We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Only spent 2 nights at this hotel but wished it had been longer. Perfect break, from the quality and size of the room to the helpfulness and attitude of the staff. Intimate and comprehensively stocked bar. Excellent and varied choice at breakfast.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0ug_T690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon and for longer this time.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had our wedding on the 5th October 2012 at the Kings Hotel and could not fault a single thing!! The satff were amazing and Karen the Wedding Organiser was there to help every step of the way. The food was divine and guests saying that it was the best wedding breakfast they have ever had at a wedding. The hotel is exquisite, the rooms are spacious and the beds are so comfortable. The bathroom is a good size with lovely power showers and deep baths. I will be counting the days when we can go back for a break and will be returning for special dinners in their lovely resturant.. Put any doubts to one side as this is a truly remarkable hotel you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to all the staff for making our magical dream wedding come true.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it was an honour to be a part of your special day I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to the Kings soon.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker
Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Booked this as a birthday surprise DBB and we were not disappointed. Lovely location right opposite walkway to quayside. We were extremely lucky with the weather so we were able to enjoy Hengistbury and have drinks and eats outside. The breakfasts and dinners were lovely and all the staff smashing. We would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back as the front is on the main road through Christchurch so I would ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleypuplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon.
Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were travelling from Devon to our home in Essex and decided to spend a day exploring Christchurch. Despite the inclement weather we walked everywhere and were rather tired and bedraggled around 5pm when we saw the inviting hotel sign advertising a 3-course meal for £15.
Although this was not available until 6pm we were invited to spend a restful time in the bar area before being called by the restaurant. All the hotel staff were polite, courteous and friendly and made us feel very welcome before serving a wonderful meal from the large varied menu. Cooked to perfection and accompanied by a reasonably priced bottle of wine, the following two hours made it a first-class end to the day. Although we did not stay overnight at the hotel we would not hesitate to do so in the future as we would be confident that the rest of the hotel amenities would be of an equally high standard. Well done, The Kings Hotel - Brilliant !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly share your comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed recently for a wedding in the annexe to the hotel. We had a large room at the front which overlooked the bowling green. The views were great - we were a bit anxious about whether there would be any noise from the road but it was not as bad as we thought. The bed was very comfortable. Free wi-fi was a nice surprise. The breakfast had a good selection and the staff were excellent. The downside is a lack of secure parking and only one person at reception delayed the check-in. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank You for your kind words, as I am sure you can appreciate car parking is such a central location is at a premium, but we will always provide a space for our residents.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We chose the Kings Priory as our wedding venue as we live in Christchurch and wanted to share the character of the town with our friends and family from near and far. It is an ideal venue for those that want the security and familiarity of a hotel venue, without feeling like you are traipsing through a reception or amongst guesst you do not know staying in the hotel. The priory building to the side of the hotel, gives you and your wedding party your own space to enjoy the day, which in our case, made it feel all about us! The actual day ran really smoothly and we really did receive excellent service from the general manager, the wedding co-ordinator, the waiters, chef and bar staff. We were particularly delighted with our wedding breakfast where we had been able to request some of our favourite foods and chef came up with an absolutely delicious menu which our friends are still raving about. We spent our first night as a married couple in the hotel and loved our spacious room. I personally love where the hotel is situated. I woke up in the morning and looked out onto the pretty bowling green where we had shared drinks with our family the previous day and also onto the beautiful ruins of the Priory. Yes, it may be on fairly busy road but I think it is in keeping with the hustle and bustle of a truely unique and lively town that is full of character. The Kings will always be a special place to us now and gave us the individual, relaxed, typically English and very sunny day that we wanted. Thanks to all involved.
Kelly and Daniel x

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Events Co-ordinator at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Congratulations Kelly and Daniel and thank you so much for your lovely comments it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we wish you all the very best for your future together.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We held our daughters wedding at The Kings yesterday, WOW what an amazing day - we honestly couldn't fault anything. The venue was just beautiful and so perfect for a small intimate wedding, drinks on the lawn opposite and then just the amazing photography opportunities. Then the wedding breakfast, the food was just incredible. Throughout the day, and before, the team at The Kings provided the most impeccable customer service to all our guests, even the awkward ones.
We didn't have a huge budget but The Kings provided us with the most amazing, beautiful day that was enjoyed by all and I can't thank them enough would have no hesitation in recommending this venue. Just amazing

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Events Co-Ordinator at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you so much for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your day with us and very much look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
774 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
412 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £72 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing