We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Having looked this hotel up on the internet and booked two nights, we were disappointed. I would not pay the full price for this establishment. The cut-price rooms they have been advertising as Bronze Rooms are not good at all. Dark small and overlooking the car park or worse. It is a con, so you then ask to be upgraded at a large extra cost. The young lady on reception was very accommodating I must say, the best member of staff. Breakfast was very overcrowded and they were struggling to seat people. There was no fruit salad left (I do not eat cooked) no yogurt and four small pastries. Not good enough. The very small buffet section was not adequate for the amount of people dining. Luckily we ate in the evening at The Jetty which is very good. All in all we will not be staying here again and cannot see where they can be rated as a four star hotel, three if they were lucky!

Room Tip: Just go and inspect the first room they give you as some are positioned badly, and laid out poorly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for writing a Trip Advisor review about your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that you felt our Bronze rooms were less than satisfactory however I would advise you that we offer four categories of rooms with the Bronze rooms being our lowest tariff due to the size of the room and their aspect.

I was pleased to hear that our receptionist was very helpful and that you enjoyed your experience
at the Jetty.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    523
    260
    143
    77
See reviews for
316
1,012
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have been staying at the CHH for many years, but last January we decided that we would not stay again because there had been a rapid deterioration in standards (not prices ! ) over the previous couple of years. Food was poor, management weak, reflecting in a poor uncaring attitude of staff, and cleanliness was poor.
However, this year, following a very good offer for second week in January, we decided to give it one more try. Boy, are we glad we did. Pleased to say that everything has changed beyond all recognition.
New top management with the right attitude towards customers. This has reflected down to all staff, who now seem to care once again. All those we met were extremely friendly, helpful, and eager to please. Just what you expect in a decent hotel.
Special mention here for Abby. My wife had problems with a very high bath in our allocated room. Within minutes, Abby arranged a room change (upgraded), in a most efficient and professional manner - even helped us move our belongings - brilliant. She's definitely got the right attitude, nothing was too much trouble. Sadly this is so often lacking these days in UK hotels.
Food and restaurant service was much improved, and more realistic portions. And the physical changes in the bar/restaurant area were excellent. Thank goodness they've at last got rid of that awful, soul-less, box-room, they used to call the bar !
What stopped me giving 5 stars ? Lack of attention to detail in the servicing of rooms. One day we had no milk containers left, and my brother's room wasn't cleaned properly, and his bed looked as if it had been slept in ! These complaints were accepted with the right attitude, and we were given complimentary glasses of wine at dinner.
Apart from those small details, we had a very enjoyable stay, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms facing car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After having a great experience in 2012 when we took our employees to the Hotel for our Christmas party and overnight accommodation. We decided to book early to return for our 2013 Christmas party, Well we will not be returning next Year.
The pre Dinner drink reception was disorganised and you could not move it was uncomfortable and the drink was awful.
When we sat all the starters were already on most of the tables "For how long i'm not sure!" The Main course was Ok
The Dance floor has been massively reduced in size and our table was next to it with people bumping and falling into us with the speaker blasting into our ears, we enjoy music and dance this was awful and a RISK. without any warning the music stopped at 23:30 no notice from the DJ "was he there?"
Breakfast. well for some we arrived at 08:50 and most of the buffet was empty when we asked for more the waiter replied" I have catered for 70 when its gone its gone"
On checkout we again asked to speak to a Manager. so did several in front of us if they hadn't already complained to the Receptionist. well this was like talking to a Dummy he went along with what we said and just made excuses. He said there was a weeding party as well and they were extremely busy. BIT OF ADVICE CATER TO MANAGE YOU CHARGE ENOUGH!!
We will not be returning, we have given them time to reply to our emails most of us are still waiting a reply.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maroongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked Christmas lunch at this well known luxury hotel, that we have frequented for years. It was nothing short of dreadful. No one to welcome us of take a drinks order.
The choice was poor, there was no effort made in the starter ( smoked salmon- hardly a stretch) the turkey was, cold the potatoes like cardboard from having been cooked and reheated too any times, my husbands pheasant was bloody, and was returned. All piled up like a motorway greasy spoon, and covered in a one size fits all gravy.
The pudding, was unrecognisable as Xmas pudding - a 'slice' of gelatinous something, covered in tepid custard. They had sittings through 12-6pm and were going for quantity rather than quality.
They had the nerve to charge £85 per head, It didnt include a welcome drink or even coffee. I have written to the GM but have had no response. Simply awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BournemouthAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was given the honor of being bestman at the Habour Hotel last weekend and having been Bestman five times and also recently married, I am familiar with the level of detail that goes into the wedding process. This hotel is an exceptional venue – the staff are second to none with their attention to detail and made all of the guests, as well as the bride and groom feel special for the whole weekend. Notwithstanding the great service, the venue is fantastic: the rooms are luxurious, the restaurant and the menu itself are first class – the quality of the food is outstanding which, was one of the reasons the hotel was booked for the wedding, the vast selection of drinks and wines available and, on-top of that, the superb Spa is a delight. The whole place gives the impression of ‘personal’, rather than ‘commercial’.

The dedicated team that helped run the wedding events, ran by ‘Chris’ were exceptional. They never missed a beat in the whole day and encountered countless last minute requests which were all handled expertly. Enthusiastic, attentive and professional, one couldn’t have asked for more.

To summarise: this is a five star venue, but more than that, if you need to put your trust into a place for a special occasion big or small, tell these guys and they will take care of it.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Harbour view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have lived in Christchurch for 29 years, and in the past, before its present ownership and huge makeover, food at this hotel has not had a very good reputation. However, things have certainly looked up recently, and we have now had two excellent meals there, the latest, today, was Sunday lunch for my husband, our son and myself. Really brilliant value for £21.95. We all chose different dishes, and all were beautifully cooked and quite delicious. I started with the Thai Fish Soup with scallops, mussels and squid, followed by canon of lamb with mini shepherds pie and seasonal veg. The lamb was just right, pink but not too rare, served with ratatouille and extra veg. on the side, and the dessert, a pistachio, amaretto and almond coupe, rounded off the lunch with panache. My husband and son enjoyed their meals equally. Therefore we have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant - and what a fantastic setting and view! (although today the high seas and driving rain did not invite us to venture out!) Do go and try it!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour will be quieter, and the views over Christchurch Harbour and Mudeford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Wow, what a location and that was despite the poor weather. Mudeford is great and there are nearby beaches, spits and restaurants. The spa was enjoyable too. Sadly, despite the size of the rooms and the facilities, the room was never properly cleaned and the room service food was of poor quality and legitimate complaints. yielded no joy. As a consequence it is with regret that I pass a poor judgement on the hotel itself which with a modicum of commitment from the duty management would have seen a marked improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you stay in August 2013.

I am very sorry that your room was not properly cleaned, I can assure you that we consider all feed back about service and cleanliness of the upmost importance.

I will be monitoring this very closely with my Headhousekeeper to ensure that our normal level
of Room cleanliness is adhered to.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Spa and our location

Best wishes for 2014

Kindest Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing