We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from an amazing 24 hours escape. I booked (very last minute) one night (Saturday) in an inland room to celebrate our anniversary and our first night away alone together since our daughter was born 3 and a half years ago. We managed to get a parking space despite there being a wedding going on.

We were thrilled to find they had upgraded us to a harbour glimpse room (without us even asking!) and our room was amazing. More than a 'glimpse' of the harbour - a balcony overlooking the gardens and harbour (room 217).

The bed was perfect, not too hard or soft. And the pillows were heavenly. We made full use of the spa facilities before dinner and also before breakfast the following morning.

The restaurant was busy and we didn't pre-book so the only table they could offer us was at 9.45pm, so we wandered the 2 minutes down the road to The Nelson for an amazing Thai meal. Thoroughly recommended and by all accounts our wallets were happier by this turn of events too!

We had a wonderful peaceful and comfortable nights sleep, without any disturbance from the wedding party whatsoever.

The breakfast was really lovely. It seems everyone had come down to breakfast at the same time so there was quite a wait for the full English, but worth the wait. Cooked to perfection and piping hot.

On the whole, an amazing stay with super friendly staff. No negative points to mention at all apart for I wish we could have stayed for longer!! We WILL be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 217 is best of the harbour glimpse rooms apparently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naboo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for one night mainly to dine at the Jetty, a restaurant right on the waterfront. The room was very spacious, although the bathroom a little small in comparison to the room. The dinner in the Jetty was impressive, great food and service and views out over the harbour. A pity that the trees block the view, no doubt a planning issue. Breakfast buffet the next morning was very good indeed

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here as part of our anniversary celebrations. Rooms are of a good standard, with a lovely bathroom, but beds very hard. Dissapointed with food and service in the upper deck restaurant as they were not particularly busy and it was expensive for what it was.They forgot my wine for the main course and still charged me for it on the final bill, waited over 30mins for cheese and biscuits, so we told them not to bother, they then bought it up to us and did not even say sorry for delay. They charged £12.95 for 5 small pieces of cheese appox 1" square, so again we said 'no thanks'. Breakfast was also a disappointment, bacon was worse than cardboard couldnt eat it as it was so dryed out. The hotel thinks it is better than it is. Spa is nice and the hotel is in good location near coast (mudeford) but not really walking distance to christchurch.Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Rooms are £40 a night extra for coast facing. not worth the money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAS008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely stunning hotel with wonderful views across to Hengistbury Head and the Mudeford beach huts. The majority of the staff were exceptional and very helpful. We were greated by a lovely receptionist who went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room had a lovely view, was a good size and had a really nice light bathroom. The carpet was quite stained, but I am sure in any hotel it is a never ending job with a light coloured carpet! The bed really comfy and more than adequate space in the room (we upgraded to a Sea View Room). Dinner was absolutely exceptional. The food outstanding and wine wonderful. It was made even more special with our lovely waitress and the gentleman who chose a different wine for us to go with each one of the eight courses - really outstanding. The spa is lovely and massage was one of the best I have had. Before leaving the hotel we sat and had a glass of wine, a coffee and some bar snacks. This was our only disappointment of the hotel. We had a taster selection. It was a little poor, but as we had enjoyed our stay so much we were going to let it pass, but the lovely waitress noticed we weren't 100 per cent happy and came over and said she would sort it out for us. Next thing we had a extremely rude, I assume bar manager, storm out of the kitchen and tell us "what did we expect for £10"! This left us speechless as we hadn't even said anything and it was quite upsetting to be accused of complaining when we hadn't and surely if he had thought we had complained to the waitress he should have dealt with it differently! Because of this tiny incident of somebody being so rude for no reason we would probably chose to go elsewhere next time, which is a real shame as we loved everything else and felt the stay had been magical with the glorious surroundings, but unfortunately our perfect memories of a great stay have been tarnished slightly by the rudeness of one member of staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SharkFightingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Booked a four night stay for rest and recuperation. But had to come home for this. Rooms are of excellent standard food fab! Having been a guest at this hotel for many years sadly the emphasis is on guests who are part of wedding package or spa deals!

I had three disturbed nights from guests clearly involved as part of the weddings over the long bank holiday. Slamming doors! Banging on doors, a drunken argument in the corridor by husband and wife

I feel the the 'normal' guest is forgotten and of little consequence. Food/coffee order on the balcony is pricey too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jac7116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for a wedding. The rooms are quite pricey but the bridal couple are allocated a small number of rooms for guests. The rooms are well kitted out but are either very small or overlooking the car park. I found our room to be very dark, including the bathroom. Beware ladies, you won't be able to see to do you make up in the bathroom. Travel with a mirror to place in the window.
The restaurant was good and food excellent.
The Toastmaster does an excellent job.
The staff were polite and helpful.
The lounge seating area is small but the chairs are comfortable.
The Spa. This disappointed me. I have been to many hotels and used spa facilities. I booked Gel nails. I was happy with them and my assistant was well trained. We had some difficulty however being able to choose colour as the nails were done in a massage room. Another very dark room!
I hadn't enquired as to the price since I guessed anyway that they would be more expensive than my usual fortnightly nail appointment at home. You can imagine my surprise on checking out at being charged a hefty £50! I made enquiries and was told that I had had a manicure costing £35 and a gel upgrade at a further £15. Ladies, this manicure only consists of tidying up the shape of your nails and pushing the cuticles back. That's it.
So...moral of this tale - bring a mirror and get your nails done elsewhere!

Room Tip: Check out the spa prices before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lelb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

very small room for the money , lunch menu expensive . veiw over the car park disapointing again poor value for the money .no out side space with our room. admittedly it was a bank holiday wkend but would have expected cheaper rate for the room we where given.

breakfast was good and nice restaurant , but was fully booked for meals , no room service was offered something other hotels do .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
19.3 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £119 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing