We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveller rating
    481
    238
    68
    23
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    481
    238
    68
    23
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbowling greenmile menuqueen roomdyson fantraffic lightssister hotelcastle ruinslimited parkinglovely hotelwedding breakfastboutique hotelmember of staffsunday lunchreception areamain coursebooked a tablefunction room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    670 - 675 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed 1 June 2012

    This was our second visit to the Hotel. Last time we had a platinum room so we were interested to see what our basic room would be like. We were pleasantly surprised with the room & found the Reception staff very helpful & courteous with our queries. However we sat in the lounge for an hour & gave up waiting to order afternoon tea as in that time no staff appeared. Despite having dinner included in our tariff we were told that we ony had £25 each allowance for dinner, were presented with 3 different menus & some confusion ensued as to what we could then select. My main course was overcooked & dry, it was replaced by an freshly cooked version by which time my husband had finished his meal. Strangely the manager was in the restaurant but spent all of his time with two representatives of a magazine & ignored the rest of the guests. If you want to feel special choose somewhere else. We also used the Spa at the Christchurch Harbour whe we have also stayed & it was very good, we also enjoyed a drink there served by attentive staff!

    • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Amanda B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

    Thank you for your time on writing on Trip Advisor, following your stay with us.
    I'am pleased that you found the reception staff helpful here at the Kings Hotel. We are disappointed that we didnt forfill the exspectations.

    Regards

    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 May 2012

    We've stayed at this hotel a few times now and never been disappointed. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well appointed. Some bathrooms need better lighting but otherwise are quite luxurious with deep baths and effective showers. The rooms are charged according to the size. The first floor rooms are the most spacious with high ceilings.and an airy feel. On the second floor, the rooms are still a good size but the lower ceilings and smaller windows give them a more cosy feel. The rear rooms are the quietest, looking over the courtyard. The front rooms can be noisy as the traffic, waiting to cross the single lane bridge, queues directly outside the windows. However these rooms have lovely views over the priory and catch the sun most of the day..The restaurant food is very good, there is a fixed price menu or an allowance against the a la carte. The restaurant is popular with non guests, has a lively feel and can get very full. The staff are young,enthusiastic and eager to please. A special mention has to go to the two girls on reception who go out of their way to help, advise and generally make your stay special. To top it all,.It's only a five minute walk to the centre of Christchurch and a short stroll to the river. We will certainly go back as often as we can.

    Room Tip: talk over your needs with the receptionists-they are happy to advise.The back rooms are quieter, the front more sunny
    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mlyn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

    Thank you so much for writing a review on trip advisor following your recent visit to the Kings.

    I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I have conveyed your compliment to the whole team and in particular to two girls at reception :-)

    I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

    Kine regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2012

    Fantastic birthday experience meeting & sitting next too the Fabulous Gorgeous JAMES MARTIN & enjoying a delicous lunch.

    • Stayed: May 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank katrinaslites
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

    Thank you so much for the positive review following your visit to The Kings Arms Hotel. I am so pleased enjoyed the Food & Wine Festival, and dinning with James Martin. Hopefully a birthday you won’t forget.


    Regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2012

    this is undoubtedly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.We liked it so much on our first visit that we returned for the food festival.In fact we are thinking of another visit.This from a couple who think that there are so many places to see, we never go back to the same place twice.Rooms are terrific,food is excellent and all of the staff are just so brilliant.Can't recommend this place enough.But don't all book,leave a room for us.

    Room Tip: book early!!front rooms do suffer from some outside noise.
    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank edward w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

    Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

    I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

    Kind Regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 May 2012

    We dined at The Kings during the annual Food Festival. The food was local and delicious; the staff were friendly and entertaining; the atmosphere jovial. Would recommend.

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ColetteN356
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, The Food Festival this year was absolutely fantastic, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Regards
    Lukasz Dwornik

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews