We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Josper Grill was fabulous”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Josper Grill was fabulous”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Ate at the Kings Hotel yesterday and pre-ordered the beef Josper Grill. The service was superb, friendly, efficient, attentive without being overbearing. And when the food arrived the people at the next table stopped eating and said "WOW!" Enough beautifully cooked meat for a family to share between 2. If you like meat you must try it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review following your dinner (Josper Night) in our Kings Arms Restaurant and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    207
    62
    22
    5
See reviews for
111
419
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The rib eye steaks were delicious, great to share but if you have a good appetite easy for one! Tomato and avocado as a side really good. Espresso martinis lovely . Very good value. Next time will try 15 mile menu. Would highly recommend the restaurant nice modern decor, good food, wine and attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaLilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your steaks from The Josper Grill at the Kings Arms. I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Living in the centre of Christchurch gives us so much choice of where to eat. How fortunate are we to have the "New Look" kings, just over the road! We had not been for a couple of years having been ripped off by the Gary Rhodes experience - what an improvement!!
Being in the Hotel & Restaurant business we really appreciate good service and food - my daughter and I were really impressed. We felt welcome from the minute we arrived, friendly, professional service and the food was amaising! The 15 mile, £15 menu was fabulous and the overall experience was really good.
Well done Alex Aitkin - we are now encouraged to give the jetty another try - again we had such a dissapointing time in the days of Gary Rhodes.
Needless to say we shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at The Kings Arms. We will always do our best to cater for our guests, and offer reasonably priced simple, seasonal, local produce.


I will certainly share your comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My daughter treated me for a meal at The Kings hotel for a special occasion. We were given an exceptionally warm welcome by the lovely manager "Lucas" who continued to ensure our evening was special and enjoyable.
The 3 course £15.00 menu was incredibly good value which also included a glass of wine. Although clearly an upmarket hotel, it was not in the slightest bit pretentious. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
I will definitely be returning, but next time I would like to book a room.
Thank you Lucas for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Had a get together with some old friends from London and Southampton in the newly decorated restaurant and were very pleased with the new 15 miles £15 menu which included Alex Aitken's famous twice baked cheese souffle, which is the best and wonderful Meadowbrook lamb. There was a great atmosphere and very busy and we just loved the candle type lighting hanging from the ceiling. All in all a good night out and can thoroughly recommend a visit to the all new restaurant. There is also currently an art exhibition in the Georgian Room which we enjoyed looking around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself, thank you for writing on tripadvisor, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the resturant.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWHAVEN, EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had the "best room in the hotel" overlooking the church (bells every hour btw) & ruins. Balcony was nice but could have benefitted from a small patio table & chairs and the banner removed that blocked most of the view. We were in luck as the traffic lights over the bridge had failed so the police closed the road so was quite peaceful for a time!

The room and bed were comfortable and spacious. Bath was nice and deep and shower was powerful.

Unlike most hotels there was a small fridge although not utilised to the full as a jug of fresh milk in there rather than those little pods with UHT milk in would have been so much nicer.

Had a cocktail/drink before dinner, the barman was very good! Dinner was very nice, had the 15 mile radius menu (never had cheese on toast for dessert before!), staff were attentive but not intrusive. Restaurant quite busy for Sunday evening. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant, nice and hot and plenty of choice.

Only grumble was that we were told by the waiter staff as we were on DB&B special that we only had £25pp for dinner allowance, but since we had the £15 15 mile dinner we could offset our drinks against that allowance. When we came to checkout (& in a rush as we were late for our ferry to IOW!) this hadn't been removed (and charged £2.50 to use credit card). One quick email to the hotel and all was sorted amicably. Very good customer service.

Car parking needs more signs but basically go round the back of the hotel to the large gates.

We were on their Sunday night DBB rate and this was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had 102 which apparently is the best room, although traffic noise could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEXPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for writing on tripadvisor, your comments are a huge value to us, we have taken on board all the points given. We hope to see you on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was our second visit to the Hotel. Last time we had a platinum room so we were interested to see what our basic room would be like. We were pleasantly surprised with the room & found the Reception staff very helpful & courteous with our queries. However we sat in the lounge for an hour & gave up waiting to order afternoon tea as in that time no staff appeared. Despite having dinner included in our tariff we were told that we ony had £25 each allowance for dinner, were presented with 3 different menus & some confusion ensued as to what we could then select. My main course was overcooked & dry, it was replaced by an freshly cooked version by which time my husband had finished his meal. Strangely the manager was in the restaurant but spent all of his time with two representatives of a magazine & ignored the rest of the guests. If you want to feel special choose somewhere else. We also used the Spa at the Christchurch Harbour whe we have also stayed & it was very good, we also enjoyed a drink there served by attentive staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your time on writing on Trip Advisor, following your stay with us.
I'am pleased that you found the reception staff helpful here at the Kings Hotel. We are disappointed that we didnt forfill the exspectations.

Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
348 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing