We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location and surroundings - elegant landscaped grounds right on the waterfront. During our two-night stay, the staff were helpful and polite; the room was clean and comfortable; the (very small and very dark) spa and health suite were reasonably well-equipped; the food was of a good standard... but none of it was outstanding. I was expecting a bit more. Breakfast on the first morning of our stay was fine - on the second morning it was overcooked, very late to arrive and untidily presented. There was a very large wedding party having breakfast that morning - but a hotel in this price bracket should be able to handle that I think. All in all this hotel is... okay. Nothing more, nothing less. I doubt I'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herefordshire74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Herefordshire74,

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that the staff were helpful and polite and that your room was clean and comfortable. We are alos extremely blessed with our position on the waters edge as you've alluded to. I am sorry to read that your food experience was below par. We have two very reputable and award winning restaurants on the campus and usually the food quality and experience is top drawer. I am theerfore disappointed that you had a bad experience. I dop hope that you will return in the future and if you contact me directly at the hotel I will personally arrange dinner for you.

kind regards,

Kearan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got married at the hotel and we can only sing the the praises of the hotel, it's facilities, the staff and all envolved in our wedding. Right from the planning stage we were always consulted with and advised what would be best for us and our guests, which continued right through to the day itself. All the staff envolved were throughly professional and freindly to us and our guests. We would like to single out chris for extra praise he took charge and coordinated the whole day and with out his experience and thoughtfulness to all concerned with the wedding party I am sure the day would not have passed with out a hitch and it did, it was perfect in every way.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to get married in and if you do, you your day will be so special as ours was.
Sally & Mark 6th July 2014

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank baz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Baz2000,

Thank you for your review. It's very heartening to get such consistently good feedback from happy couples holding their big day with us. Chris and the team have spent a great deal of time together working on getting every single detail right and it's this attention to detail that allows us to deliver fabulous wedding days. We hope that you have a fantastic future and that we see you again very soon,

kind regards,

Kearan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Parking is difficult, especially at weekends, as the hotel does weddings. The setting and outside patio are beautiful in good weather. Staff in reception & spa were not welcoming until approached.
Our bedroom (311) was double aspect & large. However, one side faced the kitchen roof & the sound of the fans was intrusive. The other side overlooked the car park & staff arriving at 7am were noisy. Food service was slow.

Room Tip: Check what the room overlooks before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talltony11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Talltony,

Thank you for your review. We have now employed a concierge to take care of guest parking and we are looking at sound proofing 311. I am glad that you enjoyed the surroundings, however I am disappointed that the staff were reserved. Generally the staff are both friendly and helpful and I do apologise if they were not so during your stay. I do hope that you visit again in the future and I will ensure that you get one of our best rooms. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you do plan to revisit and i will take care of your arrangements,

Kind regards,

Kearan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in. Nice and relaxing, great customer service and the most beautiful views from their upper deck. The location is great if you want to relax and get some sea air to blow away the stress. The hotel itself is very clean and tasteful and has a great spa. The restaurants do great, fresh seafood. Highly recommended for a nice tranquil break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Effie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear EffieC

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are very busy all year round and with the exception of one or two problems here and there, we generally have terrific feedback from the vast majority of our guests.

We do hope to see you in the very near future,

kind regards,

Kearan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Four of us arrived for a Twilight Spa session on a Saturday afternoon. Unfortunately, the hotel was very busy and there were no car parking spaces, so we were asked to park in the church opposite which was fine. We received a friendly welcome and given our towels and robes etc and our treatments were confirmed. One of our party also booked an additional treatment. We were shown to the spa area and treatment procedures explained to us. The changing area is very small with just two changing cubicles, so we had to take it in turns to change. Within the spa area there is a pool, jacuzzi, salt room, steam room and sauna, the area is pleasant and atmospherically lit. The jacuzzi seemed rather cool and not warm at all, someone did complain and was told, that they knew about it but there was no one from maintenance available to fix it! There were also lots of cups lying around. The main problem was that there did not seem enough space to simply sit and chill, we found a relaxation room, but were then asked to leave as it was being set up for a wedding. There was a mix up with the extra treatment booked and the therapist did not arrive, but after a chat with reception it was eventually sorted out. I had the hot stone massage and I have to say it was wonderful and the therapist very friendly. This spa has the potential to be great, but just needs a little more care.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Hampshire Jan,

Many thanks for your review. I have spent some time with Alice, our Spa Manager going through your points and we have made provisions to ensure that there is not a repeat in the future. I would like to invite you back down to the spa adnd if you contact me directly i will organise soem spa passes for you. I am glad that in the end you enjoyed your treatment and hope to speak with you soon,

kind regards,

Kearan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our special day here in May 2014, and could not have asked for a more beautiful setting, or more professional staff. The Food was exquisite and the whole day was magic! Would highly recommend the Christchurch Harbour Hotel - class and professionalism guaranteed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Set in a great location, lovely staff (in the main) - a couple of issues but the manager knows and is dealing with!). Really nice rooms, comfy beds, great pillows. The SPA, gym, pool is awesome and the staff really friendly. The food and wine on offer is excellent. Breakfast was excellent, great coffee and a really friendly welcome. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesy_Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
775 reviews
3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
19.3 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £120 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing