We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice 2 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Very nice 2 night break”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked a 2 night deal here, having visited for a quick lunch earlier in the year. The hotel has a stunning location, in Mudeford, overlooking Christchurch Harbour. We arrived during the very hot spell at the end of May and therefore were lucky enough to enjoy the views and a cheeky glass or two on the fabulous terrace.

The hotel was full during our visit and still felt relaxed. Dinner was included and was pretty good - our 2nd evening meal was super. Our room was very nice and we were pleased to have big windows in our room and bathroom, to let in some air - without this the room would have been very warm - no air con.

The spa is very nice - a bit busy on our first day, but our second morning, we almost had the place to ourselves - dark, atmospheric and a good way to burn up some excess calories consumed!

Breakfast on the terrace was superb - gorgeous selection of continental and fresh cooked-to-order foods too - very indulgent!

Service was very good - staff were really busy and still smiling. We'll look out for future deals!

Parking is very tight, but friendly concierge staff will take care of your car as likely you will have to double-park.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are probably worth it - stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    533
    267
    144
    78
See reviews for
323
1,036
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We wanted to go somewhe to relax for the jubilee weekend with our 1 year old girl and since we decided last minute didnt have much choice on hotels..reading some very good reviews for this hotel i was really happy i found somewhere nice.

-The minute we walked in, there was a bunch of formal dressed people entering the hotel - obviously there was a wedding. Ok we thought, its just for one night, we can live with this but were not happy when we were having our drink at th bar and th whole floor was shaking! Then we found out that the next two days there were weddings as well! This basically ruined our relaxed long weekend we had in mind

-we have asked for a cot for the baby and it wasnt there when we arrvied. We told the reception again but nothing, the third time we told them it had arrived..with NO mattress! To our surprise the house keeper said that if we wanted a matress we should have brought our own!! So where do they expect babies to sleep? This was unacceptable..baby did not sleep well at all..

- we wanted to order room service at 9:20pm and to our surprise the kitchen was closed for both restaurants!! My husband had kindly asked for sth easy like sandwitch and the only thing they could offer was cold sandwitch! This is unaxceptable again for a hotel of this class not to have food after 9pm

-spa was ok but not exceptional

-we have asked for the room to be cleaned (hanged outside our door please-make-room sign) but nobody bothered. I must note that the room had be claned very early in the morning but by noon we needed to empty bins, change towels etc (it becomes messy when you have a baby)

-breakfast was uninteresting and service non existent (both days have asked for warm milk for baby...never came)

The only GOOD thing about this hotel was Jetty restaurant. Im sure its not run by the same management as service there was out of this world as was food. We've beed to many good restaurants in London but this was just excellent. I would definitely go for dinner to Jetty but nowhere near the hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boutique-hotel-fan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for a short break and had a fantastic time. We got a deal for dinner, bed and breakfast which was great value. The offer allowed us £30 per head towards the evening meal. On arrival we were given a very warm and courteous welcome and check-in, and offered an upgrade to a 'partial' harbour view (silver room) which was well worth it and would thoroughly recommend (the alternative is the car park!).It is only partial due to a low wall outside which restricts the view if not standing up. The hotel is extremely well-appointed and designed, in a contemporary style but with traditional touches. The room was not huge but very comfortable, with bathrobes and slippers, luxury toiletries etc. There was plenty of storage space and a very comfortable bed.
The hotel has plenty of lovely seating areas, inside and out, which are great if you want a relaxing stay. The views are beautiful and it feels very tranquil to sit on the terrace with a drink overlooking the harbour. It is in a great location, with Mudeford Quay a few minutes walk away. It is lovely to walk round there to see the fishing or call into the quaint pub, and you can get the ferry across to the Spit where the famous beach huts are and a lovely walk around Hengistbury Head.
The hotel's spa facilities were excellent, with an amazing pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a salt room. They were very well equipped, clean and modern.
The food was exceptional! We ate in the main restaurant every night and were very happy. The service was excellent and all the meals were beautifully cooked and presented. The crab bisque was to die for! We also enjoyed the afternoon tea on the terrace, which we couldn't finish! The only problem we encountered was with some aspects of service at breakfast time. On one day in particular, there were all sorts of mix-ups with orders and a lengthy wait. It was a bit chaotic! We actually got forgotten and ended up speaking to one of the managers. He was able to resolve our concerns to our satisfaction and we were pleased with the response. A mark of a quality hotel is how they rectify any problems and we felt on this occasion we were dealt with well. Of course we would rather they hadn't occured in the first place, and it does feel as though a few more staff and a bit more training are needed to make this hotel truly excellent in every respect.
We would happily return for another stay, especially if we wanted a relaxing chill-out break, and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for a harbour or partial harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottersKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in April of this year. We found an offer for a discounted room with £60 towards dinner and free breakfast. We thought it was good deal and weren’t disappointed.
I will try to keep it brief.
Rooms are very clean and extremely comfy. All mod cons and bathroom was immaculate.
The dinning and breakfast area overlook the Christchurch bay, so try and get a window seat or if it’s warm enough sit outside. Breakfast is cooked to order so it’s always fresh and hot, or you can have the contentinal which you help yourself too.
Dinner was very nice and service excellent. It would have been quite expensive but we had the money off deal so it was good value in the end. There is also a seperate restaurant in the grounds called The Jetty which is owned by celebrity chef Alex Aitken. www.thejetty.co.uk/

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and spa area which we thought was lovely. Steam room, Sauna Jacuzzi and more. All very nice and up to date and clean.

Didn’t find much to-do in the area, but if you like walks there is a footpath that walks along the sea front. There you will find various fish stalls, cafes and the mudford ferry that serves fish & chips on board. www.mudefordferry.co.uk/

Now for the one problem that I think this hotel has. We stayed here in April and the temperature outside wasn’t warm buy any means in the 50's. When we went to bed, the room seemed quite warm but by the middle of the night we had to put the fan on to get a bit cooler. Now if you are here mid-summer the rooms must be unbearable. I dont understand why a luxury hotel such as this does not have air conditioners.

We will stay here again, just not when its hot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSHuber, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the temparature issue in your room. I know that the team will be extremely motivated by your praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Thomas Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Having just had a spa break at this wonderful hotel, I can only say try it, Fantastic location, Fantastic staff, Fantastic food. and the spa is (Fan) enough fantastics but it is WONDERFUL. from the minute we arrived to checking out the staff were helpful, polite and proffesional. after 4 hours relaxing in the spa, we had the most amazing lunch on the decked terrace in beautiful sunshine. Our evening Dinner was equaly as impresive as was the service. The Harbour Hotel Group have impressed me, I loved the St Ives Harbour Hotel and the Christchurch Harbour is now firmly on my Radar. I will be booking another spa break soon. If I had to find one negative it would be the car parking, quite a small car park that gets very busy. Still worth 9 out of 10 though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l4tja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSHuber, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I know that the team will be extremely motivated by your praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Thomas Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

A fantastic hotel in an amazing location. Excellent breakfast and fantastc food in The Jetty restaurant. But why, why ,why do staff in so called boutique hotels have to have such attitude? Don't get me wrong some of the staff where great including the sommelier, he was funny and his knowledge was outstanding, but one or two just let the side down.

This hotel has the capability to be truely great but unfortunately for me it's not quite there.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StuBendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSHuber, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate your feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. I sincerely apologise for the service that you received during your stay, this is not the usual attitude of our team - we work very closely with our staff to ensure high standards and I can assure you that we will be assessing the point raised in your review. May I encourage you to contact me personally for more details.

Kind regards

Thomas Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel has wonderful views over the harbour and the food is nice but unimaginative,gastro pub type.
There is no air conditioning in either the bedrooms or hotel restaurants and bars.
Our request for our desert and desert wines at dinner to be served on the terrace refused as too difficult!!The restaurant was uncomfortably hot.The waiting staff kept banging my wife's chair,not once did they apologise. Reluctantly we were allowed to change tables.
We stayed ,thankfully, for only one night this weekend.Our room was small with one window looking out into a concrete wall within touching distance.The tiny bathroom was the smallest we have ever come across,there was not enough room to dry oneself after a shower.It had been built in a corner of the bedroom.They looked well maintained and clean...until I dropped something on the floor and had to retrieve it from under the bed...ugh!
The staff were not helpful and poorly trained.
Our early morning call did not materialise.
Parking is a nightmare,one guest had his car blocked in and the hotel staff had no idea whose car was causing the problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSHuber, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate your feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. I sincerely apologise for any poor service that you received during your stay, this is not our usual level of service - we work very closely with our staff to ensure high standards and I can assure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review.

Kind regards

Thomas Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
720 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
379 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing