We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We took advantage of a special Sunday night deal and were not disappointed.... in fact, we were astonished!

Others have commented on the pool/steam/Jacuzzi experience, and it is very good. Even though, like all hotel pools, the area is quite small, the adjacent relaxation area is superb - a candle-lit, cave of calm.

We had cocktails down by the water and watched the sunlight fade, and the evening sky take on its new mood.

The food was delicious: the cod and scallop were perfectly cooked, as was the Duck Confit (a special of the day, so very reasonably priced). The staff were attentive and co-ordination ran like an army under the direction of a very focused woman!

Sure, the room was not large - but this hotel offers so many experiences, one should only be in the room when one is sleeping (or, at least, in bed :-) ) The room was a little warm, but a fan was provided.

We picked up the Christmas offers brochure on the way out...

Room Tip: I guess you pay more if you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room, otherwise, the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    520
    255
    141
    77
See reviews for
311
1,001
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, staff and service where excellent. Spa is well presented and at the time of our visit was relatively quiet. One downside was the room(212) overlooking the harbour yes it was that, but not quite worth the monies paid. After a discussion with the Duty Manager(Diane) we recieved a discount which was very nice. All in all excellent highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent food, service and level of facilities. Love the fact that it on the waterfront with easy access to Mudeford and the New Forest. There's also lots of public areas to relax.
The Jetty restaurant, although expensive, is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriseadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Reasonable room, albeit a bit small for a superior double.

We couldn't get a table at the Jetty but had a table in the hotel restaurant. We had booked here having had some lovely meals (albeit some years ago) at Alex Aitken's first place in Brockenhurst then at the Le Poussin at Parkhill.

Restaurant very disappointing; food was average at best and the service was appalling - the waiters couldn't communicate in English and didn't understand the menu. For example, the menu states at the top that they recommend a pre-starter snack "while you decide". When I ordered this the waiter insisted we order the rest of our meal; it took some considerable persuasion on my part that this was self defeating!

Then we were presented with an Amuse Bouches in a bowl. I asked what kind of soup this was and the waiter said "is bouches just is Bouches"

Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear James,

I was sorry to read that your experience in the Upper Deck restaurant was not to our usual high standards. Alex has established a superb reputation at the Jetty and the Upper Deck has also been receiving terrific feedback. We do hop you return in the near future,

kind regards,

Kearan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an elegant and beautiful placed hotel in nature surroundings with excellent services and good food and drink. There are taster menues on different days and afternoon Teas with spectacular views. Phantastic to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl8853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Karl 8853,

Many thanks for your kind comments, we do hope to see you back in the near future,

kind regards,

Kearan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just come back from a short stay at this hotel.I had been impressed with the look of the hotel and the facilities that they offered .I had booked two rooms side by side for me and my daughter,her friend and here mum. I checked some of the reviews and few people were a little unhappy with the hotel. I need not have been worried ,the hotel is great and of very high standard ,the staff could not of been more helpful .The view from the hotel is set across the water ,it is stunning.The food was amazing .I shall be going back in September and am looking forward to it 100% Many thanks to all the staff ,your doing a great job.Paula Woad, linda Dickinson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Linda,

I'm delighted that you had such a fantastic stay. We are very fortunate to have such a superb location and terrific facilities, however it's particularly encourging to read your comments on the team. We look forward to seeing you again in September,

Kind regards,

Kearan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to go out for lunch at the last minute as it was a beautiful day and my husband and I had the day off. Decided to try the Christchurch harbour hotel as we had stayed there a few years ago as was pleased with the service and food and the views are stunning. We were not disappointed . The food was plentiful Inspiring and of very good quality . Great presentation and very helpful polite staff although not at all stuffy or up themselves.We ate outside on the decking area and it was glorious if maybe a bit too hot if that can actually happen in this country. After lunch we went down to the waters edge for a cool down and sat on the benches provided. We has a 3 course meal and chopped and changed from the various menus and a bottle of wine and a couple of cokes. The final bill came to £84.00 although you could choose a 3 course lunch for £20.00 a head. Very pleasant setting and good food . Will definitely go again .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMcV67, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear DH,

Many thanks for your kind review. We have worked very hard to make sure that the food, the enviroment and the team are equally excellent and the feedback of late suggests that our hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again in the near future,

kind regards,

Kearan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing