We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Avon Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avon Causeway
Ranked #3 of 33 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed overnight after a late flight into Bournemouth on 2 November 2012 - the hotel offers free parking (when staying overnight) in a secure, CCTV monitored car park so great when travelling from Bournemouth airport. The hotel offers great accommodation - ours was a clean, tidy room with very comfy beds, tea and coffee making facilities in the room (cafetiere and ground coffee provided !), bottled water and very nice biscuits. Breakfast was superb in terms of choice, quality of products and execution, but also venue - breakfast is served in the carriage on an old Pullman ! Highest praise goes to service - the management of this hotel have a very clear understanding of what it takes to look after customers and secure their loyalty - thank you Ibo ! Have booked another stay already.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    123
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
149
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

What a fabulous hotel! We received a very friendly welcome after a long journey, the young man who was also the barman and one of our waiting staff at dinner had us laughing within minutes of checking in. He should get a customer service award as its rare to find someone who does customer service so well!
The room was bright, very clean, warm and spacious, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom clean if a little crammed. The only let-down was the shower which desperately needed a deep clean to remove mould and 'pink' body fat residue. But I want to stress that this was the only negative and would not put us off booking here again and again.
Our evening meal was also excellent, there is a great menu choice and the food was top quality and prices very reasonable.
Breakfast in taken in a railway carriage, (the hotel was originally a train station), at the side entrance and room price included an superb 'full english' or lighter choices.
The hotel is ideal is you are flying out from Bournemouth Airport and you can leave your car here and get a taxi to/from the airport (around £8 to £10), including £2.50 airport drop-off fee.
I checkout the accommodation rates online with various 'agencies' but booked with the hotel direct for the best deal.
All in all we cannot wait to fly from Bournemouth again just so we can stay at the Avon Causeway!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for the best deals. Familiarise yourself with the immediate location bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight on a Saturday in October. Pleasantly surprised when I turned into the car park and spotted they served Wadsworth real ale! First impressions were of locals and tourists alike enjoying themselves in a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. You register to stay in what was the booking office of this converted railway station and are made very welcome from the start. The room we had overlooked the rear garden, was comfortable and well laid out. Food that evening was adequate pub grub, but the full English breakfast served in the Pullman carriage was excellent quality, with fresh mushrooms and tomato that actually tasted of tomato (i.e not Dutch or Canarian). All the staff were friendly and efficient, and I have to say, if ever I'm in the area again, will make a point of staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We paid £54 for a double room, which was well equiped and very clean and tidy. As we had to leave for the airport at 0440 we were left an excellent breakfast tray. Our car was safe and sound in the car park for our week away. Thank you well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here thi slast weekend after checking reviews for a romantic weekend.
What a great hotel, expected to bump into David Suchet any second as a real 'who done it location' An old railway station with Pullman carriage as breakfast room and authentic adverts, timetables and even an old cig machine! Rooms very good and spotless, the only minor glitch being a slightly blocked en suite sink running slow but which will be looked at after telling manager. Great but simple and very good food and supurb breakfast. Yes its near a dual carriageway into Bournemouth but not that obvious, great surroundings , great hotel and great staff, will book again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed 25th- 26th September 2012
We were visiting family in the Christchurch area and needed a hotel for two nights. Having checked on Tripadvisor we noticed that this hotel had some very positive comments. We booked with reasonably high expectations and we were not disappointed.
The hotel was formerly the Old Ringwood, Christchurch and Bournemouth railway station which closed in 1935. The station re-opened as a hotel and public house in 1971.
We stayed in room 9 which has a very large and comfortable four poster bed. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very clean with a good shower over the bath. On our first evening we ate in the restaurant. Our waitress was attentive, friendly (with a lovely smile) and helpful. I chose the homemade pate to start and my husband had homemade soup. Well, I can only describe this as the best ‘pub’ food we have ever seen and tasted. Both dishes were wonderfully presented (worthy of any 5 star restaurant), the soup was in a lidded pot with very nicely presented bread. The pate portion was generous as was the accompanying salad, toast and chutney. The portions were so large we didn’t think we would manage the mains. For mains my husband had poached chicken served on a bed of creamed leeks and bacon in a stilton sauce. I chose the prawn and salmon tagliatelle in a wine and tarragon sauce. Again both dishes were beautifully presented and tasted great. I only wish we could have managed dessert as the dessert menu looked very tempting. The bill was less than £30.00.
In 1979 a Pullman railway carriage was added and is now the Orient Restaurant. This is used to serve breakfast. My husband had the full English which he enjoyed whilst I chose scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (I must have had half a side of salmon!). The following day I had poached eggs as someone else on Tripadvisor said they were good so I had to find out. I can confirm they were cooked perfectly.
The hotel was quiet on our first night with very few guests. The second evening was much livelier. The hotel has a Jazz/Blues night on the last Wednesday of every month and the place was packed. We really enjoyed it.
Finally I would like to thank the Manager Ibo and his staff (especially Alice) for a very pleasant stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a large and comfortable four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We parked at this hotel for 2 weeks and stayed for 1 night on our return from holiday.
Probably one of the closest hotels to Bournemouth Airport.
From beginning to end, we were treated very well - they made it so easy for us on arrival and departure.. Parking was free, rooms are immaculate and stocked to a very high standard.
The breakfast on the Pullman Carriage was an experience in itself - one of the best
we have ever had in the UK - you name it - they have got it! The staff are so warm and friendly.
Thanks to you all - we look forward to returning. x

Room Tip: Room 9 has a four poster bed:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Causeway

Property: The Avon Causeway
Address: Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avon Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a modern pub with accommodation The Avon Causeway provides an ideal stopover or base from which to explore the stunning Dorset countryside. Located in the small village of Hurn, The Avon Causeway has 12 rooms of varying types including twins, double and family rooms. As you'd expect the pub downstairs offers a public bar with a selection of award winning ales from Wadworth Brewery, a decent selection of wines & premium spirits and a range of continental lagers. Dining is available throughout with a range of seasonal British staples through to Italian Stone baked pizza and of course a selection of naughty puds to finish. Only 1.5 Miles from Bournemouth airport making The Avon Causeway the place to stay, dine & drink before your flight. We look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Avon Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avon Causeway Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing