We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average spa and very average food, such a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Dorset
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average spa and very average food, such a shame”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

3 of us had a spa day here, chose the place because of good reviews and setting. Arrived spa was lovely,, given robes etc, the changing rooms were tiny & the swimming pool was cool, not the spa temp you usually get, the sauna & steam room were nice but I'm not sure about the salt room, it was freezing. We had to get changed to have our lunch in the restaurant, on paper the menu looks lovely I had figs & goats cheese for starters very very nice, 2 of us had the lamb shank for main it was terrible, very fatty, tough & unedible, as were were not asked how our food was when eating, I complained they could see from our plates we hadn't eaten it, we were just told we didnt have to pay the £4 suppliment, very dissapointed. The desserts were nice, service very poor. The actual spa treatment was nice although it wasn't quite 45 mins. I would try elsewhere for my next spa day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktnanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    530
    262
    144
    77
See reviews for
318
1,027
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is one of our favourite hotels in the World never mind the UK, probably the only place we return to time and time again. So why not 5 stars you may think, well no one is perfect and I think 4 and a half stars is about right. We have been going for 3 years and since we have had our little girl the welcome is better than ever. The first time we visited with her she was only 6 weeks old and made to feel very welcome. We were meant to go without her but she arrived early! Staff remember us everytime we return and the service is excellent. Although a new addition to staff in the restaurant doesn't fit the mould as well (A very tall gentleman)!

So what if floors squeek in the old building, it's old thats character ask to be in the new wing if you prefer. Nicely decorated, beautifully clean and a fantastic welcome, the porter being very helpful and chatty.

The hotel has an enviable location and somehow we are always lucky with the weather. Booking is efficent and the offers good, staff always advising us away from Silver rooms due to the size, especially with a cot! Last visit we had a fantastic upgrade which made a huge difference to our stay.

Good to see an improved menu for dinner this time, especially the deserts which always used to be a bit strange. We should have been informed about the change to the handling of dinner from anything on the menu to a credit of £30 per person, although the offers are still good value and most hotels not offering anything like this amount. Reception appologised on checking out and sent the feedback on.

Agree with previous comments about times for Children in the pool especially when staying on a Sunday night as you lose an hours of the 3 allocated hours (2 seperate 1.5 hour sessions) to an aerobics class on Monday morning. However, previously not having children I know how frustrating it is when you visit a hotel pool and it is full of children so don't mind too much.

I'll return to this hotel as much as we can you have a customer for life here, with a love for the area and an admiration for what they do, with a bit of tweaking you'd get 5 stars from me. Mr. MacDonald must be kicking himself - full on a Sunday night - I bet thats more than most of his hotels!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieed_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed here about four times. Most recently on an easter break deal which included dinner. You are looking at about £150 a night for a double room which is not cheap but they are nice sized rooms with large en-suites and good facilities. If you want a coastal view you need to choose a 'gold' room rather than 'bronze' but it will cost you more.

The food is good, being a vegetarian I was not pleased that there was only one option on the menu but the chef was happy to make other options for me. The menu show mostly fish but they are accommodating to tastes.

One of the main reasons we visit, and why the hotel is expensive, is the spa. It is a very realxing haven (excpet during children's hour!) and has a nice pool, steam room and sauna. BUT: They seem to have an ongoing problem with their jacuzzi which they are not properly dealing with, simply not hot enough.

The temperature fluctuates from tepid bath to swimming pool. A jacuzzi should be like a hot bath. During the four times we have visited the hotel (over the course of 2 years), it has only been at the right temperature on one visit. The receptionist at the spa kept saying that it was being looked into but when we went the last time (9 months ago) they were supposed to be fixing it then. All other people we spoke to in the spa agreed it was too cold - not just us being picky! If they can fix it we would happily keep going back...

Room Tip: gold rooms better but more expensive. Not all rooms have ensuite baths (some are shower rooms), you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a 1 night spa break here last week and found the reception staff were very friendly & helpful, We were allowed to check in early to our room, use spa facilities all day and they even let us have a late check out too. The spa was great and also good staff.
Room was a little dated and could have done with a touch up and few minor repairs, but found the rest of hotel well decorated and kept. Beautiful location too. Downside, I found the Restaurant staff were too stuffy for me and it was difficult to get a conversation out of them. Found the spa deal very good value, but restaurant and bar were expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice break in the hotel. Had evening meal in restaurant and the food was very good with amazing views. The next day was spent in the spa and the back massage was excellent - lunch in the restaurant was good too. (spa day was excellent value and highly recommended as you choose off normal lunch menu)

Service was excellent in all areas of the hotel with all staff being very friendly.

Recommend the walk (reception can give you a map). You leave the hotel and catch a ferry across the bay. The a lovely stroll past traditional beach huts to a small hill with a stunning view!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed only 1 night in a twin room during Easter - got a last minute booking. Room absolutely spotless and very well appointed. Staff very helpful. English breakfast delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Book ahead so you can get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCE1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel with excellent facilities and service. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant menu choices were restricted in quality and quantity and did not match the hotel facilites . A redeeming feature was the excellent breakfast .

Room Tip: Excellent sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing