We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in a great town”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in a great town”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

On entering this stunning hotel you are immediately impressed by the decor and welcoming of the staff. Our Queen bedroom was beautifully decorated , with a very large comfortable bed and nicce touches. Very large and very comfortable. The bathroom was marble and immaculate with a fantastic sized bath.
The public areas lived up to this standard with a contemporary but yet relaxed bar which we were more than happy to sit in for a while.Complimentary glass of bubbly certainly hit the spot!
The restaurant felt like a Bistro very relaxed and nice atmosphere with very attentive service.
Our only disappointment was the 15 mile menu- we both felt that although great value that the quality and taste of the food didnt quite match the expectations from a signature chef, pleasent but not outstanding. HOWEVER both the restaurant and bar staff made up for this short fall, very attentive, knowledgeable and eager to please.
This is a class hotel in a beautiful town and we would definately recommend a stay here if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask to park in the hotel's private car park at rear of hotel- you won't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind wordsand comments, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    207
    62
    22
    5
See reviews for
111
421
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ouen sur Gartempe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Only spent 2 nights at this hotel but wished it had been longer. Perfect break, from the quality and size of the room to the helpfulness and attitude of the staff. Intimate and comprehensively stocked bar. Excellent and varied choice at breakfast.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ug_T690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon and for longer this time.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had our wedding on the 5th October 2012 at the Kings Hotel and could not fault a single thing!! The satff were amazing and Karen the Wedding Organiser was there to help every step of the way. The food was divine and guests saying that it was the best wedding breakfast they have ever had at a wedding. The hotel is exquisite, the rooms are spacious and the beds are so comfortable. The bathroom is a good size with lovely power showers and deep baths. I will be counting the days when we can go back for a break and will be returning for special dinners in their lovely resturant.. Put any doubts to one side as this is a truly remarkable hotel you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to all the staff for making our magical dream wedding come true.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments it was an honour to be a part of your special day I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to the Kings soon.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker
Events Co-Ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Booked this as a birthday surprise DBB and we were not disappointed. Lovely location right opposite walkway to quayside. We were extremely lucky with the weather so we were able to enjoy Hengistbury and have drinks and eats outside. The breakfasts and dinners were lovely and all the staff smashing. We would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back as the front is on the main road through Christchurch so I would ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleypuplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon.
Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were travelling from Devon to our home in Essex and decided to spend a day exploring Christchurch. Despite the inclement weather we walked everywhere and were rather tired and bedraggled around 5pm when we saw the inviting hotel sign advertising a 3-course meal for £15.
Although this was not available until 6pm we were invited to spend a restful time in the bar area before being called by the restaurant. All the hotel staff were polite, courteous and friendly and made us feel very welcome before serving a wonderful meal from the large varied menu. Cooked to perfection and accompanied by a reasonably priced bottle of wine, the following two hours made it a first-class end to the day. Although we did not stay overnight at the hotel we would not hesitate to do so in the future as we would be confident that the rest of the hotel amenities would be of an equally high standard. Well done, The Kings Hotel - Brilliant !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly share your comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently for a wedding in the annexe to the hotel. We had a large room at the front which overlooked the bowling green. The views were great - we were a bit anxious about whether there would be any noise from the road but it was not as bad as we thought. The bed was very comfortable. Free wi-fi was a nice surprise. The breakfast had a good selection and the staff were excellent. The downside is a lack of secure parking and only one person at reception delayed the check-in. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank You for your kind words, as I am sure you can appreciate car parking is such a central location is at a premium, but we will always provide a space for our residents.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We chose the Kings Priory as our wedding venue as we live in Christchurch and wanted to share the character of the town with our friends and family from near and far. It is an ideal venue for those that want the security and familiarity of a hotel venue, without feeling like you are traipsing through a reception or amongst guesst you do not know staying in the hotel. The priory building to the side of the hotel, gives you and your wedding party your own space to enjoy the day, which in our case, made it feel all about us! The actual day ran really smoothly and we really did receive excellent service from the general manager, the wedding co-ordinator, the waiters, chef and bar staff. We were particularly delighted with our wedding breakfast where we had been able to request some of our favourite foods and chef came up with an absolutely delicious menu which our friends are still raving about. We spent our first night as a married couple in the hotel and loved our spacious room. I personally love where the hotel is situated. I woke up in the morning and looked out onto the pretty bowling green where we had shared drinks with our family the previous day and also onto the beautiful ruins of the Priory. Yes, it may be on fairly busy road but I think it is in keeping with the hustle and bustle of a truely unique and lively town that is full of character. The Kings will always be a special place to us now and gave us the individual, relaxed, typically English and very sunny day that we wanted. Thanks to all involved.
Kelly and Daniel x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Events Co-ordinator at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Congratulations Kelly and Daniel and thank you so much for your lovely comments it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we wish you all the very best for your future together.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
695 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
351 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing