We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from 4 night break at the Kings. Immaculate hotel, very welcoming and friendly staff, excellent restaurant with varied and imaginative menu, served in equally imaginative ways with unrivalled service.. Extremely good value for the standard. Did find bedroom slightly stuffy even with heating off and window open - probably more a personal thing for us than a real problem. Parking not ideal but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms very soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    205
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
110
410
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had our wedding at the Kings on the 15th Sept 2012 and I simply cannot put into words how perfect our day was.

We must say a big thank you to Karen - the hotel's dedicated events organiser, and indeed all of the rest of the staff involved on the day and in the prep before :)

The staff were attentive from the moment I (the bride) arrived the night before the wedding and the Platinum room we had booked was nice and roomy and bright - perfect for bridal prep, girlie gossip, make up and champagne in the morning whilst getting ready! I think at one point there were over 10 people in the room and it didn't feel too crowded.

We chose to have our wedding ceremony at the hotel and local registrars came to do this. This meant a lot less stress for me as all I had to do was walk from our room in the hotel to the ceremony room in the Priory Suite.

Due to the fab weather, we managed to have our drinks reception beside the bowling green opposite the hotel and our guests enjoyed yummy canapes and prosecco whilst we snuck off for our photo shoot in the castle ruins adjacent (this was great as we didn't have to leave our guests for too long).
The food was tasty and prompt! We had a traditional 3 course wedding breakfast with amazing ice cream truffles and coffee to end. I could not fault the service from the waiting staff, who were very efficient and friendly (my glass never ran dry and I don't think anyone else's did either!!!!)

We finished off the day with a DJ playing downstairs in the Priory Suite (this was great as you didn't have to worry about wedding crashers as it is separate from the hotel) and with the evening buffet upstairs- which was again lovely and had lots of different options from spring rolls to quiche etc the two separate rooms were good as it meant that the guests could get away from the music if they wanted to chat somewhere quieter.

Thanks again Karen and the rest of the staff, we will be back soon to stay again :)

Room Tip: The swimming pool is located at the sister hotel the Christchurch Harbour Hotel within the spa. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsetseeker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your recent positive review. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

On entering this stunning hotel you are immediately impressed by the decor and welcoming of the staff. Our Queen bedroom was beautifully decorated , with a very large comfortable bed and nicce touches. Very large and very comfortable. The bathroom was marble and immaculate with a fantastic sized bath.
The public areas lived up to this standard with a contemporary but yet relaxed bar which we were more than happy to sit in for a while.Complimentary glass of bubbly certainly hit the spot!
The restaurant felt like a Bistro very relaxed and nice atmosphere with very attentive service.
Our only disappointment was the 15 mile menu- we both felt that although great value that the quality and taste of the food didnt quite match the expectations from a signature chef, pleasent but not outstanding. HOWEVER both the restaurant and bar staff made up for this short fall, very attentive, knowledgeable and eager to please.
This is a class hotel in a beautiful town and we would definately recommend a stay here if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask to park in the hotel's private car park at rear of hotel- you won't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind wordsand comments, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ouen sur Gartempe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Only spent 2 nights at this hotel but wished it had been longer. Perfect break, from the quality and size of the room to the helpfulness and attitude of the staff. Intimate and comprehensively stocked bar. Excellent and varied choice at breakfast.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ug_T690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon and for longer this time.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had our wedding on the 5th October 2012 at the Kings Hotel and could not fault a single thing!! The satff were amazing and Karen the Wedding Organiser was there to help every step of the way. The food was divine and guests saying that it was the best wedding breakfast they have ever had at a wedding. The hotel is exquisite, the rooms are spacious and the beds are so comfortable. The bathroom is a good size with lovely power showers and deep baths. I will be counting the days when we can go back for a break and will be returning for special dinners in their lovely resturant.. Put any doubts to one side as this is a truly remarkable hotel you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to all the staff for making our magical dream wedding come true.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments it was an honour to be a part of your special day I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to the Kings soon.

Kind Regards
Karen Baker
Events Co-Ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Booked this as a birthday surprise DBB and we were not disappointed. Lovely location right opposite walkway to quayside. We were extremely lucky with the weather so we were able to enjoy Hengistbury and have drinks and eats outside. The breakfasts and dinners were lovely and all the staff smashing. We would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back as the front is on the main road through Christchurch so I would ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleypuplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your praise to the staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms soon.
Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were travelling from Devon to our home in Essex and decided to spend a day exploring Christchurch. Despite the inclement weather we walked everywhere and were rather tired and bedraggled around 5pm when we saw the inviting hotel sign advertising a 3-course meal for £15.
Although this was not available until 6pm we were invited to spend a restful time in the bar area before being called by the restaurant. All the hotel staff were polite, courteous and friendly and made us feel very welcome before serving a wonderful meal from the large varied menu. Cooked to perfection and accompanied by a reasonably priced bottle of wine, the following two hours made it a first-class end to the day. Although we did not stay overnight at the hotel we would not hesitate to do so in the future as we would be confident that the rest of the hotel amenities would be of an equally high standard. Well done, The Kings Hotel - Brilliant !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly share your comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing