We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class hotel great location food superb”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“1st class hotel great location food superb”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

stayed here friday 22nd June for one night , had to get our Daughters belongings from uni
I must say the Manager who booked me in accommodated me in every way our room was of a high standard we ate in the restaurant , the hake in batter chips and fresh peas was the best that I have eaten anywhere for a long time , Breakfast was very good and plentiful
there is plenty to see around the village if you want to go to a hotel that is a cut above the rest in this area book this hotel you will not be disappointed will be going back in September Thankyou
Lukask for a very enjoyable stay see you again from Mrs Johnson

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review on trip advisor following your recent visit to the Kings.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I have conveyed your compliment to the whole team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon


Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    212
    65
    22
    5
See reviews for
113
430
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Hotel and room well presented. There is limited parking across the road in a layby where the staff need to move your cars around, definetly try to get into the back car park much easier...

Reception and bar staff all very attentive, staff in the restaurant were a bit more robotic but never the less the food was fantastic and reasonable priced for the quality. Bar serves nice cocktails with a smile! There is also a very nice lounge.

Hotel room and bathroom were well presented, we stayed in a loft room which was more than adequate space for a couple. Only issue was that as it was in the eves of the building and it was winding the windows did rattle and whistle a lot.

We also used the spa at the sister hotel which was well equipped with a warm welcome. A definite bonus to this hotel as you get the best of both with hotel in the centre but being able to use the pool etc down the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennismrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the Kings. I have noted your comments, which I will absolutely share with the HODs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

King Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Southampton. Would have stayed longer if rooms were available. Excellent room, lovely clean, crisp linens, gorgeous deep bath, plenty of bathroom products, even slippers thrown in. Bedroom and bathroom both really large which is nice, some are so small you can't turn around in the shower, this is spacious. The dinner and breakfast we had in the restaurant was excellent, good local produce used, lovely fresh flavours and great service. Across the road are the priory ruins and park walks down to the river, sand spit close by. Wonderful, just book it, its good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Ate at the Kings Hotel yesterday and pre-ordered the beef Josper Grill. The service was superb, friendly, efficient, attentive without being overbearing. And when the food arrived the people at the next table stopped eating and said "WOW!" Enough beautifully cooked meat for a family to share between 2. If you like meat you must try it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review following your dinner (Josper Night) in our Kings Arms Restaurant and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The rib eye steaks were delicious, great to share but if you have a good appetite easy for one! Tomato and avocado as a side really good. Espresso martinis lovely . Very good value. Next time will try 15 mile menu. Would highly recommend the restaurant nice modern decor, good food, wine and attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaLilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your steaks from The Josper Grill at the Kings Arms. I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Living in the centre of Christchurch gives us so much choice of where to eat. How fortunate are we to have the "New Look" kings, just over the road! We had not been for a couple of years having been ripped off by the Gary Rhodes experience - what an improvement!!
Being in the Hotel & Restaurant business we really appreciate good service and food - my daughter and I were really impressed. We felt welcome from the minute we arrived, friendly, professional service and the food was amaising! The 15 mile, £15 menu was fabulous and the overall experience was really good.
Well done Alex Aitkin - we are now encouraged to give the jetty another try - again we had such a dissapointing time in the days of Gary Rhodes.
Needless to say we shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at The Kings Arms. We will always do our best to cater for our guests, and offer reasonably priced simple, seasonal, local produce.


I will certainly share your comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My daughter treated me for a meal at The Kings hotel for a special occasion. We were given an exceptionally warm welcome by the lovely manager "Lucas" who continued to ensure our evening was special and enjoyable.
The 3 course £15.00 menu was incredibly good value which also included a glass of wine. Although clearly an upmarket hotel, it was not in the slightest bit pretentious. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
I will definitely be returning, but next time I would like to book a room.
Thank you Lucas for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing a positive review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and I will certainly share your comments with all my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings very soon

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
710 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
371 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing