We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of The Avon Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avon Causeway
Ranked #4 of 32 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Good price. Very clean, good decor, big comfy warm bed, roomy comfy and big. Lovely food. Handy for.access to main roas and airport, but remains quiet. Cant fault and will stay again. Cant write 200 words tjat trip advisor want because I said it all

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrmib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed one night whilst visiting Bournemouth for the weekend. We had stayed in Bournemouth the previous night as we had been to a show at the Pavilion & wanted to stay nearby. With hindsight I wish we had booked 2 nights at this hotel. Everything was excellent, the staff, the ample parking, the room, the food in the restaurant & the breakfast in the train carriage. The whole place was really clean and welcoming. The room had plenty of tea & coffee as well as some delicious biscuits. The train carriage is really unique and made a change to a normal hotel dining area.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was in a good position. There have been comments on Trip Advisor about the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareP650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a night here through LateRooms.com. If we had paid full price we would have been disappointed. The first room we were shown was near the busy road and didn't have a bath. We asked for another room and were given a much better room in our opinion. However the heating didn't work and we ended up with a plug in heater. The other problem was that the room was above the bar area where a live band played until late. It would have been helpful to have been told about this as we may have decided to put up with the first room. The breakfast was very good and made the stay worthwhile.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank harrfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Avon Causeway due to being disorganised and not managing to secure a room in another hotel where most guests were staying for a wedding. It worked out well! The room was large clean and had a good feel to it. It also had 'proper' coffee and lovely biscuits, all hotel essentials. I didn't get to eat in the restaurant but the menu looked amazing and I'd certainly like to on another occasion. To top it all off breakfast is served on a train, yes, a train. The hotel is a converted station, so it makes perfect sense. But it was in no way style over substance, the full English was quite frankly stunning. I generally avoid such food, but it was presented beautifully, excellent quality bacon and sausages, creamy scrambled eggs and no sign of a plate swimming in grease. Add to that quite pleasant and attentive staff and service it was a pleasure and if I have the need to be in that neck of the woods again I would rebook with no hesitation.

The only down side is the poor internet connection, but I think that was generally a geographic issue rather than the hotel.

If I get the chance I'll be back for one of their 'murder mysteries' that are also hosted on the train.

Also, ample parking and a nice pub bar downstairs. All in a all a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here the night before flying from Bournemouth Airport and are glad we did. Unfortunately we had already booked parking at the airport so could not take advantage of the free 2 weeks parking but will next time! The room we had was lovely and we were a little sad we weren't staying for longer. The room was clean and had everything we needed including a lovely shower. We ate in the restaurant and it was a really nice meal. We had a cold tray for the morning as we were leaving very early and this was also good. In fact there is nothing bad we can say about this hotel. We would have liked to have had breakfast in the train carriage in the morning but hope we fly later next time so we can enjoy the experience. This hotel really is close to the airport and we did not experience any noise from there. The main road is near but this did not bother us. The 5 minute drive to the airport was the bonus for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sightseers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here last weekend with husband and 2 other members of my family. We were up from Cornwall for a family surprise party. Room was small but functional. Nice lot of choice in room with the drinks and a couple of packs of biscuits. The highlight was the breakfast in the Pullman carriage lots to choose from and lovely place to sit. We had the carvery on the Sunday for lunch which was very good and only £9.95 lovely choice of veg and good choice of sweets for afters. Would I stay again, yes.

Room Tip: Our double was quite a bit smaller than the twin which my Aunt had. The bigger bed would have been g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Best breakfast I have had in a long time, compliments to the chef. ,lovely surprise to be directed onto an old train carriage for a very yummy breakfast, room lovely, no complaints at all. Just a mile from the airport. We leave our car on someone's drive, parkonmydrive.com however I understand you can leave your car at the hotel for free if staying one night at the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms all very nice, huge beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
3.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bure Lodge B&B
Bure Lodge B&B
#2 of 32 in Christchurch
334 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grosvenor Lodge Guest House
Grosvenor Lodge Guest House
#7 of 32 in Christchurch
83 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inn in the Park
Inn in the Park
#16 of 48 in Poole
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Causeway

Address: Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avon Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a modern pub with accommodation The Avon Causeway provides an ideal stopover or base from which to explore the stunning Dorset countryside. Located in the small village of Hurn, The Avon Causeway has 12 rooms of varying types including twins, double and family rooms. As you'd expect the pub downstairs offers a public bar with a selection of award winning ales from Wadworth Brewery, a decent selection of wines & premium spirits and a range of continental lagers. Dining is available throughout with a range of seasonal British staples through to Italian Stone baked pizza and of course a selection of naughty puds to finish. Only 1.5 Miles from Bournemouth airport making The Avon Causeway the place to stay, dine & drink before your flight. We look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Avon Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avon Causeway Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing