We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mid-Week Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Mid-Week Break”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at this lovely hotel on several occasions and it never disappoints. Reception check-in was very efficient, several guest arrived at the same time and the receptionist quickly requested help and another desk was opened. We were also met with a welcome back note on our check-in details. We had booked a basic room (most of these over-look the car-park), but we were given Room 110, which has a terrace and looks out towards The Jetty. It was great to be able to have the doors open during the warm weather. It was lovely and quiet and the room was a good size and well appointed, (although it's about ready for a lick of paint as there are a few marks on the walls). However it was very clean. The bathroom has plenty of ledges to store toiletries, which is a bonus and also a deep bath. The room itself had loads of storage. We did find the bed a little too firm, but this is only a personal preference.

We had dinner both nights in The Upper Deck and the food was lovely. Special thanks to Justina, who recognised us and welcomed us back on our first night and made sure we were very well looked after. All staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Our only negative observation was that the staff seemed a bit under pressure and not as organised as we have seen them on previous visits, although this did not impact on ourselves.

Breakfast times have been extended and this seems to have helped. We had two excellent breakfasts and again the service was very good. There was plenty of choice even if you came down towards the end of service and staff were very attentive.

The Spa as always was excellent and very quiet and relaxing.We booked 2 ESPA Back Massages and these were excellent, thank you Emily. Also we enquired about a water container in the spa and the kind lady on Spa Reception not only found out where it had been bought from, but then also went online to check if it was still available! Excellent service.

Overall, a very good stay and we'll be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandAMD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    523
    260
    143
    77
See reviews for
316
1,012
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A mid-week one night break was supposed to be a relaxed treat but this hotel does not deliver in many ways. The food was very very disappointing. I ordered pork and prawn balls as a starter but was served pork and prawn tempura with no explanation. The cod for mains was tasteless as was the tiny drops of bacon sauce. Breakfast was disorganised with cooked breakfast coming out before tea & coffee & toast despite reminders. The Best Harbour room view is extremely disappointing you look over a 30foot black flat asphalt roof at eye level before you see the harbour. The roll top bath didn't hold the water so you had to keep topping up the bath. pillows were flat and the light system over complicated. However it was a good size and the bathroom was a nice spec. Staff were polite and when I raised our disappointment with the Duty Manager he was understanding and acknowledged the issues (issuing a £40 reduction off the bill - which was a little disappointing as this one night stay cost £300 for not a lot). We cancelled our spa bookings to avoid any further disappointment. I have never felt strongly enough to write a review please consider before booking it feels like a hotel that is trying hard to pitch higher than it can execute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loobylu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a 3 day mid week break, DB&B. We had a fabulous garden room, which also had sea glimpses. All staff were courteous and attentive but not obtrusive. Room was very comfortable and clean. Food was fabulous especially enjoyed the prawn and belly pork starter!! My husband used the pool, which he said was excellent whilst I had a body treatment and pedicure in the spa. I thoroughly enjoyed both, special thanks to Gemma by beauty therapist.
There was a wedding whilst we were there, but this did not impact on us other than seeing various people dressed in their finery. There were plenty of staff and the wedding guests were sever breakfast the next day in a separate room.
An amazingly relaxing few days, thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our wedding was held here on 1st June 2014. It was a small wedding with 29 of us.

The venue was perfect for our number as the room was not too big, but it can cater for a lot more. The rooms were lovely including the bridal suite which has such a lovely view of the harbour. The spa was really nice, bathrobes and slippers were provided. Food was to a very high standard and good wine was served with the meal. They offer discounted prices for a number of rooms for wedding guests.

The staff were amazing, so polite and eager to help. We were particularly impressed with our wedding co-ordinator on the day Chris. He was so organised, friendly and calming and took such pride in what he does that you can trust him to make sure things are perfect for you. His team were just as professional and friendly as him.

It's thanks to the team that we feel our wedding was perfect and hope they are recognised for this. It's on the basis of how well we were looked after that we will be going back for our anniversary.

Mr and Mrs Byers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A celebration dinner at the Upper Deck with the Irish Cousins, the family from New Zealand and the English Family. We could not have asked for more. We had a wonderful table out on the terrace in evening with the most amazing weather but the most important part was the fantastic dinner. We all started with cocktails as the sun was starting to go down and could have been in any exotic place in the world and I have been in a few. My brother and several cousin's totally enjoyed Alex Aitkin's signature dish 'Alex's Twice Baked Cheese Soufflé, my sister in law and several others very much enjoyed Pork and Prawns, also had Mackerel Salad and my favourite Asian Duck Salad. We were then treated to Sole and Salmon as fish course, excellent. My brother and his wife really enjoyed Cod Scallops and Bacon, also others had Quail Pie and New Forest Vension. All in all, together with great wine, we had the most memorable evening. Thank you to everyone at The Upper Deck for the most wonderful farewell dinner. Certainly a night to remember and treasurer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just returned home after attending my daughter's wedding yesterday at the Christchurch Harbour Hotel and Spa. Although we were only there for a couple of nights the service and attention we received from all the staff has been 1st class. All our guests said how much they enjoyed the food which was cooked to perfection, and, under the expert leadership of Cher, the serving staff did a terrific job ensuring the meal and the whole wedding was an even more delightful day - thank you to you all. A young barman, whose name I don't remember (he was wearing glasses), was so very helpful and ensured we had everything we needed during our stay - another big thank you.
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel is on the water front and the view across the bay has to be one of the best. This, combined with perfect weather for the wedding day has made it a time to remember for ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Jen B,

Thank you for your kind commnents. I am delighted that everyone had such a memorable stay and that our staff in particular contibuted to everyone having such a wonderful day,

kind regards,

Kearan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had stayed in the sister hotel in Salcombe in December 2013 and loved the attention to detail. We then received a promotional letter giving us the opportunity to stay in Christchurch. The mixed reviews on Tripadvisor are justified as it would appear that if you stay on a date without a wedding on you will be fine. On our visit we had two weddings on the Friday and Saturday and the rushed service was not of a standard that I would expect of this type of hotel.

We very much felt that we were filling up empty rooms not occupied by wedding guests rather than being a paying guest of the hotel.

My wife ordered a wine flight with the evening meal but we struggled to gain the attention of rushed staff to get the right drinks at the right times. One was missed completely and drinks with desserts came separately.

An excellent duo were playing with dinner in the evening but had to play at a really amplified volume to mask the noise of the wedding disco.

Breakfast service was slow and our waiter informed us that it was because they were clearing orders from the wedding party.

I also agree that to pay a supplement for anything other than a full cooked breakfast seems a bit antiquated in this day and age.

Check in and out were rushed and I wanted to raise a number of issues with the receptionist on check out but with only one of member of staff and a queue before and after us it seemed churlish and when asked whether everything had been okay with the stay, all we really had time to say was 'that it was chaotic'. The staff clearly work really hard but the constant rushing around does not provide a relaxed ambience.

I subsequently sent an two emails to the hotel raising these minor issues that if addressed could improve the stay for guests but I have been disappointed that I did not even receive an acknowledgement.

I think this hotel needs to decide whether it wants to be an exclusive wedding party venue or hotel as it just doesn't have the space to be both.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you for your detailed review. It is paramount that we use reviews and feedback such as yours to enhance the product and service that we deliver to the customer. I make it a priority to respond to all correspondence and can genuinely say that I have not seen your original letter. I have only been in the role for five weeks, so it may be that this was before my time. Nevertheless i would be very interested in speaking to you further and if this is suitable please do feel free to contact me directly at kearan.mcvey@harbourhotels.co.uk

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing