We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away”
Review of The Avon Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Avon Causeway
Ranked #4 of 33 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night away”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We found the Avon Causeway Hotel by chance on laterooms.com when looking for a good deal on a night away.

On arrival we were greeted warmly and booked in. Our room was very comfortable with a huge four poster bed and the standards of cleanliness were excellent. The facilities in the room were also really good and we enjoyed the cookies.

The menu in the restaurant gave good choice and we enjoyed a home cooked 3 course meal with drinks which was also good value for money.

Joining the other guests on the carriage was wonderful and half expected Miss Marple to appear. The breakfast was a high standard and due to being served until 10am there was no sense of it being 'rushed'. All staff including the manager made every effort to ensure that guests were relaxed and enjoying their stay.

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    131
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
168
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

What a wonderful surprise to come across this excellent accommodation.
The Avon Causeway has a great character, certainly it would be a great place to visit whether on business or for leisure.
Friendly staff, excellent manager who couldn't do enough to ensure the stay was satisfactory.
Nice large car park, always welcome when travelling, great rooms, and overall a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked here purely because it was a good deal, and we wanted somewhere near the Ringwood Brewery.(a great tour!)
What a great find. We were upgraded (without requesting it!) and had a lovely room, spocious and with a nice, functional but smallish shower room.
The room was well stocked with great little extras- filter coffee and a cafitiere rather then instant, and delicious biscuits.lovely plump towels too!
The evening meal was a good deal too as they had a variety of vouchers in the bedroom that could be used- 20% off, free dessert, £10 off etc. Tasty and nicely prsented too. Ale pie and lamb shank, although the only roasted veg was carrots and parsnips- a bigger variety, or maybe something green would have looked better.
Friendly service from the man we booked in with and also the waitress (dinner at 9pm and breakfast the next morning!)
Breakfast was served in the railway carriage alongside the hotel (accessible though a covered area) It was excellent- delicious sausages! variety of breakfasts available.Good that it was served till 10am too- I don't like early breakfasts! Great place to eat too!
The stay was a real nice break- it wasn't noisy in terms of 'guests in the pub' at all but there was road noise. It was a bit like 'white nose' though as it was a continuous hum, not too loud.
All in all I'd definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milesandmilesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

10 of us came for Christmas dinner, was delicious with brilliant service my husband & I stayed the night room 9 was a lovely quiet stay room was beautiful & very clean, in the morning we went down for breakfast & was surprised & delighted to have breakfast in one of the train carriages , a great finish to a lovely evening , Staff very kind & nothing to much trouble especially Jordan at time of booking dinner, room & service & Andy Jones for great service at breakfast, only live In Throop so will be popping back for lunch from time to time..many thanks to you all..

Mr & Mrs Aldham

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Me and my family came for our christmas lunch here it was amazing I couldn't of asked for a better place to come nothing was to much trouble for the staff and the food was excellent I would decently recommend the Avon causeway to my friends and family

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-xamypx-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great dinner,well cooked and presented. Waiting and bar staff excellent A very warm and cosy atmosphere.Unfortunately the restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night. Avon Causeway is a little 'hidden' and easy to drive past without noticing it is there. Come on local people, give it a go,you won't be disappointed. You can take your canine best friend into the bar area too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carleecla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed overnight after a late flight into Bournemouth on 2 November 2012 - the hotel offers free parking (when staying overnight) in a secure, CCTV monitored car park so great when travelling from Bournemouth airport. The hotel offers great accommodation - ours was a clean, tidy room with very comfy beds, tea and coffee making facilities in the room (cafetiere and ground coffee provided !), bottled water and very nice biscuits. Breakfast was superb in terms of choice, quality of products and execution, but also venue - breakfast is served in the carriage on an old Pullman ! Highest praise goes to service - the management of this hotel have a very clear understanding of what it takes to look after customers and secure their loyalty - thank you Ibo ! Have booked another stay already.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
367 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
735 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Causeway

Property: The Avon Causeway
Address: Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avon Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a modern pub with accommodation The Avon Causeway provides an ideal stopover or base from which to explore the stunning Dorset countryside. Located in the small village of Hurn, The Avon Causeway has 12 rooms of varying types including twins, double and family rooms. As you'd expect the pub downstairs offers a public bar with a selection of award winning ales from Wadworth Brewery, a decent selection of wines & premium spirits and a range of continental lagers. Dining is available throughout with a range of seasonal British staples through to Italian Stone baked pizza and of course a selection of naughty puds to finish. Only 1.5 Miles from Bournemouth airport making The Avon Causeway the place to stay, dine & drink before your flight. We look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Avon Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avon Causeway Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing