We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; shame about the parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
AllenGAllenG
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; shame about the parking!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights and fully agree with the comments by the previous contributor. (manet.herbe)

The hotel is lovely, nice rooms, comfy beds and pillows and beautiful views over the harbour.
Breakfast excellent. Evening meal good but as it was taken in main restaurant which is open to the bar it lacked ambience especially as some wedding guests (separate function) were tipsy and loud. Staff were helpful and friendly but rather streched with ongoing functions 2 weddings and a party!
My experience was this hotel is more event based and probably succeeds admirably in this role.. Parking was a nightmare and spaces narrow so beware damage to vehicles.

As nice as it was I would rather spend this much money on a quieter venue where I felt rather more valued for want of a better word.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over/near kitchen or entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenGAllenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    531
    263
    144
    77
See reviews for
319
1,029
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked a late two-night break staying on Friday and Saturday nights. There were weddings on both those days and, as other reviewers have noted, they have an impact on the hotel, but otherwise it was a relaxing and enjoyable stay in a beautiful place.

Positives
Location; whether looking out over the harbour, or walking around Hengistbury, this is a scenic part of the coast and you're never far from a spectacular view. The terrace was an idyllic spot to dawdle over coffee after breakfast or watch the sun go down over an evening drink.
In the hotel itself, the service, though not 100%, was by and large efficient and professional. The fact you are greeted by someone who is organised, friendly and helpful (thanks Matthew) from the moment you arrive creates a good impression and eases you into the place with a smile.
Breakfast was good - a selection of fruit, cereals and pastries, including excellent rustic bread, or a straightforward full English. We didn't eat there in the evenings, but the menus looked ecletic, if a little pricey.
The spa area (which comprises a 15m pool; a hot tub with jets and shoulder-massage spout; a steam room; a salt room; and a sauna; plus the massage and treatment area) was a bonus, as long as you didn't need a proper gym.

Negatives
We had mixed feelings about the room. It was smart, with a comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom, but very small (it was one of the Bronze rooms) and the carpet was grubby. That wasn't the problem though: the first night, despite leaving the window and shutters open, it was hot as hell and we slept very badly. This may be a temporary problem - a lot of recent reviews on the Booking.com website have made the same complaint. On the second night we got rid of the duvet and used the cover and were more comfortable.
Weddings seem to dominate the hotel at weekends. This impacts the bar at times (there was one barman serving at around 8.30pm on the Friday night, and service was slow). Car parking also becomes a problem, as there aren't enough spaces, so you have to double park, tag your keys, then leave them with reception for them to find a space later.
The gym was small and the equipment not top quality; and the pool's size and layout means it isn't really suitable for doing lengths. It's not a place for a serious workout.

Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives, which were more niggles than complaints; we both enjoyed our stay. The hotel is an interesting mix of modern cool and old-fashioned seaside, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but a restaurant one: a lot of the restaurant offers (ie the tasting menu deal) only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manet.herbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us.

We really appreciate your feedback and will look at the negative points going forward.

I was pleased to read your positives and glad you overall enjoyed your time with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was chosen by a friend for its location and prior experience of excellent dining for a girls weekend treat with my daughter. We loved the way the hotel was furnished and it made for the perfect place. The restaurant was beautiful and we enjoyed the food and service very much. (certainly recommend the beef wellington on a Saturday) Breakfast was lovely, and we were lucky enough to sit in the sun with our coffees out on the deck overlooking the sea. The spa treatments were great and we enjoyed the dark room for quiet relaxation, it did get a little too busy on Saturday at around 5.00pm but as this was likely to be peak time we felt we should just have gone a little sooner. I would love to go again and hope to take my husband later in the summer.

Room Tip: For three ladies sharing a family room is a good option, we had a twin room separate from the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Booked as a last minute break, we were delighted with the accommodation, service, food and the ambience of the whole place. It started as we drove into the car park when we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful concierge/porter who took our cases and bags from us to Reception. Check-in was very quick and efficient. Despite being a last minute booking in a full hotel, dinner was arranged quickly. The porter took our bags to our room and explained the facilities and how to get hold of him or Reception.
Dinner that evening was great. Very friendly and efficient staff. Fantastic food which was beautifully presented.
The rest of our stay was equally good: good breakfast, room cleaned and toiletaries replenished whilst we were at breakfast.
The staff here make the place quite special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My best friend took me here for a spa day and lunch. The food was amazing as were the staff they were very friendly and delivered very quick service. The spa facilities were very clean and even the guests were friendly. Would defiantly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sw123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned home after getting married at the hotel on Sunday. All the staff were very polite, attentive and everything was perfect. Thank you to Chris and all the staff for making our day special and to Amber for planning everything just how we wanted it. We must say a special thank you to Matthew, everyone commented on his happy, smiling, friendly face on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandMStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and loved it.

I felt looked after from the moment we arrived. The staff are friendly and helpful without being too 'over the top'

Our room was small but tastefully decorated with all the amenities required, and importantly a nice comfortable bed.

We ate both nights in the Upper Deck, food is delicious and service attentive. Prices are on the high side but you do get what you pay for and we felt the price reflected the quality of the food, which was delicious and beautifully presented.
The included breakfast is lovely with a buffet continental and full English which you order, more than enough to set you up for the day. Juice and coffee where delicious and obviously of good quality, as were the sausages which were delicious!

I had an amazing morning on the spa, being pampered with treatments. Well worth splashing out.
Both days I used the spa facilities, it was nearly empty and I had no problem finding somewhere to sit.

Overall this is a great choice and I am glad we picked this hotel, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixx83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing