We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Being a Corporate Member of this hotel have always put our business guests up so thought I, along with my wife and family friends, would try a couple of nights in rooms 302 and 305 - Gold Standard Bay views. Big mistake. Very noisy bedroom floors and noise from rooms above. Had lunch out on the decking area, 2 hours for two courses. Expensive wine uncorked by waiter placing bottle between his legs, cheap wine glasses and waiter decided he would pick up each glass to serve the wine. Staff training very lacking. Pedro had no idea of how to manage and General Manager ended up making an apology - but without making any real reason for the rubbish service. Will end Corporate deal as not up to standard

Room Tip: Check noisy floors in bedrooms or go for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,734 - 1,740 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed in a Bronze room although compact it was beautifully decorated and clean. The setting is magnificent. The hotel combines old world charm with modern facilities. We had dinner in the Harbour restaurant which could also not be faulted for quality and service. Staff all very friendly. If I had any critisism of this hotel it would be that they seem to run a strict 15.00 booking in policy and charge £2.50 if you pay by credit card !!! which I feel they would be better including this on the room rate as it seems petty when the bill for one night came to £257.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had a really relaxing stay weekend 2/3 July. We cycled from Christchurch train station and were probably the only guest to arrive on bike. The hotel is clean, modern, has great views over the harbour, the staff are friendly, you can watch DVDs in your room, the spa is not the biggest and is underground, but caught at the right time it is fine. My wife had some treatments and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The Jetty restaurant is worth visiting.

On a nice day its worth getting to breakfast early to sit outside and enjoy the view.

There is a nice cafe 200 meters down the road from the hotel next to a news agents.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micro1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have just returned from the most fabulous 3 night break at the Christchurch Harbour Hotel! My husband and I were looking for a relaxing and spoiling break away before the arrival of our first baby.... and this hotel offered this in buckets!! I was so surprised to see that there had been previous reviews about a lack of / poor service, as from start to finish all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect - they really could not do enough! We stayed in a Gold Garden View room, which also had lovely views of the harbour - perfect for this time of year as you could walk out of french windows straight into the garden. The rooms are slightly on the small side, but we honestly feel that with everything that you experience, and the standard of the shared areas, it was money well spent! The food was delicious, breakfast each morning on the terrace and some fantastic evening meals in the Jetty restaurant with stunning views of hundreds of swans on the estuary. Great spa, and fantastic treatments. The most wonderful stay in gorgeous sunshine - thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed on a 2 night break over Fathers day weekend in a Bronze double room. Being Bronze the room overlooked the car park, but this wasn't an issue for us. If you want a harbour view you need to upgrade to Gold or Silver. The room itself looked like it had been refurbished recently to a high spec and was very modern with funky lighting. Lovely bathrobes and slippers were provided as were nice quality toiletries.
Our break included champagne on arrival and dinner on the first night. We went for dinner early as we had our 3 year old daughter with us and the staff were kind enough to provide colouring pens and a childrens menu (which was free at certain times and for certain ages). My wife chose the sirloin steak on the bone and ordered it medium. When it arrived it was more like rare, but she tried it and said it was delicious as it was. The overall food quality was very good and the rose wine we had was very nice indeed, just a shame I can't remember the name of it.
The only small critiscism I could find would be that the bar seemed a little understaffed and was therefore a bit slow and the bar was full of empty glasses.
We decided to try out the spa pool and there were specific times for children, as it is really aimed at spa clients and couples, with its low mood lighting. We did enjoy it though and we weren't made to feel out of place. It all looks very new and modern and has been tasetfully done.
On Fathers day itself we went out to Peppa pig world at Paultons Park, which is only 45 mins away. I'm not sure how this was a Fathers Day treat but I did get a nice steak meal later at the nearby Beefeater (steak was free for Dads on Fathers day too - bonus).
The weather wasn't brilliant but the rain held off enough for us to catch the ferry across to Mudeford spit and we walked along the beach and the nature reserve and this was a lovely way to spend an hour or so. The hotel provide a map showing you the walk in a quirky style. It was a shame the weather wasn't a bit warmer, as the hotel terrace has lovely views out over the harbour.
Overall it's a modern hotel with a traditional approach to service They do have some really helpful friendly staff there and I will be recommending the hotel to friends & family.

Room Tip: Do try dinner at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Positives:
- lovely location on the water
- very good restaurant in the grounds - The Jetty
- rooms generally clean and tidy

Negatives:
- service is generally pretty poor and comes accross like they are doing you a huge favour
- rooms can be pretty noisy, especially as they seem to do a lot of weddings (including a Sunday night we were there)
- hotels own restaurant is very average, including breakfast
- rooms do not look like they do on the website, especially in the old part of the hotel
- there is not nearly enough parking, especially when they have what seems to be very regular weddings on
- no airconditioning in the rooms, which gets very hot and stuffy (and it was not even very warm when we stayed there)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel and we were extremely impressed with all aspects of our visit. The hotel setting was great with a lovely harbour view from our bedroom window. The food in the Harbour Restaurant was excellent, starting with a very high standard cooked breakfast through to an equally impressive dinner menu, especially the fish of the day which on all 3 nights was delicious, and cooked superbly. The staff in the restaurant were all very attentive and efficient. We used the swimming pool a few times, and with some very scenic local walks this all added to a really relaxing break - one which we will definitely be repeating at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
19.3 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £120 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing