location is outstanding - the hotel overlooks Mudeford Quay and it's lovely and quiet, though probably a lot busier in the Summer holidays. We ate in the hotel's Jetty Restaurant and the Harbour Restaurant, both were excellent. We also ate down the road at a lovely pub called The Nelson which serves thai food and traditional food (it also has sky sports for those that are interested). We didn't try the traditional fayre, but the thai menu is thoroughly recommended. The final place we ate at was in Christchurch itself called La Mamas, an excellent traditional italian eatery. The area is beautiful, Christchurch town is worth a stroll or two around the castle and the priory (which is a must see). Mudeford is also very close to the New Forest and we hired a couple of bikes for the day from Burley which is a lovely village full of wild horses in the streets. My husband also went to the local Motorbike Museum, so it's definitely somewhere for couples to enjoy. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Go on Late Rooms to get the best price for Bronze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Spent a night at this hotel earlier this week for our wedding anniversary and travelled with our near two year old child.

On arrival the room was clean and tidy although i must say that the gold executive rooms are better (stayed last year also) but as it was on late avaliabilty the gold room was what was left.. but the full on view of the harbour was fantastic and what a view.
It was lovely that the hotel left chocolates and a card congratulating us on our anniversary - a nice gesture thank you!

Also what made the stay special was the afternoon tea on the terrace! Good value for money i thought! And the sun was shining and the little one behaving well.
There were a few babies and young children staying and i was pleasantly surprised how welcoming the staff and the other guests were to the children - it really does make us parents feel comfortable and relaxed at bringing them along - after all we all deserve a night or two away now and again and for lots of us we have no choice but to bring the kiddies along.

Only niggles to our stay was that the room was extremely hot - in the guest book it stated that there was a fan in the wardrobe but there was none to be seen. The problem i think is that the bath towel rail in the bathroom is really hot generating lots of heat and couldnt be turned off! which resulted in a restless sleep for all three of us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We loved our 1 night stay here - we found the staff very friendly. The hotel is immaculate and has clearly recently been refurbished. Beautiful location overlooking Christchurhc Harbour - lovely outside terrace for drinks where you can admire the view. Our room was a bronze non-view room, but it was a large room - very modern and exceptionally comfortable - we felt quite at home. Yes the drinks are on the pricey side but if you can afford to stay here you can afford the drinks. Breakfast was also outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £100 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing